We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
The Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 107 - 111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Landstuhl, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel was quite nice. We stayed a very luxurious apartment suite. Plenty of towels, large living space, and enough beds to comfortably sleep 4 adults. Breakfast was above average. Hotel staff was extremely helpful and professional. I do recommend this place. The only downfall was the luggage storage area was not secured. I walked in and out grabbed my two suitcases and left with no one questioning me for identification. Other wise great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    329
    71
    14
    9
See reviews for
116
263
38
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We booked 2 nights (25 and 26th July) but didn't realise we had booked a basement room so no view...still, the room was light enough from the skylight and we were far enough from the breakfast room so there wasn't a lot of noise, we weren't expecting to spend any time in the room anyway. The en-suite/wetroom was basic but ok, shower was nice and hot but a little underpowered. The bed was comfy and we had decent enough sleep. Receptionist was helpful, polite and informative. The breakfast was ok, it's a nice inclusion that you don't always get but a little lacking - standard continental spread but no pastries.

No a/c but didn't expect it - rooms had fans and although it was warm the combination of the fan and skylight kept the room cool enough for a good nights sleep

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Rembrandt square which saves you from too much street noise and there are a couple of small local places to get a nightcap nearby.

All in all a nice hotel in a good location. I would stay here again (but ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor)

Room Tip: go for a high floor to get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It was a pleasant surprise when we decided to not stay in the busy heart of Amsterdam, and chose to move out to the quieter suburb of Weesperplein, The hotel was easy to find, sitting on the banks of the beautifully scenic River Amstel. we were greeted by the friendly reception, and stayed downstairs in this quaint hotel. Breakfast was provided with all tastes catered for, and my vast appetite was satisfied.
We had a bit of a problem whilst in Amsterdam in the shape of being rather ripped off and badly treated by a taxi driver, some Amsterdammers locally immediately took issue in our support, and when we got back to the hotel the shocked reception staff were immediately on our side and reported the taxi driver immediately. I say this, because on occasion, i have been abroad and things have happenned and locals and authorities seem nonchalant about what happenned, but the staff at the Bridge hotel were above and beyond when it came to looking after this, also looking after us when we had many questions about Amsterdam and its facilities.
Hartelijk dank, we zullen weer terugkomen!

Room Tip: We stayed in the basement, though the room was nice, it would have been worth a couple more euro to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A clean, tastefully decorated boutique hotel, the Bridge Hotel is close to major tram lines and opposite the Amstel River. In general, we had a pleasant stay. Unfortunately, however, we had no view of the river and the famous "skinny bridge", as we were at the back of the hotel on the main floor. Our only window (with no screen to shield us from mosquitoes) faced a tiny square of a courtyard--in other words, a brick wall. Thus, we felt a lack of privacy. On a positive note, the room itself was spacious, and the breakfast was ample and varied.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room at the front on an upper level (even though there is no elevator). Othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The best thing about the Bridge Hotel is the location: it's outside the busy, loud touristy sections of Amsterdam, and it faces the Amstel River. It's less than a 10 minute walk to the tram or metro, though, so everywhere is accessible. And Ultrechtsestraat is only a 5 minute walk across the river, and it's a street of restaurants and shops (including several Indonesia restaurants for the required rijstaffel meal). The bed is comfortable, quiet, and the room we had was large with a view of one of the canals off the Amstel. It's an affordable hotel, and rooms with no views are even cheaper. Our room also separated the toilet from the shower in two different little rooms off of the bedroom: this was very convenient for two people. There are some flaws: it's a 3 star hotel in some respects, but in others, it is not: there is no elevator (we were on the 3rd floor---it wasn't a problem, just a little bit unnerving with luggage going up/down the narrow stairs), no air conditioning (not a problem for us since the weather was cool for July, but if it were in the 80s, you'd be hot and bitten by the gnats that come into the room with the windows open since there are no screens). The hotel service was minimal: often, towels weren't replaced (they were taken away, but not replaced), and dirty glasses weren't replaced (they were left, dirty, on the desk). When I asked for clean glasses, one of the receptionists said no since she needed them in her little lounge in case guests wanted to purchase a glass of wine. (On a previous night, however, another receptionist didn't flinch when I asked for wine glasses.) The breakfast is ok: the breads are terrible, you can't toast the raisin bread (the toaster isn't ideal), and the soft boiled eggs were always overcooked. But there is unlimited coffee, juice, yogurt and kiwis, and they were good.

Despite the flaws, though, I liked our hotel enough that I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: I'm guessing that rooms on the lobby floor or the floor below the lobby, where breakfast is serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Amsterdam is a pricy city, but this hotel was a great value. The staff was helpful and the rooms were clean. The breakfast buffet was tasty but not overly fancy. We would stay here again.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the tram stops and a 20-30 minute walk from most attractions. The walk itself is gorgeous, especially at night when the bridges are lit up. There are some great cafés along the canals with affordable, local food and beer. Much better than you'd find in the touristy areas.

It's certainly nothing fancy, but it's just such a cute place. We didn't spend much time in the room since we wanted to explore all of Amsterdam, but it was a nice, clean place to come home to each night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the Bridge Hotel for 4 nights in late May. Overall we had a very good experience at the Bridge Hotel. I very much agree with the other reviewers on their comments on the lobby space. It appears to be more of a hostel/dorm front desk area than a hotel lobby. I was also quite cluttered. I was a little concerned about our stay when checking in due to the appearance of the lobby. There were several twists, turns, and stairs to get to our room which was at the end of the hall on the third floor. It was hard to find initially, but we liked it because it was out of the way and quiet. We were relieved when we got to our room and found it large, clean, and simply furnished with a great canal view. One of the first things that I noticed about the room is that it had hard surface flooring rather than carpet. The furnishings in the room were simple but adequate. The windows open either hopper style or casement style, so you can get a little fresh air and ventilation, or leave them wide open. Our room was also supplied with a fan, so we were able to keep it at a temperature where we were comfortable. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows and comforters were of good quality. The bathroom was roomy, clean, and was sufficiently stocked with toiletries. The front desk is staffed 24 hours, and everyone we encountered there was very friendly and helpful. They always seemed genuinely glad to see you and have you at their hotel. The breakfast had a good variety of food and was always well stocked. We also stayed at another hotel on our trip to Amsterdam. In comparing the two, I would say that the Bridge Hotel has very large rooms by comparison and was a much better value. However, we did feel that the Bridge Hotel was not as centrally located as we would have liked. It is still very easy to get around using transit, but it is a little bit of a walk to restaurants, activities, etc. Overall, I thought this hotel was a great value for the price. It is a bit out of the way of many tourist activities, so be prepared to walk and/or use public transit or a bike. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Canal views and/or off the main corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Address: Amstel 107 - 111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.