We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find in an offbeat location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Reuring

Cafe Reuring
Lutmastraat 99, Amsterdam 1073 GR, The Netherlands
0207770996
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #262 of 2,141 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: European, French, Dutch, International
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
McLean VA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A real find in an offbeat location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

By outside appearances, this small restaurant wouldn't seem like much. It's in the middle of a working class neighborhood and has plastic chairs. But we went here because it got a rave write-up in Travel & Leisure magazine as one of the hot places in Amsterdam. And it certainly lived up to its billing.

It's actually hard to describe the food because it was so unusual and unique. There is a limited menu--just three entrees, for instance: meat, fish and vegetarian. But it was spectacular. The gnocci was kneaded with ricotta cheese, so it wasn't really ordinary pasta at all. The creme of fennel also had unexpected flavors.

The prices were very reasonable. We went with Dutch friends, and they were quite excited to have discovered this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    11
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Friendly and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late in the restaurant but have been warmly welcomed. A good bottle of italian wine with bread and oliva oil to wait for a table: good start. Then the boss explained us the menu in English. We decided for delicious maki style marinated salmon and follow with one of the best beef I enjoyed in a restaurant. Service is done with the smile. We recommend this place without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lake Forest, California, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We went to Reuring because of its proximity to our houseboat on the Amstel. We were seated right away, and the place filled in with locals. The host spoke the menu as he could tell we spoke no Dutch. I had the roast pork, wife the ribeye. Roast fresh veggies accompanied. Truly a gourmet experience, at local prices. Presentation was awesome and taste buds zinged! The host asked us how we came to know about this place as it is nowhere near the beaten path. We shared our TripAdvisor secret.

Go here. Must!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Top 5 restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

What do I mean by top 5? Well it's a combination of quality food at a reasonable price with a level of service and atmosphere to match. For €32 you can have a beautifully prepared steak with a starter and dessert. This is true value. Anyone who spends more than €50 on anything less than molecular gastronomy is getting ripped off. This little cafe appropriately placed on a rather residential street in de pijp has something special and the staff know it which is why they bring their A game to match the cuisine. A petite menu of 3 starters, 3 mains, and 3 desserts is a clear indication of how great it is here. I don't go to many restaurants more than once but I'll definitely be back. Top 5 in Amsterdam and in my top 5 overall in Europe thus far. Go... Relax... And enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“A great small restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Since a couple of years this small restaurant offers excellent food for a very reasonable price. The owners work themselves in the kitchen and help to serve as well!
Their fish and meat comes form the region of Amsterdam and is cooked to perfection with always intriguing extra's. The vegetarian dishes are as well worth a try.
Do reserve in advance, it can be very busy, especially in weekends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Reuring also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Reuring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Reuring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.