We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I stayed in the Dam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bulldog Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Bulldog Hotel
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, Amsterdam 1012 GJ, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Best place I stayed in the Dam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I been to Amsterdam 4 times and going again 27th Sep. I stayed at bulldog last time and I will never stay anywhere else now that iv been there. Staff were great I think people mis understand the language barrier ( not insult, English very good but the way things are said maybe mis interpreted )

A few friends coming this time that never been before, I said only place to stay is bulldog.

Can't wait til I get there. Bring on the bulldog can't wait to be back....


Ewwwsshhh!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    119
    48
    20
    15
See reviews for
4
44
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gedera, HaMerkaz, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

good rooms for a medium price - can find much cheaper, good breakfast, weedy atmosphere in the lounge, great place for young people who wanna have some fun. staff was helpfull and nice but rules are a little bit strict

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for the review. Were happy that you had a good time. Its not that we're strict, but when you have hundreds of young people staying together in the redlight district in Amsterdam, a few house rules go a long way to making sure all of our guests are safe and happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongguan, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me and my wife stayed 3 days at Bulldog Hotel, the weather is awesome, they have the best bar of the city, nice music and marijuana smell, hehehehe.

We had a problem on the fourth floor where was our room, it didn't have WI - FI, they said that they would like to fix, but they didn't do it.

The environment is nice, friendly staff and is safe, all time have security standing at the door.

The location is convenient, in front of the canal, bar, restaurants and red lights all very near.

For sure we will go again.

Room Tip: Should choose the room in front of the street, in front the canal, is an awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have to admit I was slightly surprised at how nice this place was. I thought it might have been a party hostel.
It has no kitchen, which is a big minus for me, but there inclusive breakfast is excellent. I took some food away for my lunch and provided the weather is nice, you really are spoiled for destinations to eat your lunch-dinner outside from a local supermarket if you wish.
Very clean place with helpful staff.
Excellent location too.
Lockers, reading lights, power sockets for each bed. Shower in every room and separate bathroom.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Were so happy when our guests notice the little things, like personal reading lights and power points for every person in a dormitory, en-suite WC in every room and of course our delicious breakfast.

While we do not have a kitchen, guest are welcome to ask to use the microwave and kettle behind reception and our reception staff would be more than happy to point you to some cheap eats around town!

Thanks for taking time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This hostel was a blast!! Met so many people and had such an amazing time!! The bar below was always happening and serves AMAZING food. The rooms were simple. It was very nice each bed had its own outlet. However there was not enough bathrooms and the floor was always flooded after showers! I would not reccomend if you are a couple wanting a peaceful holiday. Definatly more for people wanting to partake in the adventurous nightlife of amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Nice review! Our food is the best!

You would be surprised how many couples come to the Bulldog and have a great time. Couples like to party too! Often couples take a private twin or double room and have a little space of their own when they want to get away from the party or just enjoy each others company. Its the best of both worlds at The Bulldog.

Enjoy the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I got an ensuite room was a basic but it was exactly what I was looking for. The hotel is clean and the staff are either rude or being strangely funny, I personally liked them. All the cafes are near by and there are hundreds of late night food outlets around the hotel.

Go for an ensuite. Sharing a room with strangers isn't smart in a city like Amsterdam

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The biggest selling point for this hostel is it's location. Right in the heart of the red light district. Nothing I could really say negatively about the place! Very clean, nice breakfast, helpful staff. All in all a place worth going! It may be a lil pricey for the students among us but you get what your paying for. Make sure you book in advance, this place books out a lot!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, Amsterdam 1012 GJ, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulldog Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.