We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Linden Hotel to your Saves list
Linden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindengracht 251, 1015KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acacia Hotel) (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is perfect - nice quiet neighborhood just a short bus or tram ride from central station. Great little breakfast and coffee available directly across the street. Our window looked out onto the canal. The building is one of the old, triangular end-off the block types so even though the hotel has all the modern amenities it has the feel of a historic location. Staff were great and always around to greet and help with anything.

Room Tip: The stairs are steep but there is a small elevator. One side has views of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    52
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
44
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here because the price was right. It looked closer to town on the maps so be warned it is a little way out (1/2 hour walk from train station - with suitcases!) but once there it was really lovely - very quiet (which you wouldn't get closer to town) with very helpful staff.
Good sized rooms and great bathroom.
Also just across the road from best Mexican restaurant. Strange to be eating Mexican in Amsterdam - but don't look a gift-horse in the mouth.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We had a great room, spacious and big bathroom. Staff were great and helpful, worth asking about amsterdams hidden gems they will tell you some great ones. The size of the hotel isnt really big but if you look at amsterdam itself, most of the buildings are like that so we didn't expect a massive hotel. The stairs are a bit awkward but its fine. We would stay again

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

The room we were given was far too close to the front door, very loud. Every guest coming in at all hours of the night passed out room, safe to say we didn't get a good night sleep the whole 4 nights that we were there.
Rooms far too small for 2 people, stuffy and uncomfortable even with the window open..
Probably a little too far out from the main tourist attractions than we would have liked

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

I was visiting the city for a conference in a chain hotel and decided to stay in a smaller independent hotel as Amsterdam has so many and I wanted to be away from the conference hotel.

This hotel is next to canal in a very residential area which makes it peaceful at night with only a few local bars you can walk to. The rooms are clean and modern with comfy beds but awful pillows. The bathroom was a wet room which was fine for me but not suitable for everyone.

My only complaint was I needed to use an iron do on arriving around 9pm and about to quickly shower and run to drinks with colleagues I asked if I could use one in my room and was told this wasn't possible I would need to go to the restaurant and use it. As I was in a rush this wasn't an option so hung my shirt in the bathroom as a showered but needed to iron a formal shirt for the next day so I said I I would do this when I came back to be told I couldn't as he was leaving at 11pm and I couldn't in the morning because they are serving breakfast. Why people can't take this to the room he had no answer and was typical of dutch customer service which is generally poor.

In the room you will find a fan and even an iPod dock both of which are rarely used but yet they can't provide irons and boards something people actually use and are low cost, the rooms are small but the iron would easily fit under the bed. If they can't afford that at least have a few sets that can be used like every other hotel!

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Stayed here with a friend this weekend. The hotel is clean and modern. Staff are so friendly and helpful too. The best I have come across and I have been to a lot of places! Can't recommend it enough :) next time I am in amsterdam I shall be staying here again!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

stayed here for three nights last week whilst taking a short break with a friend to absorb some culture.

10 minutes from the centre.. you can catch the bus from outside the hotel into the central station area where from there the buses , trams , trains, tuktuk etc run from to all areas of amsterdam.

The hotel is very clean and tidy , the staff are friendly and very helpful .
A five minute walk away from the ann frank museum with pretty shops and cafes all around situated by the canal with little noise .
I booked a twin room which was cleaned daily with fresh towels left, in the room there is a kettle with hot drink facilities.
The bathroom was clean , with a powerful shower .
A truly nice quaint hotel.

whilst visitiing amsterdam make sure you try all the delicious waffle / Puddings you see in the bakery windows ;-)

Room Tip: id honestly get a room not on the ground floor as you may have passerby looking in and a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Linden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Hotel

Address: Lindengracht 251, 1015KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acacia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Linden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.