We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, even to stay with kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rembrandt

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rembrandt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rembrandt
Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel, even to stay with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

Lovely hotel, very convenienty located in a quit residential area, yet within walking distance to Amsterdam Centre. Close to a zoo and a park, which was great for a visit with kids. A tramway line is located right next door. The room was lovely, with a balcony opening to an inner court and garden. In-room coffe was quite helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    93
    37
    17
    8
See reviews for
39
63
40
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

This is a very confortable Hotel near to the center of Amserdam. The staff is amazing and the service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Pros: Absolutely fantastic staff, spotless room and bathroom, the best shower I've ever seen in a hotel (with jets), coffee and tea making facilities in room, barfridge in room, unbelievably comfortable bed and pillows, the most exquisite breakfast room with chandeliers and classical music and a delicious selection, a french/english/dutch library, free internet, beautiful furnishings, great location!!
Cons: only negative thing I could find at all was there was no elevator and the stairs are quite steep - but this is the norm in Amsterdam!
Otherwise, PERFECT! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We stay in a small double room first at basement and at second floor. The hotel is in a very good location, very quiet and very close to the Amsterdam central, near Artis the ZOO. The tram station is very close.

The room was very clean and the staff make us a beutiful stay, despite of ash cloud who bloked us another 3 days. They help us with more information about airport news.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Hotel Rembrandt this time gave me a 2nd floor single room in back with big A'dam windows overlooking the blossoming trees in their raw garden courtyard. Good 24 hr security in a good upscale neighborhood near the Artis Zoo if of interest to you and around the corner from the important Resistance Museum. On tram 9 and 14 Plantage Kerklaan stop almost outside the front door 10-15 min. and 2 km from the Centre or more distant from Museumplein. Staff & mgmt are very decent people. Price is excellent 75 euros year round for the single. 10 euros for full American breakfast. In September and December they upgraded me to a double room level with the courtyard. Well-soundproofed rooms. If you bring a radio you can play it. (I don't like TV as I write.) Sign me as 'Room 14'

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

This is an old charming hotel with a warm atmosphere.
The room I stayed in (room 2) was plain, but very comfortable. The shower was modern and nice. The furniture was a bit worn, but not that important to me. Most importantly it was clean.

The staff were very nice and helpfull. They gave great advice on what to do and see, had helpful maps and was allways willing to answer any questions. As for location...it is a bit away from the crowd in the middle of the city. However it only takes about 15 minutes to walk to Dam square and about 20 to central station. It was nice to able to get back to a quite area. If walking is not for you the Tram stops right in front of the hotel.

The breakfast room is as nice as the photos show..and the coffee is awsome.

The only negative is the price. Its a little high for what you get. Maybe spruce up the furniture or add breakfast to the cost. However, the stay was so comfortable and the staff is so nice I would stay here again, even at the price I paid.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

After many doubts among different hotels we come out at this hotel. This was our 2nd stay in Amsterdam. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere that you normally only see in movies. A great breakfast room where you for a small fee to eat a lavish breakfast. We sat in the room with a private sauna! Room number 3, a private "living room" and a separate sleeping area. This room is fairly new and we feel fully equipped.

The staff is very friendly, they like to help you with the design of the activities for your stay. It felt like home and the staff has done everything for us to feel welcome.

The night porter has alerted us to an Italian restaurant around the corner. Here you can eat delicious. (I forgot the name).

The price can sometimes be on the expensive side, but it is worth!

We will certainly return and will recommend it to everyone!!

Thanks again for these 4 days. We have enjoyed!

Until next time!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsNL, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rembrandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.