We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad wifi. Not ideal for the solo traveler.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bulldog Hotel to your Saves list
The Bulldog Hotel
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bad wifi. Not ideal for the solo traveler.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Pricey hostel. Great location. Wifi sucks. Would be good if they had another common room with couches and maybe a tv to encourage socialising. They only have one common area for dining and smoking weed. Nice staff. Not all that good for the solo traveler.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do offer FREE wifi to all of our guests and as a result there can be a lot of connections at the same time which can cause a slowdown for everyone. We know our guests want Wifi all the time and we are working hard to continue to improve our services.

There are always lots of single travelers around the Bulldog, come talk to the staff and maybe we can help out! Enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    164
    66
    20
    17
See reviews for
6
69
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

The bulldog is perfect me and my friends love staying here as you can tell my review is on my 4th visit and long overdue!

Location Is perfect right in the heart of Amsterdam! Everything you need all in one place can't ask for anything else.

Rooms; we usually rent an apartment which is perfect huge rooms double beds, massive bathrooms comfty lounge area and nice fitted kicten! Short walk fr the actual hotel. This time we stayed in the hotel in a 3 bed it was nice everything you need tv shower room and 3 beds! My friend drew the short straw and had to sleep on the pulldown bed the bed flipped up in the night and sucked her in hahah! But she found it hilarious as did we! The rooms are very clean (well ours was) good size bathroom no complaints.

I don't understand the bad reviews about the staff! They are always so welcoming and friendly never had any issues! We go check in leave a passport get our passes go settle in go get our amsterdam goodies ;-) and straight back to the bulldog to chill out meet new people and have a nice relaxed time. The food there is good also I always eat the same thing as you can tell I like what I am used to so good old burger and chips and amazing apple pie mmmmm

As a repeat visitor I would definaltey recommend the bulldog it is awesome! Don't listen to the bad reviews try It out they wouldn't of been around so long if they was that bad!! We are staying in their new supri apartments in a few weeks so I will Review again.

See you on the 1st November bulldog!! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
One of the nicest reviews ever! We couldn't be happier that you''re coming back for your 5th stay. We hope that this one is the best yet.

We will be looking forward to hearing what you think of our Spui apartment. Have a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Well organized
Super common area
You can go by walk any where - u can Also rent a bike around - 15 min walk u got the Train station
Red District l just few minuts wolk from the hostel
It is safe .

Please do the Keukenhof tour
Millions toulips to see - but i think it is available only in the summer season ( april - may )

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Nice of you to take the time to review us after so long! Great advice on the Keukenhof. A must see for everyone at least once. But since you've not been here for a year , it sounds like its time for another trip to Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed for five days me and the Partner in a ten bedded dorm, really enjoyed the time there took a while to get used to the way of life and getting changed in front of complete strangers but after the first few times didn't notice. the rooms are ok but they do the job and roof terrace and bar are more than enough to cover your needs, staff was amazing very helpful even though did ask quite a few questions overall really enjoyed are stay there and will definitely be going back next year.

Room Tip: Maybe go for a room with less people, maybe 4-6 people little more less daunting
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you kindly for your comments.

It can take some getting used to, if you have not stayed in a dormitory before! If your a traveler though, this is the best way to meet new people and make new friends from around the world!

Make sure you email us when you are coming back, we love return guests!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights, as soon as we got to the hostel the staff were rude to us. We got to our private room which was tiny, the bathroom was disgusting. The floor in the room didn't look like it had been hoovered, it was dirty even the rest of the room was dusty.

The safe didn't work so we had to carry our passports around and all our money.

It's okay for groups of lad's who just want to smoke weed. Not for couples. We stood outside our hotel and a man offered us drugs.

They say they have 24 hour security, my family came over for a day and one of them walked in and no one said anything. We only got asked a couple of times to show our hotel passports.

I do not recommend this place, stay somewhere else. Very expensive here, even the shops try and rip you off.

Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for leaving your opinion. Firstly, we sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. I would just like to take a moment and address some of your comments:

All of our rooms are cleaned top to bottom before guests check in, they are hoovered and the bathrooms are cleaned to a very high standard. We encourage anyone who is unhappy to speak with a manager and we will always be happy to assist you.

Sometimes the previous guest will leave the safe locked when they leave. Occasionally we miss one, but a simple mention of this to reception or to a manger would have resolved this issue for you in matter of minutes. it was not necessary that you carry your passports around.

Our security is excellent and our staff are well prepared to know what to look for. If the staff recognize you when you enter we do not always ask for your pass, we already know you're staying with us. If we don't recognize you then we do. This explains why you didn't always have to show your pass. Many people come to visit us that do not have passes. Your family member must have been polite and nice when they came in and therefore would be welcome for a drink in our lounge bar without a pass. Rest assured our security team is on top of things even if you do not always notice them.

As for someone offering you drugs, well, a lot of different things happen in the red light district, I am not sure how we can control who may or may not be on the streets. Of course you would never find someone like this in our hotel.

Finally, you will find we are very competitively priced both in our shops at the hotel. Expensive is a relative term and our shops and hotel are not in the business of ripping anyone of. We would not have lasted for 38 years if we did!

Again, we are very sorry that you did not have a better time with us. Had you brought any of these matters to our attention at the time we would have done everything we could to help address your concerns and make your trip to Amsterdam the best that could be. We sincerely hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I spent three nights here with four friends and we had a great time. We stayed in a 12 bed dorm and it was OK, pretty basic but everything you would expect. The only downside was the reception staff, they had a very bad attitude and you didn't feel like you could relax anywhere in the communal areas, which is something you look for in a hostel. When waiting to leave the hostel for our flight my friend was told if she wanted to lounge about "She had to pay for a bed for the day". It felt like we were in a 5-star hotel, not a hostel in the middle of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Ï"m glad to see the most important thing of all in your response: That you had a great time!

To address your comments about the staff. It could be that your friend did not provide you with all the details.

Clearly you guys had a great time the previous night :). Of course this can make some people a little grumpy when they are hungover. In fact your friend was asleep, feet (and shoes) across our seating area in the reception. Our receptionist politely informed your friend that it was not permitted to sleep, lying down across our seating in the reception. After being told that the flight was not until late evening, our receptionist suggested to your friend that they were welcome to take a bed upstairs and sleep, but we would not be able to sell this bed again that day and if they wanted to do this, they could, but would have to pay for one night.

At no time was your friend asked to leave, only that turning our reception into a bedroom was not allowed. We provide free luggage storage and our bar is open to visitors so it is not logical that we would demand payment to hang out until they had to leave. Our guests are more than welcome to spend the day with us while waiting for their flights or travel arrangements.

The real story is our receptionist was trying to help your friend and offer an alternative for an obviously exhausted individual, rather than just telling them "dont sleep here". They even did it in your first language, not their own. its kinda nice when you think about it.

These seems like a misunderstanding, but again, the most important thing was that you enjoyed your time in our fantastic city.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

As with any city centre hostel I would imagine it could be hit or miss, depending on what you expect, about 5 years ago this was the best kept secret in Amsterdam, its clean, its always been friendly, and it was cheap.
But unfortunately as with all accommodation in Amsterdam this can be a little expensive especially for a hostel, the location is right in the city's red-light district and you do pay for location ! the whole area is always very busy.
Reception staff are great never had a problem, in general very helpful as are all the staff, Bar area is small but copes very well most of the time, booked into a dorm with my partner for a cheap couple of nights a few years ago, but unfortunately it was terrible, ( must be to old I think !) the room was ok but I think our expectations was too much, so we upgraded to a private room, which are big enough to do what you need, we have stayed on many occasions over the last 5 years and had a fantastic time every time we go back.

Room Tip: all room are reasonably good rooms, unfortunately requesting a quite room in a city centre hotel esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Nothing is nicer for us than to hear you've come back 5 times!! We will be looking forward to your 6th! Make sure to mention it when you arrive :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. You can either choose to stay in a dorm, a private room or one of our cool apartments whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulldog Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.