We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amstel light apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 107 - 111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
scotland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“amstel light apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

stayed 1 night in the apartment as there was 3 adults.we arrived before 11am and they let us have the apartment right away as there had been nobody in it the night before.the apartment is really big and spacious with a double bed 2 single beds and a sort of cot/bed a large dining/kitchen/lounge area with 2 big windows looking onto the canal. it has all the mod cons you need and also abathroom with a shower plus another separate toilet,also 3 tvs including 1 massive flat screen and also a radio/cd player,everything was nice and clean and i have to add the matresses and pillows are some of the best ever!!.the staff at the desk were all very friendly and nothing was a bother, especially as we overslept and got up nearly half an hour before breakfast finished. the reception did call us at 11.30 to remind us that check out time was 11am but they were very nice about it. the breakfast was first class and lenty of everything you would expect in a continental hotel.all in all i would definately recommend this apartment, only down side would be if you have problem with stairs as it,s up quite a few flights of narrow steep stairs, but otherwise brilliuant would def go back, would be amazing in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    271
    60
    12
    6
See reviews for
90
216
29
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed in this hotel during December 2013, spent there three nights.
Our room was amazing! Firstly, all the decoration is very cosy, feels like you are at home! Great view from the windows (we had a room on 2nd floor, don`t remember which number exactly). Very quiet, clean, awesome beds (really like sleeping in warm clouds), perfect and very helpful service. Good choise for food during breakfast.
If I would have to come back to Amsterdam - I would come back to Bridge Hotel, for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our New year break in Amsterdam was great.
The room we stayed in,110,was on ground floor and very noisy from traffic passing outside room,especially in mornings,from guests and staff.Our 'view' was of the smoking area below,an internal stairwell,outside corridor and the 'common' room near reception,so needless to say our curtains were permanently closed!!A thick carpet on the landing/corridor might help to reduce noise levels..As it was on a slope and above ground level,the footsteps felt they were next to your head,as bed was on opposite side of wall.
The breakfast was great and the staff friendly.The location is excellent,especially if you want to be near centre and shopping/markets.
Wi-fi and tv worked grand.A kettle/fridge in the room might be nice,instead of having to go to reception to get tea made for you,but it was a 24hr service.
Dunno if I'd stay there again,but it won't stop me coming back to Amsterdam,a city I've lived in and visited many times!
So,if you do stay here,do not take a room on ground floor.Don't know what other rooms were like...

Room Tip: Do not stay on ground floor,especially room 110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at The Bridge Hotel for 3 nights in August 2012. We found our room to be spacious (twin room with view over the canals), clean and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and there was always plenty of food available for breakfast.

We were able to walk everywhere, but it was also just as easy to catch a tram (once we got our Amsterdam city card).

The only thing that was slightly annoying was the internet wasn't very consistent and would drop in and out, but this didn't affect our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Bridge hotel for 4 nights. It is very well located in the centre of Amsterdam. It is clean, and the staff is efficient. Our stay was a bit of a disappointment but due mostly to some bad luck. We received a quiet, comfortable modern room on checking in, but it smelled bad, with a leaking toilet. The next day, we changed rooms and were put into room number 110, probably their last available one, which I suppose they use in case of emergencies when nothing else is available. This room was noisy, smallish, had no desk, no hair dryer and had 2 green drab metal lockers instead of proper wardrobes (the lockers were okay, it was the contrast which was a bit shocking). In effect we were downgraded. The hotel staff offered us a glass of wine or a coffee to compensate us for the downgrade, where they should have offered us a rebate on the room price. For the rest, the hotel is fine and would have gotten 4/5 points had we gotten what I though would have been a fair compensation. Avoid room 110.

Room Tip: Avoid room 110!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Amsterdam is ridiculously expensive for hotels and the Bridge Hotel is no exception but it offers much better value for money than others I've stayed in. It's spotlessly clean throughout and our room was very well maintained. The rooms have an almost utilitarian feel to them in terms of the decor but there are homely touches like super-soft pillows, funky lamps, colourful throws and (artificial) flowers to make them cosy and individual. We paid up for a canal view and got a huge room with a large bathroom and private balcony. The shower was excellent - hot and powerful - and all the bathroom fittings look brand new.

Breakfast is served in a spacious room in the basement and is a very generous continental spread - boiled eggs, toast, breads, cheeses, cold meats, cereals, fruits, yogurts, olives, preserves, etc - and is self-service so you can fill your boots!

The staff at this hotel were all friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The location is fairly central and it took us about 10 minutes to walk to Rembrandtplein. Dam Square and Leidesplein were another 10 minutes or so. There are lots of cosy and reasonable restaurants in the little side streets around Rembrandtplein if you don't fancy venturing far for dinner, and plenty of brown cafes and pubs even closer to the hotel.

We would definitely stay here again if it was available at a reasonable price next time we go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This being my 2nd stay at this hotel it will not be my last,great location,very nice staff,had a fantastic view over the Amstel canal from our large room (remember to ask for a room overlooking the Amstel canal) and the buffet breakfast is very good,all the Amsterdam sights are easily walkable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel

Address: Amstel 107 - 111, 1018 EM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bridge Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your The Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.