We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, not quite right!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Linden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Linden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindengracht 251, 1015KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acacia Hotel) (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good location, not quite right!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

For a three star hotel in this great location the hotel is a good base for exploring Amsterdam. The lift does not go directly to floors so be prepared for stairs after getting out of lift. Rooms a little cosy but comfortable. Service could be a little better but overall it is value for money.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
25
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My fiancé whisked my away to Amsterdam for a few days and the linden was perfect. The room was very small but perfectly formed, the decor was beautiful and modern colours were used throughout. The hotel is located in a picturesque area of Amsterdam and only a ten minute walk from city centre. There are first class restaurant and cafés only two minutes from the linden, especially the little coffee shop directly beside it, 10/10. I would definitely go back and stay there. But just note, the stairs are very very narrow however there is a lift so that helps.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The location is excellent for people wanting a quiet and safe stay in Amsterdam. A 20 minute walk to the centre of the city with some excellent cafes and restaurants near by.

The room however is small. Not suitable for those with a lot of luggage or those wanting to to work whilst in the hotel (no desk etc). The sound proofing is also not fully adequate with people making noise whist walking past your room.

For the price we paided however (~ £60 per night ) it was very fair. We cannot comment on the breakfast however. The staff were also helpful and present 7am -11pm.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The rooms are too small but clean, the conditions for work (with laptop) are non-existend. The breakfast is a symbolic one for the price it costs. For business travellers not a good choice. The walls noise isolation is quite poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Linden Hotel is located in a very beautiful position, on a quite canal. The rooms are quite small, as well as the bathroom, but it is clean and not so expensive as the other hotels in Amsterdam.
The only thing I didn't like was the breakfast; you have to pay € 12 for n. 1 croissant with a sppon of marmelade and 1 slice of salami + 1 of cheede and 1 egg ( I don't like those kind of things for breakafst) and iIcouldn't choose from a buffet.
THAT'S WHY I SUGGEST TO SLEEP THERE BUT WITHOUT CHOOSING THE BREAKFAST INCLUDED ( THERE'S A BEAUTIFUL PLACE IN FRONT OF THE HOTEL ITSELF).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

we booked this hotel by internet and we choiced this place to be in famous localisation of Jordaan. when we arrived, reception was perfect. The boss gives some advices to visiting Amsterdam City and about transports. We have two bedrooms : first for two adults and second one for familiy (2+2). It s true that bedrooms are small, but we are in Amsterdam ... Seriously, siez is not a real problem for few nights but bathrooms are not very larges. More important : bedding are perfect, there are no noise, we don't have cold.
Advice : if you booked breakfeast the day before, you pay less
In conclusion : I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A late booking for a conference in a week when Amsterdam was busier than usual, this turned out to be a well-priced alternative to the gouging prices of hotels, which were running at over 300€ (compared to 124€) per night.

Quite a distance (15/20 mins walk) from Dam Square, Raadhuis and the Damrak, the hotel isn't easy to locate due to a cumbersome street numbering system if not arriving by taxi. Also it's an unusually narrow triangular shape; space is a premium from start to finish.

My allocated room was perfectly presented and spotless. However being on the ground floor, with a floor-to-ceiling shopfront style window, meant curtains had to be drawn for privacy. It also meant there was late night and early morning pedestrian and traffic noise.

The evening receptionist was very friendly but his daytime colleagues were a little less so although their level of service was no less courteous.

I booked breakfast for one day only and the prepared plate of pastries, cold meats, cheese and condiments (the breakfast area being tiny, there is clearly no room for a buffet) was generous and tasty; reasonable value at 10€ when pre-booked.

Good value but would I stay again? In similar circumstances, perhaps (you know what you can expect, and that's fair value) but on the whole it's a tad too far from the main drag.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Linden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Hotel

Address: Lindengracht 251, 1015KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Acacia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Linden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acacia Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.