We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location around Jordaan, Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Linden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindengracht 251, 1015KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acacia Hotel) (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Location around Jordaan, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I just finished my Paris - Amsterdam - Istanbul trip and Linden was one of the best. If you search from Google Map / Street View you will see Acacia Hotel - don't fret, it is the same hotel, just rebranded.

From their Linden Hotel website, you will see instructions on how to head to the hotel so that was really convenient. From Amsterdam Central, it took us less than 10 minutes by bus to reach Linden Hotel.

Location
- Although it sounds like it's not in the middle of the action when I say I rode the bus for less than 10 minutes, it is perfectly located around the Jordaan District which has lots of eateries and shops around the dam. I like the quiet, cozy area but still so interesting and fascinating if you walk towards Jordaan. And yes, it is less than 10 minutes walk from Anne Frank house, Cheese Museum, Hop on Hop Offs. And actually, it is probably walking distance from the central.

Family
Great place for families, very clean, decent, although you'd have to climb some steep stairs, grandmas, strollers or other knee problem friends can opt to take the lift available.

Cleanliness
Very very clean and decent. Towels were prepared, rooms were decent, they even had coffee tea facilities.

Size
I understand why some people complained about its size, where we stayed which was the highest floor it was maybe about 400 sq metres? or maybe less, but everything was still there. If you're a really big person or have very big bags and you find the idea of being in a smaller rooms might suffocate you then you should think twice. But really, it's a cozy place that fits my mum and I with rooms for bags and doing make up.

Value
It's probably one of the more value for money accommodation out there around Amsterdam as well.

Room Tip: Maybe not the highest floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
23
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiwen, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Linden Hotel is a cozy little (and I mean little) place that we visited for a weekend trip to Amsterdam. First off, we drove to the hotel, and even with a gps, it is a little bit tricky to get to.. but that is no fault of the hotel - We found most of the streets in Amsterdam to be narrow and windy. After 2 times around the block (but only about 5 minutes), we arrived. A skinny, tall building, we were pleasantly greeted by someone at the desk and imediatly shown to our room, even though we were about 3 hours earlier than the check-in time. As we were there on the weekend (arrived Friday) we were told that we could park across the street until very early Saturday morning but then (7am) would have to move our car due to the street market that is there every Saturday. We chose instead to park a few km away at a Parkhouse and leave our car there for the weekend (The man at the desk gave us a map with several parking options). The room was small, but modern, clean and comfortable. Modern bathroom as well and wi-fi was avaliable. As far as the location is concerned, I was glad we stayed where we did. As it was our first trip to Amsterdam, we had searched extensivly for hotels - including some of the more fancy chains located right in the immediate city center. The Linden was far enough away from the madness and all the kids going crazy but still in a wonderful area that had alot around it. We also easily walked downtown and everywhere we wanted to visit from our location, it was no problem. We went to the charming cafe across the street for breakfast, and it was lovely.
Overall, a great experience, I would stay there again the next time I go to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor - there is no elevator, so it meas a few more stairs, but it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

It started off badly as the man behind the desk watched rather than assisted us to get our luggage from the taxi thru the rain and difficult doorway into the reception area. Then having been assured we could wheel our bags to the room, there were in fact two sets of stairs between the lift and our room.
Our room was so small you could only walk around the bed sideways, and even then you had to duck around the TV. There was not even enough room to get the stool out from under the very small desk, let alone room to unpack our bags.
The bathroom was a better size but so poorly designed it was impossible to have a shower without flooding the entire floor - in fact we had to use a towel on the floor as a dam wall in an attempt to hold the water in.
The instructions for the safe left out two clear steps, which when we reported this to reception they already knew and were clearly not going to do anything about. Also the instructions on how to operate the lift were incorrect - why would you have a lift that needs instructions!!
And to contact staff ... you need to walk outside and press the button.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

For a three star hotel in this great location the hotel is a good base for exploring Amsterdam. The lift does not go directly to floors so be prepared for stairs after getting out of lift. Rooms a little cosy but comfortable. Service could be a little better but overall it is value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My fiancé whisked my away to Amsterdam for a few days and the linden was perfect. The room was very small but perfectly formed, the decor was beautiful and modern colours were used throughout. The hotel is located in a picturesque area of Amsterdam and only a ten minute walk from city centre. There are first class restaurant and cafés only two minutes from the linden, especially the little coffee shop directly beside it, 10/10. I would definitely go back and stay there. But just note, the stairs are very very narrow however there is a lift so that helps.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The location is excellent for people wanting a quiet and safe stay in Amsterdam. A 20 minute walk to the centre of the city with some excellent cafes and restaurants near by.

The room however is small. Not suitable for those with a lot of luggage or those wanting to to work whilst in the hotel (no desk etc). The sound proofing is also not fully adequate with people making noise whist walking past your room.

For the price we paided however (~ £60 per night ) it was very fair. We cannot comment on the breakfast however. The staff were also helpful and present 7am -11pm.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The rooms are too small but clean, the conditions for work (with laptop) are non-existend. The breakfast is a symbolic one for the price it costs. For business travellers not a good choice. The walls noise isolation is quite poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Linden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Hotel

Address: Lindengracht 251, 1015KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acacia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Linden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.