We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Linden Hotel to your Saves list
Linden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindengracht 251, 1015KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acacia Hotel) (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“False advertising”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

It started off badly as the man behind the desk watched rather than assisted us to get our luggage from the taxi thru the rain and difficult doorway into the reception area. Then having been assured we could wheel our bags to the room, there were in fact two sets of stairs between the lift and our room.
Our room was so small you could only walk around the bed sideways, and even then you had to duck around the TV. There was not even enough room to get the stool out from under the very small desk, let alone room to unpack our bags.
The bathroom was a better size but so poorly designed it was impossible to have a shower without flooding the entire floor - in fact we had to use a towel on the floor as a dam wall in an attempt to hold the water in.
The instructions for the safe left out two clear steps, which when we reported this to reception they already knew and were clearly not going to do anything about. Also the instructions on how to operate the lift were incorrect - why would you have a lift that needs instructions!!
And to contact staff ... you need to walk outside and press the button.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    79
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
68
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

For a three star hotel in this great location the hotel is a good base for exploring Amsterdam. The lift does not go directly to floors so be prepared for stairs after getting out of lift. Rooms a little cosy but comfortable. Service could be a little better but overall it is value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My fiancé whisked my away to Amsterdam for a few days and the linden was perfect. The room was very small but perfectly formed, the decor was beautiful and modern colours were used throughout. The hotel is located in a picturesque area of Amsterdam and only a ten minute walk from city centre. There are first class restaurant and cafés only two minutes from the linden, especially the little coffee shop directly beside it, 10/10. I would definitely go back and stay there. But just note, the stairs are very very narrow however there is a lift so that helps.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The location is excellent for people wanting a quiet and safe stay in Amsterdam. A 20 minute walk to the centre of the city with some excellent cafes and restaurants near by.

The room however is small. Not suitable for those with a lot of luggage or those wanting to to work whilst in the hotel (no desk etc). The sound proofing is also not fully adequate with people making noise whist walking past your room.

For the price we paided however (~ £60 per night ) it was very fair. We cannot comment on the breakfast however. The staff were also helpful and present 7am -11pm.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The rooms are too small but clean, the conditions for work (with laptop) are non-existend. The breakfast is a symbolic one for the price it costs. For business travellers not a good choice. The walls noise isolation is quite poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Linden Hotel is located in a very beautiful position, on a quite canal. The rooms are quite small, as well as the bathroom, but it is clean and not so expensive as the other hotels in Amsterdam.
The only thing I didn't like was the breakfast; you have to pay € 12 for n. 1 croissant with a sppon of marmelade and 1 slice of salami + 1 of cheede and 1 egg ( I don't like those kind of things for breakafst) and iIcouldn't choose from a buffet.
THAT'S WHY I SUGGEST TO SLEEP THERE BUT WITHOUT CHOOSING THE BREAKFAST INCLUDED ( THERE'S A BEAUTIFUL PLACE IN FRONT OF THE HOTEL ITSELF).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

we booked this hotel by internet and we choiced this place to be in famous localisation of Jordaan. when we arrived, reception was perfect. The boss gives some advices to visiting Amsterdam City and about transports. We have two bedrooms : first for two adults and second one for familiy (2+2). It s true that bedrooms are small, but we are in Amsterdam ... Seriously, siez is not a real problem for few nights but bathrooms are not very larges. More important : bedding are perfect, there are no noise, we don't have cold.
Advice : if you booked breakfeast the day before, you pay less
In conclusion : I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#106 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#94 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,300 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#30 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#273 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel Wiechmann
Hotel Wiechmann
#97 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Hotel

Address: Lindengracht 251, 1015KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acacia Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Linden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.