We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rembrandt

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rembrandt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rembrandt
Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
somerset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

After spending days trying to find a suitable hotel for our first stay in Amsterdam, we finally settled on Hotel Rembrandt after reading the good reviews on here. We weren't disappointed. We were lucky enough to park our car in the garage next to the hotel following the receptionist's recommendation. 20euros per day & it was locked away for the whole stay - perfect! The hotel is in the Plantage region of the city - very leafy and quiet with a tram stop outside the front door. The hotel is just a twenty minute stroll into the centre of the city, passing a great supermarket & Rembrandt's house along the way. We used the tram once due to poor weather but otherwise wouldn't have needed to. The hotel staff were friendly & welcoming and although the entrance looks a bit tired our bedroom was in good order. Highly recommend the 10euros pp extra charge for breakfast - the room is stunning and they offer a great selection including pancakes, eggs, cheeses etc. Coffee machine is fab! Our only negative is that we had a room that faced on to the street. The tram is VERY noisy and as it was warm we had to have the window open. We recommend that you request a room at the back of the house to avoid this - we didn't sleep very well unfortunately. The highlight of the stay was Bink the hotel cat. Apparently he was a rescue cat & has the attitude to match, with his own table reserved in the breakfast room & bed by the radiator! We highly recommend this hotel for it's location, breakfast & friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Go for one at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to write a review. It's nice to read you've enjoyed your stay with us in Amsterdam.
Hope to welcome you again some time.

Kind regards,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    87
    33
    16
    8
See reviews for
36
59
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Small, safe, secure hotel. Staff was warm, friendly, and spoke perfect English. After they locked the front door at night, the gentleman working the desk kept an eye out for approaching guests. He met me at the door to unlock it before I even rang. The room was cozy and clean. The walls are thin, but that is common for budget hotels in Europe. Still, the noise was not at all intolerable. The location is a little removed, but Amsterdam is small. I had an early morning departure. The staff made sure that I was aware of the flat (and somewhat pricey) fee for a cab to the airport. The overnight clerk set the alarm on his phone so he could be awake to keep me company while I waited for my cab. I have warm memories of Hotel Rembrandt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your kind words.
Hoping to welcome you in our hotel again.

Kind regards,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I let my fella choose and book this hotel as he has loved staying here before. I am a bit of luxury lover and wanted something romantic, so I held my breath! Reviews here have been a little mixed, so I was apprehensive!

We stayed in room 2, which is accessed through a set back glass door behind reception, private and means no stairs to climb. Excellent for stumbling in worse for all the fruit beer. The room is a good size, two single beds pushed together (the only let down, but when in Dam, you can improvise!) and wooden floors. The bathroom was spotless and the shower was lovely. We managed to store our clothes and toiletries with plenty of space and the decor was simple but charming. Everything was clean, worked and was tidy. There were a couple of electrical points. The TV didn't work, but we didn't arrive to watch TV.

The room had patio doors out onto a wooden decking balcony, with two comfortable wooden seats, with cushions in the room to use and a table useful for standing a beer. The balcony backs onto the hotel garden, a walled garden with chairs and table, accessible from our room and the one below. The balcony had it's own outside light, meaning we could sit under the stars and relax. As the hotel has it's own cat which cannot be let out, and a neighbour has a very friendly cat which likes to get in, using the balcony often meant planning it around the cats.

The building is small and you don't get the fantastic history that comes with such architecture without hearing some footfall at night. Room 2 faces away from the street and backs onto gardens, which is quieter. While sleeping I would hear a guest running up some stairs, but nothing disruptive. I didn't find it was noisy, lacked privacy or that sleep was an issue.

It's ideally placed, with two or three trams running to Dam Square and Amsterdam Centraal on a very regular basis. The hotel is part of the shuttle bus to the airport, for about 16.50 euros you can book it to pick up and drop you at the airport terminal if using a tram with luggage is too much. Our shuttle driver was on time, courteous and very helpful.

It's not five star luxury, but then it wouldn't have authentic charm is it looked like every Radisson style 5 star hotel. What it might lack in hot tubs and pillow chocolate it makes up for in the little touches,. Staff were more than helpful, whether we stayed in bed and ordered food in or needed a cold drink whilst packing our cases again as we left, staff were attentive. I saw the same level of service extended to all guests I saw check in, even the poor gent who booked the other Hotel Rembrandt and needed to borrow Wi fi to find his way to the right hotel! What the staff could do for us, they did.

The hotel is not central. However it is within strolling distance of the Zoo, the Wertheimpark with the 1933 Auschwitz memorial, the theatre opposite where the Jewish people of the district were gathered for deportation, three great cafes, Die Pizzabakkers (like being in Italy, try it, Prosecco/vodka/limoncello/lemon sorbet cocktail was AMAZING) the Hortus Botanical Garden, the opera and ballet house, a local market, even if getting a tram into town is too much, we could have spent five days in a two mile radius and been happy. It's nice to be somewhere peaceful where you can live it up in the Red Light district cafes and then come back to some quiet.

Since this is trip advisor, I will be picky and say that I'd have liked two smaller pillows rather than a big square one. I'd also like to apologize for absent mindedly leaving my pants on the bathroom floor one day, resulting in an ever so graceful maid leaving them on my perfectly made bed with much dignity. I keep a messy hotel room! If you are allergic to cats, rethink the balcony option, the hotel cat is pleasantly placid and not at all over friendly. But the ginger cat next door likes to get close. There are stairs to enter the building and this is an old property over several floors, pack light if you are staying in a higher room!

Being on holiday = not having to think about the mundane and the Hotel Rembrandt allowed me five blissful days in comfort that way. It's not the Ritz, sure, but this is a very good hotel for this price bracket and good location. Rembrandt lived here, it was a dance hall, a house for single ladies, the history is fantastic and the beautiful hotel brochures only confirm that.

I was sad to go and as I sipped a cold drink (on the house) and tried to stash my last shopping in my case, I looked around the library at the walls of books and the ladder and thought what a great find this hotel is.

Thank you for an amazing stay.

Room Tip: Room 2 was amazing, a good couples room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Madam and Sir,

It was a real pleasure reading your review. I will pass on your kind words to the other staff and we hope to welcome the both of you in our hotel again some time.

Kind regards,

Lynn Oplanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hotel Rembrandt. The location is great, just outside the craziness of central old Amsterdam but still within an easy walk to most anything you want to see. There is a tram line on Plantage Middenlaan so there is no need for a taxi! Hotel is a little noisy from the street and adjacent rooms but is still comfortable. We had the top room (Jewish Bride painting theme) and it was very spacious and comfortable. Free Wifi was a nice touch. There was no lift to the top floor but please realize that you are staying in old Amsterdam and this is a tradeoff for staying in a classic building in such a great location! Complementary breakfast was very nice. Try the cafe smit & voogt located a block west, great place for a quiet beer and food. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Next trip to Amsterdam we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is Always nice to see our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.
Thank you very much for this review.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again some time.

Kind regards,

Lynn Oplanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is in a great location- on a canal with trolley right in front and easy walking distance to many things, including Rembrandt square. The staff here is wonderful - friendly and helpful and will try to accommodate your needs. The breakfast room is large and inviting and breakfast is good: espresso machine for fresh coffee, pastries, cereals, fruit, eggs, yogurts, etc. They will even make you a to-go breakfast bag if you need to leave before breakfast hours. Rooms are large and airy- we had room 2 with a balcony which was wonderful and the resident cat Bink loved to spend time with us. Other rooms have large windows which open up onto the canal or overlooking the back garden. Baths are large enough and have good counter space, which is nice. Rooms have hot water pots for coffee and small refrigerators. I would return here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this very nice review. I will make sure to pass your kind words on to the rest of the staff. Good to hear you've enjoyed spending time with Bink as well:)
To clarify for any future guests: Our hotel is located near a canal but unfortunately we haven't got rooms looking out onto the canal.

Kind regards,

Lynn Oplanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It's clean, we had a great room at the top, the hotel has interesting philosophical quotes everywhere, does a very good breakfast, has a charming library, there's a lovely secluded garden, and very friendly staff and a nice location for a stroll down into town. We loved the hotel.

Room Tip: We had the room at the top - number 39. It was lovely; clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again some time.

Kind regards,

Lynn Oplanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Awesome location, literally 2mins from the zoo. Lots of pubs, cafes and restaurants near by, about a 20min walk to city centre.
We stayed in a standard double room, a bit pricey for what you get to be honest. Our room had a mouldy smell but we got used to it, it needed refurbished and wasn't overly clean, couldn't let our Son crawl about on the floor. The bathroom however was spotless!! Wifi didn't work in our room but works perfectly if you just nip up to the reception. Most of the tv channels were quite fuzzy but we didn't really care about that. The beds were really comfy and we got a good sleep every night, had the travel cot for our Son. Our room faced the back garden so had no noise at all from outside. Our room was on the bottom floor and with no double glazing the wee one got a bit cold one night, the radiator didn't work so my partner went to let the reception staff know, they gave us an electric heater to use straight away which was really good of them.
We didn't have breakfast, felt the 10 Euros per person per day on top of the room charge was a bit pricey, but we did have a nosey in the breakfast room which is gorgeous!!
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and were really sweet to our Baby Son, who LOVED 'Bink' the beautiful hotel cat. :)

We would stay here again due to location, child friendliness and the lovely staff, however we'd probably book the slightly more expensive, bigger double room so we had a bit more room.

Thanks for having us, we had a great time and LOVE Amsterdam. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, it was very pleasing to find you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Rembrandt.
We are sorry to read the WiFi didn't work correct in the room, we are working on fixing this.
I will make sure to pass your kind words to the rest of the staff at the hotel.

Hope to welcome you back!

Lynn Oplanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsNL, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rembrandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.