We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Reuring

Cafe Reuring
Lutmastraat 99, 1073 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0207770996
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Cafe Reuring is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #268 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: European, French, Dutch, International
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late in the restaurant but have been warmly welcomed. A good bottle of italian wine with bread and oliva oil to wait for a table: good start. Then the boss explained us the menu in English. We decided for delicious maki style marinated salmon and follow with one of the best beef I enjoyed in a restaurant. Service is done with the smile. We recommend this place without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Local hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We went to Reuring because of its proximity to our houseboat on the Amstel. We were seated right away, and the place filled in with locals. The host spoke the menu as he could tell we spoke no Dutch. I had the roast pork, wife the ribeye. Roast fresh veggies accompanied. Truly a gourmet experience, at local prices. Presentation was awesome and taste buds zinged! The host asked us how we came to know about this place as it is nowhere near the beaten path. We shared our TripAdvisor secret.

Go here. Must!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Top 5 restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

What do I mean by top 5? Well it's a combination of quality food at a reasonable price with a level of service and atmosphere to match. For €32 you can have a beautifully prepared steak with a starter and dessert. This is true value. Anyone who spends more than €50 on anything less than molecular gastronomy is getting ripped off. This little cafe appropriately placed on a rather residential street in de pijp has something special and the staff know it which is why they bring their A game to match the cuisine. A petite menu of 3 starters, 3 mains, and 3 desserts is a clear indication of how great it is here. I don't go to many restaurants more than once but I'll definitely be back. Top 5 in Amsterdam and in my top 5 overall in Europe thus far. Go... Relax... And enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great small restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Since a couple of years this small restaurant offers excellent food for a very reasonable price. The owners work themselves in the kitchen and help to serve as well!
Their fish and meat comes form the region of Amsterdam and is cooked to perfection with always intriguing extra's. The vegetarian dishes are as well worth a try.
Do reserve in advance, it can be very busy, especially in weekends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice staff and great food, for a fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

After a famous Amsterdam based food critic wrote a lyrical review about Reuring ("Michelin star food for bar prices") over a year ago, we finally got to go here, and were not disappointed. It can still be busy, so make a reservation. Also, situated in the middle of De Pijp neighborhood, it can be a bit hard to find without a map, so take one with you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Reuring also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Reuring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Reuring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.