We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for couples!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Linden Hotel to your Saves list
Linden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindengracht 251, 1015KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acacia Hotel) (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for couples!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Visiting Amsterdam with my girlfriend staying at the linden hotel was ideal. It was very clean, excellent service and friendly staff. It was a 15 minute walk from Central and just that little bit outside of all the madness. Would definitely visit stay at the Linden again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    36
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
33
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were here just for a night because I read so many reviews of jordaan I insisted to stay here and what a beautiful location. The hotel was nice but its a long amazing walk if you have too many bags. The staff was great helpful and friendly. The room that we stayed was a bit too small just enough for a bed but it was so cozy neat and tidy. I realy liked the trendy look of the room and the beautiful canal view from the window. I would easily recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Overall, my husband and I were incredibly pleased with our stay. We were in Amsterdam at the Linden Hotel for a week, and loved every second of it. The staff was incredibly helpful, very friendly, and accommodating. It was exactly what we were looking for.

The Room- We stayed on the third floor with a room that overlooked the canal...absolutely beautiful. There was lots of natural light, very airy, and incredibly clean. Just FYI...the rooms are alot smaller than the typical chain hotel..so don't expect a ton of space. We wanted more of the quaint feel, so it really hit the mark for us. But know that is will be tight with two people...so anymore than that in a room will probably be too much. The beds are very comfy as well which was a huge plus. Honestly though, we were out exploring the city all day and didnt spend a ton of time in our room so the space was not an issue for us.

The Location- I personally feel the location couldnt be beat. You are a quick walk to the city center, but away from the tourist hustle and bustle. We were looking for more of a local feel, and this hotel definitely gives you that opportunity. You are right along the canal and walking distance to everything.

Breakfast- The hotel offers basically like a continental breakfast for 10 euros a person. Not to knock the hotel, but honestly...we never got it. It is definitely overpriced considering there are SO MANY places to get hot breakfast for the same price. We went to Jennifers and Sara's Pancake House...both were great!

All in all, we were looking for more of a laid back, local trip. We were trying to steer away from tourist traps and gimicky things. So for us, this hotel was amazing. Unique feel, awesome location, friendly staff...we couldnt be happier. I have read some other reviews and the things people complain about weren't really a big deal to us. I guess it depends on what kind of trip you are hoping for. Don't go to this hotel with the expectations that you are staying in just any other hotel..its different and very cozy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights for Kings Day weekend. It was the PERFECT location as it was on a street with many parties and live bands but was also quiet enough to get a good night's sleep.

Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I just finished my Paris - Amsterdam - Istanbul trip and Linden was one of the best. If you search from Google Map / Street View you will see Acacia Hotel - don't fret, it is the same hotel, just rebranded.

From their Linden Hotel website, you will see instructions on how to head to the hotel so that was really convenient. From Amsterdam Central, it took us less than 10 minutes by bus to reach Linden Hotel.

Location
- Although it sounds like it's not in the middle of the action when I say I rode the bus for less than 10 minutes, it is perfectly located around the Jordaan District which has lots of eateries and shops around the dam. I like the quiet, cozy area but still so interesting and fascinating if you walk towards Jordaan. And yes, it is less than 10 minutes walk from Anne Frank house, Cheese Museum, Hop on Hop Offs. And actually, it is probably walking distance from the central.

Family
Great place for families, very clean, decent, although you'd have to climb some steep stairs, grandmas, strollers or other knee problem friends can opt to take the lift available.

Cleanliness
Very very clean and decent. Towels were prepared, rooms were decent, they even had coffee tea facilities.

Size
I understand why some people complained about its size, where we stayed which was the highest floor it was maybe about 400 sq metres? or maybe less, but everything was still there. If you're a really big person or have very big bags and you find the idea of being in a smaller rooms might suffocate you then you should think twice. But really, it's a cozy place that fits my mum and I with rooms for bags and doing make up.

Value
It's probably one of the more value for money accommodation out there around Amsterdam as well.

Room Tip: Maybe not the highest floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiwen, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Linden Hotel is a cozy little (and I mean little) place that we visited for a weekend trip to Amsterdam. First off, we drove to the hotel, and even with a gps, it is a little bit tricky to get to.. but that is no fault of the hotel - We found most of the streets in Amsterdam to be narrow and windy. After 2 times around the block (but only about 5 minutes), we arrived. A skinny, tall building, we were pleasantly greeted by someone at the desk and imediatly shown to our room, even though we were about 3 hours earlier than the check-in time. As we were there on the weekend (arrived Friday) we were told that we could park across the street until very early Saturday morning but then (7am) would have to move our car due to the street market that is there every Saturday. We chose instead to park a few km away at a Parkhouse and leave our car there for the weekend (The man at the desk gave us a map with several parking options). The room was small, but modern, clean and comfortable. Modern bathroom as well and wi-fi was avaliable. As far as the location is concerned, I was glad we stayed where we did. As it was our first trip to Amsterdam, we had searched extensivly for hotels - including some of the more fancy chains located right in the immediate city center. The Linden was far enough away from the madness and all the kids going crazy but still in a wonderful area that had alot around it. We also easily walked downtown and everywhere we wanted to visit from our location, it was no problem. We went to the charming cafe across the street for breakfast, and it was lovely.
Overall, a great experience, I would stay there again the next time I go to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor - there is no elevator, so it meas a few more stairs, but it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

It started off badly as the man behind the desk watched rather than assisted us to get our luggage from the taxi thru the rain and difficult doorway into the reception area. Then having been assured we could wheel our bags to the room, there were in fact two sets of stairs between the lift and our room.
Our room was so small you could only walk around the bed sideways, and even then you had to duck around the TV. There was not even enough room to get the stool out from under the very small desk, let alone room to unpack our bags.
The bathroom was a better size but so poorly designed it was impossible to have a shower without flooding the entire floor - in fact we had to use a towel on the floor as a dam wall in an attempt to hold the water in.
The instructions for the safe left out two clear steps, which when we reported this to reception they already knew and were clearly not going to do anything about. Also the instructions on how to operate the lift were incorrect - why would you have a lift that needs instructions!!
And to contact staff ... you need to walk outside and press the button.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Linden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Hotel

Address: Lindengracht 251, 1015KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acacia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Linden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.