We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rembrandt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rembrandt to your Saves list
Hotel Rembrandt
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
“Very good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel was perfect for our needs. Comfortable, clean, nicely decorated (although a little shabby around the edges). Very comfortable stay. The staff were really nice and very helpful. Good location - easy walk to the center and a few nice cafes and restaurants around the corner. The shower wasn't great and the hairdryer didn't work but everything else was lovely. Would definitely stay again if I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
Nice to read you've enjoyed your stay with us. We will check the hairdryers in our rooms to see which one is not working, thank you for pointing this out for us.
We hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    98
    38
    17
    8
See reviews for
39
67
42
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I rarely ever bother with reviews, but really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Rembrant. I was pleasantly surprised by the price and quality of the place as I have stayed at a variety of places in Amsterdam before ranging from hostels, to supposed 3 stars hotels in De Wallen to luxury hotels near the Leidseplein. I shared a 4-man room for the first 2 nights (approx 50 Euros per person per night) and a single from for the remainder of the time (85 euros per night).

It is a charming hotel in great location - a 10/15 min walk from the centre. lose enough to be a pleasant stroll away from all the night-life without being so close that it is in your face as soon as you step out of your hotel. High standards of cleanliness throughout the hotel. It does have a lot of character due to the dutch style architecture, furnishings, paintings etc.

It is not a shiny, new-style hotel. Also, the earlier comments are quite accurate regarding the noise from the road in rooms with windows facing that way, so if you are a light sleeper, opt for a garden side room.

The one thing that really stood out for me about this hotel, was how friendly and helpful all the staff/management were. My past experience in Amsterdam hotels/hostels have not always been positive, so the Hotel Rembrant staff really stood out and helped make my stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a sauna inside. Garden-side rooms are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
It's a pleasure to read you've enjoyed your stay with us this much.
I will make sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the staff.

We hope to welcome you back some time.

Kind regards,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This hotel is very cute! Our room was a decent size, bathroom a little small though. Bed was comfortable, decent TV channels, free wifi. Reception staff were amazing, so helpful!! It was very easy to walk into the centre, about a 15 minute stroll, 5 minute walk to the nearest supermarket and there's a lovely cafe on the corner, 50metres from the hotel. Overall, great location and lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review.
We hope to welcome you back in our hotel!

Kind regards,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We spent 4 days here in February 2014. I mailed ahead to say we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and the hotel presented us with a bottle of bubbly and a card,which was a nice touch. Perfect location for tram stops (get a daily pass if you want to hop on and off a lot across town). Zoo is a short walk and worth a visit. Breakfast room with wooden panelling, wall hangings and large fireplace is really atmospheric. Staff really helpful and booked us a table at a great local restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.
We are glad to see you've enjoyed spending your anniversary with us.

Hoping to welcome you back another time.

Kind regards,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel was a bit disappointing as the reviews were full of praise for it. On the plus side, location was quite good and a number 9 tram from the street outside was great for transport in and out of Amsterdam. We got a room at the back which was extremely quiet - ensuring a great nights sleep. The room was clean and the ensuite was very clean - staff were very friendly and helpful. On the minus side the room was tiny - the wardrobe was about 1 foot wide - the entrance and hallway were very uninviting, but again once we were assigned our room we were pleasantly surprised. There were tea / coffee making facilities in the room but on my 3rd morning I noticed my cup was badly chipped and leaking - okay for 1 morning but when same cup was there 2nd morning I suspect they are only washed out in the bathroom which was disappointing. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel and despite the great reviews of the breakfast room it looked very dark and depressing to me. That said the location was perfect for a visit to the zoo, Rembrandt Square and as I mentioned already the trams into the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We’re glad to read you’ve enjoyed our location and the quietness and cleanliness of the room. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations concerning the roomsize.
We do hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebeltoft, Denmark
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a lovely room with a cosy atmosphere. Lovely view to canal and streets. The hotel is in the herat of town and we will be back another time. Staff friendly and helpfull. The service and everything was very good.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rembrandt 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rembrandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.