We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Low-Budget choice- Central, Quiet & clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rembrandt to your Saves list
Hotel Rembrandt
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice little Low-Budget choice- Central, Quiet & clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I stayed at this comfortable little hotel twice & highly recommend it to travelers on a budget.
The location is superb, - quiet, yet close to the busy centre of Amsterdam-(Rembrandt's house & Museum is a short walk away) The staff is friendly & helpful, the rooms are comfortable & clean, with bathrooms & even a small fridge. A good breakfast is available, too.There is a very good little restaurant on the corner,with a pretty green park & a supermarket nearby .The #9 Tram stops right outside the door & goes to the Central Station ,-- rather an interesting ride through the centre of Amsterdam, actually.
Probably the best all-round budget choice in Amsterdam- look no further !

Room Tip: Try for a room on a lower level if you have lots of luggage- the steps are steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    98
    38
    17
    8
See reviews for
39
67
42
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hove
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here for three nights midweek; must say i wouldn't recommend getting the Connexion hotel shuttle from the airport as this turned up nearly an hour and twenty minutes late!!
Reading other reviews I guess we were lucky getting the big room which was right at the very top of the building (see photo). Be aware that the stairs in this hotel are steep and being at the top there was a lot of them! The room was very spacious for two of us with two single beds put together on a double metal bed frame. I thought the bed was going to be soft but we slept well here. There was a big Samsung TV which picked up some English channels; a small fridge and tea/coffee making facilities.The free wifi was excellent throughout! The cups were quite small and there was only a couple of creams. The room was clean and the facilities in the bathroom good. The water pressure seemed fine and there was no smells as mentioned in some other reviews. As we were so high up the traffic noise in the morning didn't really bother us. Rooms are close together but other guests were quiet.
Breakfast was not included and was an extra 10 € each but was worth it. Lovely panelled room with nice pictures on the wall and the friendly hotel cat Bink! Breakfast was buffet style with cereals, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, cold meats etc and a pod coffee machine offering various types with a selection of teas also available. There's a good choice of places to eat near the hotel and this information and more is in the folder in the room. There is also a wide range of leaflets at reception. The staff here were always helpful and friendly and sorted out our return transfer.
The hotel is perfectly positioned to get out and about. The trams 9 & 14 stop right outside the hotel but you can walk to several places within a few minutes. Something to bear in mind if wanting to visit places like Anne Frank's House it is best to book on line as we found queues of more than 2 hours for this. Various canal trips were good and easy to get on. I would definitely stay here again and have the top room !6!

Room Tip: The stairs are very steep which could be a problem for some. Our room was quite big number 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

the location of this hotel is perfect; quiet and very close to the tram which takes you to almost every attraction in amsterdam.
the room we got was in the basement. we were four and the room was just big enough to accomodate us all. the sheets were very clean so was the room well-maintained though i admit the hotel is a bit old and probably needs some refurbishing.
one very helpful thing was the album they placed in our room where it enumerated the attractions in amsterdam and the directions to locate them. i think that was very thoughtful, it saves a lot of tourists the time for research. there's free wifi, a sauna which we unfortunately havent tried, and breakfast at a cost (10eur).
the staff was also very friendly and helpful. so if you're not looking for a five star hotel and want to have a hotel which isnt too expensive and decent enough, i definitely would recommend this. if ever il be back in amsterdam, il be booking with this hotel again no doubt.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

As stated in previous reviews the location isn't bad as its a decent enough walk from the city centre and on a tram route but it definitely needs a refurb as i'ts seen better days. Our main complaint was that we booked a double room and had the lower ground floor with two singles that had been pushed together with single duvets. The T.V. was ancient and the room was quite dirty. We spoke to the receptionist who said she couldn't do anything about it as the manager wasn't contactable and the hotel was fully booked so we couldn't change rooms. She would leave a note as the manager would be around in the morning. We didn't want to let it spoil our trip so we headed out for the evening. Next morning we left our key at reception which was unmanned and couldn't find anyone. We set out and had a really enjoyable day but when we came back to change in the evening we were told by the receptionist that they had another room for us but had now gone!!! As you can imagine this was infuriating and we asked why weren't contacted or a note put under the door? At this point the manager was contactable and we had a long tense phone call to which she said she would move people out of a room!!! No we don't want that but how about a partial refund - absolutely not was the reply. To cut a long story short we eventually moved into Room 8 which was a lot better but why all the carry on? To top it all when we checked out the manager was really rude and sarcastic "we don't like complaints!" as well as quite a few arrogant 'Basil Fawlty-isms'. I would recommend you avoid this place as we saw plenty more in the area.

Room Tip: Don't accept Room 1 as its on lower ground floor and quite dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear we were unable to meet your wishes for your stay.

We were indeed fullybooked on the day you arrived at the hotel and therefore we were unable to give you a different room. Since our housekeeping doesn’t work in the evening it was not possible to change you to a different small double room(which is the room you’ve booked) when you got back from your day in the city, since this would mean the room nr 1 could not be cleaned and we needed all the small double rooms. We had changed the bed in your room from 2 singles to 1 double however unfortunately this was also not to your satisfaction.

When you’ve talked to the manager on the phone she had told you the beds in your room had been altered from 2 single beds to 1 double bed; which was your complaint about the room. After you still were not satisfied and asked for us to refund your money you were explained that a refund in this case is not just but we could give you a different room, we had eventually given you room 8, this room is a quad room which you can understand is more expensive than the room you had booked with us and paid for.

When we do our utmost to meet your wishes, f.i. change the beds and give you a more expensive bigger room, and after this you threaten that if we don’t give back your money you will write horrible reviews on every website, I think it’s understandable my manager didn’t think this was fair. But I can assure you she never said we do not like complaints, we’d rather have our guests tell us if something is wrong or if there is anything we can do to make their stay more enjoyable, however we do not like extortion.

We do still hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam.
Kind regards,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Situated on a fairly busy road this hotel this hotel had a number of rooms from single occupancy to quad . Our room was situated on the second floor which you had to climb up 3 flights of quite steep steps ( which in one place the banister was loose on the wall ) the room was street facing which on a night was very noisy from the trams , ambulances and general traffic going by . The room was spacious , and clean , the bathroom and shower were ok , however there was a lingering smell from the drains . It came with coffee making facilities and a small fridge , house keeping came daily and changed towels , cups and replenished the coffee . There was a TV and it did have BBC and all the football on it film sect , however it was tiny and I struggled to see the picture . Breakfast was an extra €10 pp , which I had on the Monday before going home , it was continental style help yourself with scrambled egg , pancakes cereal, fruit yoghurt , meats cheese bread and a coffee machine with various different coffees . By far the staff were some of the most helpful friendliest ones I've met . Big thumbs up .
The hotel is with easy walking distant to the main parts of Amsterdam , and it one tram ride away from the main train station .
All though I enjoyed my stay here , the hotel was very dated and in need of a lick of paint and some minor work in places .

Room Tip: The more people to a room the better the value . State if you have any health issues as the stairs w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and thank you so much for your compliment about the staff, I will pass on your kind words. At the moment we are scheduling some work to be done around the, we hope to show you on your next visit!

Kind regards,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel was perfect for our needs. Comfortable, clean, nicely decorated (although a little shabby around the edges). Very comfortable stay. The staff were really nice and very helpful. Good location - easy walk to the center and a few nice cafes and restaurants around the corner. The shower wasn't great and the hairdryer didn't work but everything else was lovely. Would definitely stay again if I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
Nice to read you've enjoyed your stay with us. We will check the hairdryers in our rooms to see which one is not working, thank you for pointing this out for us.
We hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I rarely ever bother with reviews, but really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Rembrant. I was pleasantly surprised by the price and quality of the place as I have stayed at a variety of places in Amsterdam before ranging from hostels, to supposed 3 stars hotels in De Wallen to luxury hotels near the Leidseplein. I shared a 4-man room for the first 2 nights (approx 50 Euros per person per night) and a single from for the remainder of the time (85 euros per night).

It is a charming hotel in great location - a 10/15 min walk from the centre. lose enough to be a pleasant stroll away from all the night-life without being so close that it is in your face as soon as you step out of your hotel. High standards of cleanliness throughout the hotel. It does have a lot of character due to the dutch style architecture, furnishings, paintings etc.

It is not a shiny, new-style hotel. Also, the earlier comments are quite accurate regarding the noise from the road in rooms with windows facing that way, so if you are a light sleeper, opt for a garden side room.

The one thing that really stood out for me about this hotel, was how friendly and helpful all the staff/management were. My past experience in Amsterdam hotels/hostels have not always been positive, so the Hotel Rembrant staff really stood out and helped make my stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a sauna inside. Garden-side rooms are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
It's a pleasure to read you've enjoyed your stay with us this much.
I will make sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the staff.

We hope to welcome you back some time.

Kind regards,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rembrandt 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rembrandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.