We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Charming, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rembrandt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Rembrandt to your Saves list
Hotel Rembrandt
Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #161 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Slidell, Louisiana
1 review
“Comfortable, Charming, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

This is an old charming hotel with a warm atmosphere.
The room I stayed in (room 2) was plain, but very comfortable. The shower was modern and nice. The furniture was a bit worn, but not that important to me. Most importantly it was clean.

The staff were very nice and helpfull. They gave great advice on what to do and see, had helpful maps and was allways willing to answer any questions. As for location...it is a bit away from the crowd in the middle of the city. However it only takes about 15 minutes to walk to Dam square and about 20 to central station. It was nice to able to get back to a quite area. If walking is not for you the Tram stops right in front of the hotel.

The breakfast room is as nice as the photos show..and the coffee is awsome.

The only negative is the price. Its a little high for what you get. Maybe spruce up the furniture or add breakfast to the cost. However, the stay was so comfortable and the staff is so nice I would stay here again, even at the price I paid.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    96
    38
    17
    8
See reviews for
39
64
40
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

After many doubts among different hotels we come out at this hotel. This was our 2nd stay in Amsterdam. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere that you normally only see in movies. A great breakfast room where you for a small fee to eat a lavish breakfast. We sat in the room with a private sauna! Room number 3, a private "living room" and a separate sleeping area. This room is fairly new and we feel fully equipped.

The staff is very friendly, they like to help you with the design of the activities for your stay. It felt like home and the staff has done everything for us to feel welcome.

The night porter has alerted us to an Italian restaurant around the corner. Here you can eat delicious. (I forgot the name).

The price can sometimes be on the expensive side, but it is worth!

We will certainly return and will recommend it to everyone!!

Thanks again for these 4 days. We have enjoyed!

Until next time!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

This was my second visit to Amsterdam, now with girlfriend. Most of the hotels in center of the Amsterdam are overpriced and it was same with this hotel.
Location is good as city center is close enough by walk from hotel (10-20 minutes). Receptionist was very kind person and gave us some advise for sightseeing. We booked room with wooden terrace on the first (higher ground) floor facing silent garden for extra price 10€ per night, which was was worth money.
It was worse with bathroom, which need some upgrades. We enjoyed breakfast on terrace and overall look of the hotel, but building need renovation of wooden stair, which generated serious step-noise during night. Also walls were super thin again (is this common in Holland?), so you could hear every party/cry/beat until 2am when finally whole hotel fall asleep.
Hotel is good place for group of friends, but not for couples or families due to night noise - but this could be solved by booking on higher(st) floor. Terrace was nice, but in total it was still overpriced stay. I would rather recommend private apartment.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

I booked the Hotel Rembrandt based on the great reviews on this website and was bitterly disappointed. It was a 3 night stay, over a long weekend, as a present for my boyfriends birthday. I was expecting something cosy, romantic and unique.

Sadly what we got instead, was noisy, dirty, old and over priced. I paid the additional €10 per night for an upgraded room which I had hoped would be romantic. The furniture was falling apart - the drawer front fell off on arrival and it was never fixed, the light fitting was hanging out of the ceiling, the hairdryer caught fire, the balcony doors would not shut and we were unfortunate enough to be below a very noisy family. The rooms are old and have laminate flooring so are very noisy - if you are hoping for early nights and lie ins - forget it!

Whilst just outside the centre I did not find it particularly well located and would have rather paid less for a chain hotel closer to the centre.

Staff were friendly enough but not overly sympathetic to how noisy the room was!

In summary I wouldn't go back. It's not terrible but you could get somewhere much nicer for your money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

The small room is really small but for one person it is clean, designed well and has everything you need, a fully functioning bathroom, tv, wifi, frig, desk, bed and nighttables. My room overlooks a pretty backyard and is very quiet, Breakfast is great and in a huge room. Location on the 9-14 tram is really convenient and walking distance from many interesting museums..

  • Liked — charming lobby, friendly staff, great breakfast, wonderful library
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Wow, what an amazing hotel. Everything was perfect. The most amazing thing about the Hotel is the fact that it is run by the most amazing family. Each and everyone of them has a smile and always do their level best to help you and make your stay as great as it possibly can be. They are always extremely friendly, and I could not help but feel the warmth of their welcome, friendliness, and helpfulness. It is truly a home away from home, and when I travel to Amsterdam again I will of course stay there again. I would certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone. The people who run it make it truly special.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Quiet but near Center.
Lovely Rooms, beautifull Breakfirst Room, tasted perfekt, great coffee (Nespresso).
Never looked somewhere else and went with a plentyfull stomage......

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rembrandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.