We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and Cozy Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Linden Hotel to your Saves list
Linden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindengracht 251, 1015KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acacia Hotel) (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and Cozy Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Overall, my husband and I were incredibly pleased with our stay. We were in Amsterdam at the Linden Hotel for a week, and loved every second of it. The staff was incredibly helpful, very friendly, and accommodating. It was exactly what we were looking for.

The Room- We stayed on the third floor with a room that overlooked the canal...absolutely beautiful. There was lots of natural light, very airy, and incredibly clean. Just FYI...the rooms are alot smaller than the typical chain hotel..so don't expect a ton of space. We wanted more of the quaint feel, so it really hit the mark for us. But know that is will be tight with two people...so anymore than that in a room will probably be too much. The beds are very comfy as well which was a huge plus. Honestly though, we were out exploring the city all day and didnt spend a ton of time in our room so the space was not an issue for us.

The Location- I personally feel the location couldnt be beat. You are a quick walk to the city center, but away from the tourist hustle and bustle. We were looking for more of a local feel, and this hotel definitely gives you that opportunity. You are right along the canal and walking distance to everything.

Breakfast- The hotel offers basically like a continental breakfast for 10 euros a person. Not to knock the hotel, but honestly...we never got it. It is definitely overpriced considering there are SO MANY places to get hot breakfast for the same price. We went to Jennifers and Sara's Pancake House...both were great!

All in all, we were looking for more of a laid back, local trip. We were trying to steer away from tourist traps and gimicky things. So for us, this hotel was amazing. Unique feel, awesome location, friendly staff...we couldnt be happier. I have read some other reviews and the things people complain about weren't really a big deal to us. I guess it depends on what kind of trip you are hoping for. Don't go to this hotel with the expectations that you are staying in just any other hotel..its different and very cozy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsPenguin1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights for Kings Day weekend. It was the PERFECT location as it was on a street with many parties and live bands but was also quiet enough to get a good night's sleep.

Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MapleLeafGirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I just finished my Paris - Amsterdam - Istanbul trip and Linden was one of the best. If you search from Google Map / Street View you will see Acacia Hotel - don't fret, it is the same hotel, just rebranded.

From their Linden Hotel website, you will see instructions on how to head to the hotel so that was really convenient. From Amsterdam Central, it took us less than 10 minutes by bus to reach Linden Hotel.

Location
- Although it sounds like it's not in the middle of the action when I say I rode the bus for less than 10 minutes, it is perfectly located around the Jordaan District which has lots of eateries and shops around the dam. I like the quiet, cozy area but still so interesting and fascinating if you walk towards Jordaan. And yes, it is less than 10 minutes walk from Anne Frank house, Cheese Museum, Hop on Hop Offs. And actually, it is probably walking distance from the central.

Family
Great place for families, very clean, decent, although you'd have to climb some steep stairs, grandmas, strollers or other knee problem friends can opt to take the lift available.

Cleanliness
Very very clean and decent. Towels were prepared, rooms were decent, they even had coffee tea facilities.

Size
I understand why some people complained about its size, where we stayed which was the highest floor it was maybe about 400 sq metres? or maybe less, but everything was still there. If you're a really big person or have very big bags and you find the idea of being in a smaller rooms might suffocate you then you should think twice. But really, it's a cozy place that fits my mum and I with rooms for bags and doing make up.

Value
It's probably one of the more value for money accommodation out there around Amsterdam as well.

Room Tip: Maybe not the highest floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiwen, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Linden Hotel is a cozy little (and I mean little) place that we visited for a weekend trip to Amsterdam. First off, we drove to the hotel, and even with a gps, it is a little bit tricky to get to.. but that is no fault of the hotel - We found most of the streets in Amsterdam to be narrow and windy. After 2 times around the block (but only about 5 minutes), we arrived. A skinny, tall building, we were pleasantly greeted by someone at the desk and imediatly shown to our room, even though we were about 3 hours earlier than the check-in time. As we were there on the weekend (arrived Friday) we were told that we could park across the street until very early Saturday morning but then (7am) would have to move our car due to the street market that is there every Saturday. We chose instead to park a few km away at a Parkhouse and leave our car there for the weekend (The man at the desk gave us a map with several parking options). The room was small, but modern, clean and comfortable. Modern bathroom as well and wi-fi was avaliable. As far as the location is concerned, I was glad we stayed where we did. As it was our first trip to Amsterdam, we had searched extensivly for hotels - including some of the more fancy chains located right in the immediate city center. The Linden was far enough away from the madness and all the kids going crazy but still in a wonderful area that had alot around it. We also easily walked downtown and everywhere we wanted to visit from our location, it was no problem. We went to the charming cafe across the street for breakfast, and it was lovely.
Overall, a great experience, I would stay there again the next time I go to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor - there is no elevator, so it meas a few more stairs, but it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsschloeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

It started off badly as the man behind the desk watched rather than assisted us to get our luggage from the taxi thru the rain and difficult doorway into the reception area. Then having been assured we could wheel our bags to the room, there were in fact two sets of stairs between the lift and our room.
Our room was so small you could only walk around the bed sideways, and even then you had to duck around the TV. There was not even enough room to get the stool out from under the very small desk, let alone room to unpack our bags.
The bathroom was a better size but so poorly designed it was impossible to have a shower without flooding the entire floor - in fact we had to use a towel on the floor as a dam wall in an attempt to hold the water in.
The instructions for the safe left out two clear steps, which when we reported this to reception they already knew and were clearly not going to do anything about. Also the instructions on how to operate the lift were incorrect - why would you have a lift that needs instructions!!
And to contact staff ... you need to walk outside and press the button.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

For a three star hotel in this great location the hotel is a good base for exploring Amsterdam. The lift does not go directly to floors so be prepared for stairs after getting out of lift. Rooms a little cosy but comfortable. Service could be a little better but overall it is value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My fiancé whisked my away to Amsterdam for a few days and the linden was perfect. The room was very small but perfectly formed, the decor was beautiful and modern colours were used throughout. The hotel is located in a picturesque area of Amsterdam and only a ten minute walk from city centre. There are first class restaurant and cafés only two minutes from the linden, especially the little coffee shop directly beside it, 10/10. I would definitely go back and stay there. But just note, the stairs are very very narrow however there is a lift so that helps.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nataliefionataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,031 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#106 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Hotel

Address: Lindengracht 251, 1015KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acacia Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Linden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing