We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for young partiers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bulldog Hotel to your Saves list
The Bulldog Hotel
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great for young partiers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This hostel was a blast!! Met so many people and had such an amazing time!! The bar below was always happening and serves AMAZING food. The rooms were simple. It was very nice each bed had its own outlet. However there was not enough bathrooms and the floor was always flooded after showers! I would not reccomend if you are a couple wanting a peaceful holiday. Definatly more for people wanting to partake in the adventurous nightlife of amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Nice review! Our food is the best!

You would be surprised how many couples come to the Bulldog and have a great time. Couples like to party too! Often couples take a private twin or double room and have a little space of their own when they want to get away from the party or just enjoy each others company. Its the best of both worlds at The Bulldog.

Enjoy the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    160
    64
    20
    17
See reviews for
6
66
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I got an ensuite room was a basic but it was exactly what I was looking for. The hotel is clean and the staff are either rude or being strangely funny, I personally liked them. All the cafes are near by and there are hundreds of late night food outlets around the hotel.

Go for an ensuite. Sharing a room with strangers isn't smart in a city like Amsterdam

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The biggest selling point for this hostel is it's location. Right in the heart of the red light district. Nothing I could really say negatively about the place! Very clean, nice breakfast, helpful staff. All in all a place worth going! It may be a lil pricey for the students among us but you get what your paying for. Make sure you book in advance, this place books out a lot!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

First time to amsterdam and the Bulldog Hotel looked perfect for our 2 night stay.

The location is perfect, very easy to find from central station and the price was reasonable. It has a comfortable coffee shop/bar and the drink/food prices were reasonable too.

Unfortunately there were 2 things stopping this being a perfect review:

1 - Some of the staff can be quite rude - I asked for a replacement "passport" card (which I find the original one later and returned) and was literally scowled at - not the expected response to a paying guest.

2 - I started seeing red bite marks after my first nights stay but didn't think much of it but by the time we left all in our group were covered in these which suggests our room was infested with bed bugs, urgh!

Would I return here again? Probably if the bug issue was resolved!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a great time at the Bulldog Hotel/Hostel. The cafe downstairs is great and open late (although they don't serve food the entire time, which is ok cause I would skip getting any food from the cafe other than the complimentary breakfast).
Stayed in an 8 person, all-female room with one of my girlfriends. Bunks were very clean, as was washroom. Good heating and you can control the thermostat in each dorm room. One thing that was really great was that there was one toilet and shower per dorm room and they were separate so if someone was using the washroom, another person could still shower. They ALWAYS had hot water which is super important.
Staff can be a bit abrasive and seemingly hostile/intimidating at times but in the end they were quite accommodating and helpful.
Would definitely stay again.
Downside: there was no communal kitchen or kitchen for guests to use at all which made the trip much more expensive cause my friend and I constantly ate out instead of preparing anything for ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
podgorica
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

In the middle of the red light district, few minutes walk from the train station, dorms are clean and quiet, this is the more important to know about this hostel.
But we can also say that it's the most famous hostel and coffee shop in Amsterdam, that the bar is always crowded during week end, and the customers are from all around the world.
The price I paid worth the bed and the dorm that i get. Not the best hostel in Europe but for sure one of the best hostel in Amsterdam.
I stayed there during 4 nights and i met other travellers, had the time to visit Van Gogh Museum Rijks Museum and Rembrandt house, you can walk to this place from the hostel in few minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is THE place to stay, at least a few nights in Amsterdam. I love the staff, I love the atmosphere. The lounge is so laid back and such a great place to spend with friends, drinking, smoking. The music they play is good. I would definitely be returning to Room 101 with friends, it over looks the street with a beautiful view of the canal through a huge window. We also stayed in room 110 for a few nights. It also was a very spacious room and LOVED the theme. The showers in both rooms we a little "different" not bad, actually interesting. but different. It was so convenient having only to walk but a few yards to an assortment of foods and shopping delights. I can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: for Two or Three people get 110. For four to five people most definitely get 101. you will not reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. You can either choose to stay in a dorm, a private room or one of our cool apartments whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulldog Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.