We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but a few glitches” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
The Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 107 - 111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice hotel but a few glitches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2004

I just returned from amsterdam with four other people had a great time in the city. The hotel was very clean, interesting breakfast, and great location. The only problem we fell into was the night porter who chose to remain nameless even after we asked for his first name. He was not attentive to the people staying in the hotel he refused to awnser the phone or the door so we stood outside for over 20 minutes and at the end of the night he then went on to comment on how stupid americans are.
The hotel is right on the canal so its really beautiful the five of us had the rooms in what they called the dungen which was right next to the breakfast room but there are only sky lights and room number 12 did stink of smoke over all it was a pretty nice hotel very comfy beds and great showers just beware of the night porter.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    303
    65
    13
    7
See reviews for
105
241
34
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2004

I stayed at The Bridge Hotel with a friend from the UK on October 17 - 19, 2004. I found the hotel listed in the Time Out Amsterdam tour book and saw great reviews on this website.

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was small, simple, and clean. We stayed in the double deluxe room # 115 which looked exactly as it did on the website. This hotel is a little away from all the happenings in Amsterdam, but still a great location and a great view. Just on the other side of the Amstel, there are a few canal tour boats you can go on.

One restaurant I would recommend is the Super Club. It was a little hard to find, but you cannot find a more hip place for people in their 20's and 30's to go.

Overall, my trip in Amsterdam was great! I would definitely recommend The Bridge Hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2004

We found The Bridge Hotel on TripAdvisor and decided to stay there based on the good reviews. We found the staff to be exceedingly gracious and helpful, the rooms simple, clean, and quiet, and the breakfast offered a good selection of choices, including cold cereal, hard and soft- boiled eggs, ham, cheese, toast, orange juice, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate by request.

Our room had two wood frame single beds with nightstands and lamps beside them, a desk, and a clothes cupboard. The carpet seemed to be indoor-outdoor type, rugged rather than luxurious. The bathroom had a stall shower, sink, and toilet with bath and hand towels provided.

Located beside the Amstel River less than two blocks from the Skinny Bridge (Magere Bruge), we were happy to be away from the noise, hubbub, and neon lights of the downtown train station and Dam areas.

We were still within walking distance of major attratctions but if you don't want to walk, the #9 Tram is a couple of blocks away and the Metro just around the corner and up one block. To walk to the Dam or the Rijksmuseum or the Dutch Resistance Museum takes about 15 minutes. We also walked to Anne Frank's house which is somewhat further.

Our first stay was from 9/28 - 10/04/04. We enjoyed it so much that we returned at the end of our trip to stay once again the night before we flew home.

Stayed January 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2004

We booked the Amstel Gold appartment at the top of the Bridge Hotel in Amsterdam. It has fabulous views of the Amstel. As an appartment it has everything you could want - comfortable beds and good clean bathrooms, a kitchen equipped with kettle, mugs, tea/coffee, fridge and dishwasher. It is well heated - which we needed as the evenings were drawing in.

We found that hiring an appartment rather than the usual hotel bedrooms was much cheaper and somehow a greater level of privacy and yet in the lounge area we could sit and relax with friends.

The one disadvantage was that it is at the very top of the building - on the fourth floor. That meant a strenuous climb up quite steep stairs.

The hotel is in a good position situated next door to a beautiful theatre. There is an excellent Indonesian restaurant in the basement - very good service and extremely tasty rijstafel. It is a few minutes walk to either Waterlooplein or Weesperplein for the trams or metro.

We visited the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum which were as expected - excellent. But the Van Loon museum and the Wilet Holthuysen were unexpected gems to be savoured. We also visited the Cat Boat - interesting for any cat lovers out there. We spent a lot of time and money at the floating flower market as it is just the right time of year for buying tulip bulbs!

We ate at the 'Five Flies' but I was disappointed with exceptionally slow service and food that was definitely over priced. The restaurant itself is certainly interesting to visit - but I wouldn't go there to eat again. There are too many other well run, friendly restaurants serving excellent food to go back to that one.

All in all, a great few days in a very friendly city but as always when you are abroad, watch out for the handbag snatchers ........... the police were very polite and helpful!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2004

I stayed for three nights in August 2004 with my two daughters (age 15 and 11) in Room 324, which was located in the front of the hotel. We had two huge windows that overlooked the picturesque canal. The room was small with three twin beds. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was average and consisted of cold cuts, cheese, and cereal. There is no lift and dragging our heavy luggage up three flights of narrow, steep stairs was a challenge. We also missed having a hairdryer and A/C. This is a nice hotel at a good value if you don’t mind doing without these amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2004

A great hotel in a quiet area right on a canal. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2004

We stayed here from 31st July until 4th August and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well situated. It's in a quiet area, but easily accessible.
We had a triple room which was a good size and very clean. We had a bath with a shower over but no shower curtain!
The breakfast was OK. There was plenty and it was a buffet, it just wasn't to our taste. I'm not much of a fan of cold meats at breakfast.
The hotel was definitely good value for money in Amsterdam terms.
We'll definiteley stay here the next time we're in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Address: Amstel 107 - 111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.