We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room & location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
The Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 107 - 111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great room & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Entry is like the entry to a hostel rather than a hotel however our room was spacious, clean and with a comfortable bed Lovely outlook with pretty balcony overlooking side canal. The hotel is in a great location. Breakfast was basic sustenance. The reception was our first introduction to Dutch directness. Sometimes great sometimes harsh. We stayed three days. The room was excellent

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    303
    66
    13
    7
See reviews for
105
241
34
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Quite simply, everything that you want in a hotel is here - superb location, high quality rooms, great food, cheerful staff. There are NO negative things to say. I am a fussy, 55 year old, experienced traveller and I cannot understand how anybody could not rate this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We booked two nights here in June. Having read the reviews we were expecting something a little better than what we got. The hotel is very basic. We had a studio on the top floor. Be warned - these are not suitable for people with small children. The steps are very steep upto the room and a bit of a death trap.

When we saw the room we were also disappointed. It was stiffingly hot and opening the windows didn't help (interesting that the repectionist had a big fan but the guests are left to sweat it out). We couldn't let our children walk/ crawl as we were so worried they would fall down the stairs (again very steep and dangerous).

The location also isn't as central as we were led to believe.

All in all we decided to check out and find another hotel. We had to pay for the first night but that was preferable to staying here - it would have been unbearably hot and we were so worried about the sheer drop on the stairs with our young kids that it wasn't worth the risk.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Good and varieted breakfast, nice people in the front desk, nice decoration in the hotel, close to trams, computer service in loby, clean. I fell down in city center and when I arrived to hotel receptionist offered me ice for my foot. We would come back there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

After reading all these great reviews you expect so much so I was a little disappointed. For what you get I found it expensive. My family and I had 2 rooms for 3 nights which both faced the inside court yard (no street view, no canal). They were both on the 1st level. Hotel is simple but clean. Service was very good and accommodating. Location is also good. It takes about 30 minutes to walk to central station. The rooms however are small and simple for the price. Decor is plain (Ikea looking). The rooms are also not sound proof. In my room I could hear snoring from the adjacent room. My kids had a room across from the reception desk and could hear a lot of the activity going on. I put poor sleeping quality because of this. Otherwise the beds were comfortable. AGAIN, THE WORST PART WAS HEARING SNORING FROM THE OTHER ROOM NEXT TO OURS. To be fair, I will say that this was our first time in Amsterdam so I could not compare to other Hotels in this class rating. Perhaps the price paid and room is the standard. However if I go back to Amsterdam, I will look for something else.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a canal view in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I found the hotel to be basic but very clean and good value for money. The central location was brilliant and we were able to walk to most of the attractions like the Rembrandt plein or catch the tram (easy to use and very frequent).My room also provided with a view of Prinsengracht canal. Breakfast was another delight. Would definitely use the hotel again for future trips.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We are returning this year for a fifth visit to Amsterdam, and a fourth stay at this very comfortable and well-situated hotel. It's not cheap, but its location and no-fuss approach to service are a boon.

Room Tip: The rooms with canal views are obviously more attractive, but the city itself is so attractive that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Address: Amstel 107 - 111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.