We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place To Stay For The Amsterdam Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bulldog Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bulldog Hotel
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Place To Stay For The Amsterdam Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed for five days me and the Partner in a ten bedded dorm, really enjoyed the time there took a while to get used to the way of life and getting changed in front of complete strangers but after the first few times didn't notice. the rooms are ok but they do the job and roof terrace and bar are more than enough to cover your needs, staff was amazing very helpful even though did ask quite a few questions overall really enjoyed are stay there and will definitely be going back next year.

Room Tip: Maybe go for a room with less people, maybe 4-6 people little more less daunting
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you kindly for your comments.

It can take some getting used to, if you have not stayed in a dormitory before! If your a traveler though, this is the best way to meet new people and make new friends from around the world!

Make sure you email us when you are coming back, we love return guests!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    136
    56
    20
    17
See reviews for
4
52
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights, as soon as we got to the hostel the staff were rude to us. We got to our private room which was tiny, the bathroom was disgusting. The floor in the room didn't look like it had been hoovered, it was dirty even the rest of the room was dusty.

The safe didn't work so we had to carry our passports around and all our money.

It's okay for groups of lad's who just want to smoke weed. Not for couples. We stood outside our hotel and a man offered us drugs.

They say they have 24 hour security, my family came over for a day and one of them walked in and no one said anything. We only got asked a couple of times to show our hotel passports.

I do not recommend this place, stay somewhere else. Very expensive here, even the shops try and rip you off.

Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for leaving your opinion. Firstly, we sincerely apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. I would just like to take a moment and address some of your comments:

All of our rooms are cleaned top to bottom before guests check in, they are hoovered and the bathrooms are cleaned to a very high standard. We encourage anyone who is unhappy to speak with a manager and we will always be happy to assist you.

Sometimes the previous guest will leave the safe locked when they leave. Occasionally we miss one, but a simple mention of this to reception or to a manger would have resolved this issue for you in matter of minutes. it was not necessary that you carry your passports around.

Our security is excellent and our staff are well prepared to know what to look for. If the staff recognize you when you enter we do not always ask for your pass, we already know you're staying with us. If we don't recognize you then we do. This explains why you didn't always have to show your pass. Many people come to visit us that do not have passes. Your family member must have been polite and nice when they came in and therefore would be welcome for a drink in our lounge bar without a pass. Rest assured our security team is on top of things even if you do not always notice them.

As for someone offering you drugs, well, a lot of different things happen in the red light district, I am not sure how we can control who may or may not be on the streets. Of course you would never find someone like this in our hotel.

Finally, you will find we are very competitively priced both in our shops at the hotel. Expensive is a relative term and our shops and hotel are not in the business of ripping anyone of. We would not have lasted for 38 years if we did!

Again, we are very sorry that you did not have a better time with us. Had you brought any of these matters to our attention at the time we would have done everything we could to help address your concerns and make your trip to Amsterdam the best that could be. We sincerely hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I spent three nights here with four friends and we had a great time. We stayed in a 12 bed dorm and it was OK, pretty basic but everything you would expect. The only downside was the reception staff, they had a very bad attitude and you didn't feel like you could relax anywhere in the communal areas, which is something you look for in a hostel. When waiting to leave the hostel for our flight my friend was told if she wanted to lounge about "She had to pay for a bed for the day". It felt like we were in a 5-star hotel, not a hostel in the middle of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Ï"m glad to see the most important thing of all in your response: That you had a great time!

To address your comments about the staff. It could be that your friend did not provide you with all the details.

Clearly you guys had a great time the previous night :). Of course this can make some people a little grumpy when they are hungover. In fact your friend was asleep, feet (and shoes) across our seating area in the reception. Our receptionist politely informed your friend that it was not permitted to sleep, lying down across our seating in the reception. After being told that the flight was not until late evening, our receptionist suggested to your friend that they were welcome to take a bed upstairs and sleep, but we would not be able to sell this bed again that day and if they wanted to do this, they could, but would have to pay for one night.

At no time was your friend asked to leave, only that turning our reception into a bedroom was not allowed. We provide free luggage storage and our bar is open to visitors so it is not logical that we would demand payment to hang out until they had to leave. Our guests are more than welcome to spend the day with us while waiting for their flights or travel arrangements.

The real story is our receptionist was trying to help your friend and offer an alternative for an obviously exhausted individual, rather than just telling them "dont sleep here". They even did it in your first language, not their own. its kinda nice when you think about it.

These seems like a misunderstanding, but again, the most important thing was that you enjoyed your time in our fantastic city.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

As with any city centre hostel I would imagine it could be hit or miss, depending on what you expect, about 5 years ago this was the best kept secret in Amsterdam, its clean, its always been friendly, and it was cheap.
But unfortunately as with all accommodation in Amsterdam this can be a little expensive especially for a hostel, the location is right in the city's red-light district and you do pay for location ! the whole area is always very busy.
Reception staff are great never had a problem, in general very helpful as are all the staff, Bar area is small but copes very well most of the time, booked into a dorm with my partner for a cheap couple of nights a few years ago, but unfortunately it was terrible, ( must be to old I think !) the room was ok but I think our expectations was too much, so we upgraded to a private room, which are big enough to do what you need, we have stayed on many occasions over the last 5 years and had a fantastic time every time we go back.

Room Tip: all room are reasonably good rooms, unfortunately requesting a quite room in a city centre hotel esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Nothing is nicer for us than to hear you've come back 5 times!! We will be looking forward to your 6th! Make sure to mention it when you arrive :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Location is perfect and accomodation also, but I already travelled staying in hostels in more than 10 countries and I never experienced a bad service as the one I had today from the Reception.

I just arrived at the hostel yesterday and the bed that I was assigned was occupied by someone else. When I said to the Receptionist called "CAtherina", she was extremely rude saying that I should have told her before cause it will confuse housekeeping.

I work in hospitality and I already have worked in a hostel repection, and there are many ways to say something. AND THE WAY SHE TREATED ME, its not acceptable.

I am waiting for a feedback from management.

Thanks,
Rodrigo Casanova

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Our management would have been happy to speak with you in person if you were this unhappy and do our best to help you. I am informed that one of our other receptionists did speak with you to do their best to address your complaint and that you did not contact the management until after you had left the hotel and taken your unhappiness public.

To try and name and shame a particular individual on a public website seems very petty. Imagine if you were working , as you said you were, in hospitality, and you woke to find yourself being publicly ridiculed. Would you think the person who posted this about you was being fair? Would you not hope that they would address this with you personally or with the management in order to find a resolution that could have made your stay more enjoyable?

For us the worst part is, that you really liked the accommodation and the location and had this not occurred you would have been posting a lovely review for us. Having someone not enjoy their time with us is the worst thing we can think of.

I can only hope that you feel much better having done this and that you feel justice has been served. I wish there was more we could have done to address the issue while you were here.

We wish you all the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed in this hostel for 2 nights. 3 girls in a 12 bed mixed dorms.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms themselves were very very average. Prison style bunk beds and lockers (though its a plus that the lockers were really big - bring your own pad lock)
Beds were okay - not the best nor the worst.
The room we stayed in had a shower and toilet in the room. The shower was pretty powerful (however bring flip flops).
There are 2 other toilets on the floor (floor 3 we stayed on) one for girls one for boys.
We were given little hotel passports to get in and out plus a room card. There was a security guard on the door 24/7 which made you feel safe.
Hostel location was good - right in the middle of the red light district. Plenty to see and do!
Walk further away from this area and the atmosphere totally changes - its beautiful .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

great hotel, great location. there is a bar/breakfast room that is fantastic to enjoy it all.

rooms are small, a little dark but this is the concept. very clean by the way.

we really enjoyed our stay and will go back in december

Room Tip: please keep in mind to choose private room with private bathroom if you do not want to make budget a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. You can either choose to stay in a dorm, a private room or one of our cool apartments whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulldog Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.