We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a real 5 Stars Hostel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulldog Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bulldog Hotel to your Saves list
The Bulldog Hotel
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 182 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Bs. As. Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's a real 5 Stars Hostel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

It's a real 5 Stars Hostel!!! I stayed at the Appartment on the Top! It was awesome!!! It has around 100s.mts and a great view. It is full equippated, quiet and beautty! with comfortable beds, separate bathrooms, tv, kitchen, all you need to enjoy the Lovely City of Amsterdam! and the most Important the best Cofee Shop downstairs!!!

Me gustó: Food, Service, Atmosphere, Value

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    177
    70
    20
    17
See reviews for
7
73
73
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Decent rooms, nice people working the front desk, great location, and an overall cool atmosphere. More of a place to crash than to hang out since the bar is a bit too dark and eerie. The rooms are enough since, in Amsterdam, you spend most of your time out of your room anyway. The staff are especially nice though - I asked them a question they weren't sure how to answer, and wouldn't rest until they asked the day manager and even called the night manager to figure it out. Very nice! Haven't stayed anywhere else in Amsterdam though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

It's quite dirty and old, but it's convenient to the red light district and coffee shops are everywhere. I don't think I'd come back and stay here...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

well just come back from staying at the bulldog would definately stay here again the bulldog consists of the hotel/coffee shop and bar all close together the appartment we stayed in was lovely for the price and to stay there it was above a bar we slept like babies close to everything damn square round the corner in the heart of the red light district friendly atmpsphere if your wondering where to stay then defo choose the bulldog

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011 via mobile

Best hostel, or hotel going around! Clean, convinient, and chilled. Do not stay anywhere but here in Amsterdam. So close to all the action, you could stay in Amsterdam and never leave the hostel, it's perfect!!!
A little pricey, but Amsterdam accom is pricey anyway.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My wife and I have been going to Amsterdam 2 or 3 times a year for the 9 years and we have always stayed at the Bulldog Hotel. Last time we went was first week last June 2011, and I am going again for 4 days first week of October with a friend this time. The thought of searching for another hotel did not even cross my mind. The first time we went there in 2003 we immediately fell in love with the place and the city. Everything about it is great: the location, the size,the design, the cleanliness, the staff, the Pub (which is open 24-7 for those who stay at the hotel), the ambiance (very relaxe, friendly and safe place to party), the security, the food (they recently changed their menu, looking foward to try their new Poutine!!), the terasse on the rooftop, the free wi-fi throughout the hotel, the big cat in the lobby, and the best, the rooms! We have tried all the rooms, and our favorites (which we ask everytime) is the room 402. It is big, nice bath, and has an awesome view on the canal. Has a small fridge and a TV. The room next to it, 401, is similar but has two beds instead of one king size like the 402. In two weeks I booked the 401 because am going with a friend this time. The staff are great and are very helpful. When I go to Bulldog Hotel I feel am going home. Thank you for everything so far, will see you in a few weeks, again!

Room Tip: If you are a couple, choose room 402, the best, with a great view on the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

My friends and I went for four nights and were slightly dubious of the apparently higher price we paid for a room for three than other people; that said, by the end of the trip we decided it was well worth it. Yes the staff may appear slightly standoffish they are not rude and get their job done, quite frankly you don't spend too much time with them so it isn't that big of a deal! The best part is the lounge which suits smokers and drinkers as you can do both: a luxury that is relatively hard to come across. Whilst technically this lounge/bar is for guests only, we and other friends from different hostels ended up there due to it's late hours (went till around 5 in the morning), pool table and happy hour of €2 pints! (which if you get 10 of you get a t shirt). The room was fine and comfortable but as others have said, did have awful drainage - oh well!! All in all the bulldog franchise has been successfully transformed into a great experience ina superb location!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 182 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up in one of the highest rated hostels,located in the middle of one of the most visually stunning cities in the world! The Bulldog Hostel Amsterdam is loaded with that typical international and liberal atmosphere that makes Amsterdam so special... besides other things. You can either choose to stay in a dorm, a private room or one of our cool apartments whenever you come stumbling back from your Amsterdam adventure! We will make sure it will feel like your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulldog Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.