We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient base, quiet location on the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
The Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 107 - 111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“convenient base, quiet location on the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

This is a nice hotel in a quiet area, in a picturesque location right on the river, a bit removed from the busy-ness of the Museumplein and Leidesplein areas. The hotel is very convenient to the Waterlooplein and Rembrandtplein areas, including a tram to Central Station, and an easy walk to the tram (#7, #10) that is just a few stops away from the Leidesplein or the Museumplein or Vondel Park areas. There are no restaurants immediately next door, but an easy walk to cafes and restaurants. The staff were nice and helpful. I was traveling alone and had a very small single room – so small I wondered at the outset if I had made a mistake. However, with a little getting used to, the room was just fine. Nothing fancy, but functional. I glanced in other rooms when doors were open as I was walking by, and they seemed much more spacious, so I think size is only an issue for the single rooms. The breakfast spread was generous, particularly in comparison to continental breakfasts that are offered in the US. Most of my stay was reasonably quiet, although the thinness of the walls was apparent one evening when my neighbors had their television turned on loudly. Free wifi was offered. Although the hotel did not have air-conditioning, it also wasn’t needed, as it was cool in the evenings.

I think Amsterdam is a beautiful city; let me offer a couple of quick suggestions that you may not find in the guidebooks. First, everyone bikes in Amsterdam, and I highly recommend that way of getting around. If you’re used to biking, it actually doesn’t take that long to get around Amsterdam. If you are looking for a really pretty, longer ride with little chance of getting lost, you can rent a bike and just follow the Amstel River going south, away from the city (bring the camera for the shots of windmills across the river), or for the more adventurous, you can bike along the dijks northeast of the city. If you don’t want to rent a bike for 24 hours, but also don’t want to bring it back at 5:45, as required by MacBikes, there is a place called Star Bikes behind Central Station that rents bikes that can be returned at 7:00 pm. Second, don’t do like I did and try to find the free Wednesday noontime classical music rehearsals/concerts at the Concertgebouw during the summer– they apparently only have these during the regular season (not in summer months). :-) Luckily, there are plenty of other opportunities for all kinds of music in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    339
    72
    14
    9
See reviews for
120
268
38
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed here for a weekend with my friends. We stayed in a large loft apartment on the top floor of this hotel with beautiful views of the Amstel river. The apartment was very clean, with a kitchen, 2 bathrooms and an open plan living area. Surprisingly breakfast was included as part of our deal...very nice selection of fruit, cold meats and cereals. The hotel is in a very quiet residential area but you can easily walk or take a tram to the entertainment areas of the city. Reception staff were very helpful and allowed us free internet access. Great value for money and would definitely stay here if I return to Amsterdam

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed 10 nights at this hotel. The location was awesome, close to Tram, within 30 minutes of walk of most Amsterdam museums. Nice, cosy and quiet room, newly renovated with taste. Good breakfast, with a lot of choice. Very helpfull and smiling personnel, would recommend or even go back to this hotel anytime!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Stayed for a week in this hotel by the quiet Amstel waterside - great place for relaxing, close to trams with friendly staff and good choice of buffet breakfast. Very reasonable rates for such a central location - next to Hermitage museum and a short stroll to trams taking you to Centraal Station and the Museum quarter. Amsterdam is a beautiful city and this small hotel offered the perfect base to explore and a very welcoming, personal service.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed in The Bridge Hotel for three nights. It was a very pleasant experience. The staff were very willing to help and offer advice about transport etc.

Our triple room was very spacious and had a small balcony, complete with table and chairs overlooking a courtyard,. The bathroom was very modern. The room decor wasn't standard hotel style which wasn't a bad thing - almost 'boutique style'. The furniture was quirky e.g. tall metal lockers as wardrobes! Beds were very comfortable.

As there is no lift in the hotel carrying cases up the stairs was hard work! While the breakfast buffet was acceptable, I found the choice a little limited in camparison to similar European hotels. There was alot of processed / packaged items and limited selection of bread and fresh fruit.

The hotel is situated in a pleasant part of the city along the Amstel river. Our room at the back of the hotel proved very quiet. It is a short walk from the tram stops where there is direct access to the Centraal Station.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Free wi-fi throughout hotel, full breakfast, great location near stop for tram #9 or metro. Bike rental available at hotel or nearby Mac Bikes. Dedicated bike paths offer the best way to explore the City. Very comfy bed and linens/pillows.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitchenfitter
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

great location by the river,but walking distance tio everything.excellent value for money with good buffet breakfast included.staff very helpful and polite.room relaxed and clean with super power shower in the bathroom.we would definitely re book if returning to amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Address: Amstel 107 - 111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.