We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Experience at the Hotel Rembrandt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rembrandt

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rembrandt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rembrandt
Plantage Middenlaan 17, Amsterdam 1018 DA, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience at the Hotel Rembrandt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hotel Rembrandt. The location is great, just outside the craziness of central old Amsterdam but still within an easy walk to most anything you want to see. There is a tram line on Plantage Middenlaan so there is no need for a taxi! Hotel is a little noisy from the street and adjacent rooms but is still comfortable. We had the top room (Jewish Bride painting theme) and it was very spacious and comfortable. Free Wifi was a nice touch. There was no lift to the top floor but please realize that you are staying in old Amsterdam and this is a tradeoff for staying in a classic building in such a great location! Complementary breakfast was very nice. Try the cafe smit & voogt located a block west, great place for a quiet beer and food. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Next trip to Amsterdam we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is Always nice to see our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.
Thank you very much for this review.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again some time.

Kind regards,

Lynn Oplanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    87
    33
    16
    8
See reviews for
36
59
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is in a great location- on a canal with trolley right in front and easy walking distance to many things, including Rembrandt square. The staff here is wonderful - friendly and helpful and will try to accommodate your needs. The breakfast room is large and inviting and breakfast is good: espresso machine for fresh coffee, pastries, cereals, fruit, eggs, yogurts, etc. They will even make you a to-go breakfast bag if you need to leave before breakfast hours. Rooms are large and airy- we had room 2 with a balcony which was wonderful and the resident cat Bink loved to spend time with us. Other rooms have large windows which open up onto the canal or overlooking the back garden. Baths are large enough and have good counter space, which is nice. Rooms have hot water pots for coffee and small refrigerators. I would return here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this very nice review. I will make sure to pass your kind words on to the rest of the staff. Good to hear you've enjoyed spending time with Bink as well:)
To clarify for any future guests: Our hotel is located near a canal but unfortunately we haven't got rooms looking out onto the canal.

Kind regards,

Lynn Oplanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It's clean, we had a great room at the top, the hotel has interesting philosophical quotes everywhere, does a very good breakfast, has a charming library, there's a lovely secluded garden, and very friendly staff and a nice location for a stroll down into town. We loved the hotel.

Room Tip: We had the room at the top - number 39. It was lovely; clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again some time.

Kind regards,

Lynn Oplanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Awesome location, literally 2mins from the zoo. Lots of pubs, cafes and restaurants near by, about a 20min walk to city centre.
We stayed in a standard double room, a bit pricey for what you get to be honest. Our room had a mouldy smell but we got used to it, it needed refurbished and wasn't overly clean, couldn't let our Son crawl about on the floor. The bathroom however was spotless!! Wifi didn't work in our room but works perfectly if you just nip up to the reception. Most of the tv channels were quite fuzzy but we didn't really care about that. The beds were really comfy and we got a good sleep every night, had the travel cot for our Son. Our room faced the back garden so had no noise at all from outside. Our room was on the bottom floor and with no double glazing the wee one got a bit cold one night, the radiator didn't work so my partner went to let the reception staff know, they gave us an electric heater to use straight away which was really good of them.
We didn't have breakfast, felt the 10 Euros per person per day on top of the room charge was a bit pricey, but we did have a nosey in the breakfast room which is gorgeous!!
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and were really sweet to our Baby Son, who LOVED 'Bink' the beautiful hotel cat. :)

We would stay here again due to location, child friendliness and the lovely staff, however we'd probably book the slightly more expensive, bigger double room so we had a bit more room.

Thanks for having us, we had a great time and LOVE Amsterdam. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, it was very pleasing to find you have enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Rembrandt.
We are sorry to read the WiFi didn't work correct in the room, we are working on fixing this.
I will make sure to pass your kind words to the rest of the staff at the hotel.

Hope to welcome you back!

Lynn Oplanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The first thing to say about this hotel is that despite being in a leafy location (as the Lonely Planet says) it is actually very noisy if you're in a room facing the front of of hotel, as it's on a busy street and tram line. I stayed in two different rooms during my visit, both of which faced the front of the hotel and there is noise throughout the night (though the trams do stop for a few hours), with no double glazing to keep it out. I'd imagine it could get very uncomfortable with the windows closed and no air conditioning in hot weather. The first room they put it me was a reasonably attractive double (I think it was room no. 11), but there was an unpleasant smell from the en suite. After the first night I was in another room which was very small and rather tired looking (as well as noisy).

On the plus side, the breakfast (10 Euro on top of the room price) is quite reasonable and served in an impressive room, often in the presence of the hotel cat (Bink). Staff are perfectly pleasant though not over friendly (the younger woman is the most pleasant). I suspect if I had stayed in different rooms, facing the back or side of the hotel, then I'd have had a better experience. Bear in mind that you may not get a nice room if you're a solo traveller!

The hotel is in a reasonable location though getting to the museum quarter is a little difficult as it is necessary to change tram lines at Spui or Dam by getting out of the tram and walking some distrance to another tram line.

All in all, an average hotel and by all accounts on a par with many in Amsterdam. It may be better value to stay outside Amsterdam (eg in Haarlem) - something I was planning to do and wish I had done.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, General Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, as we are always trying to improve our service and facilities we appreciate your comments.

Regarding your comment about the smell in the double room where you've stayed as a solo traveller - we can inform you that we hired a plumbler to fix this problem right away - which he did.

We do regret that you haven't asked us during your stay for a room at the back, we would have tried our utmost to accomodate you. Although we do have double glazed windows in the rooms , some guests do find the streetsounds unpleasant. No trams between 23.30 and 06.30 hr.

Kindest regards,
L.Kelderman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

i stayed at the hotel june of 2013 checkin was long and drawn out it seems they didn't know about my reservation even though i had a confermation number. The staff seemed put out by my showing up and treated me like i was a burden (except for the girl that worked the front desk during the day was very pleased to help) the night deskman was downright scarry !the room i got looked like none of the rooms that were advertised, mine was small hot and musty. The bathroom was a closet the shower had a sink and a toilet in it (you could sit and take care of buisiness and take a shower at the same time). the paneling on the walls was dirty and dated. There was no soap in the bathroom. The room had only one outlet in it and you had to unplug the tv to use it. the breakfast room looked great but the staff made it an unpleasant experiance so i ate breakfast in town rather than try to enjoy breakfast while the staff gave me dirty looks. it was quiet and a decent location, however i am 100 % sure i will never stay here again not worth the high price they charge.i'm sure i could do better.

Room Tip: ask if there is ac and if you see a room you like in there pictures make sure you request that one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, General Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, as we are always trying to improve our service and facilities we appreciate your comments.
We do however regret it that you post a review two months after your departure, as do we regret it that you didn't inform us during your stay that you weren't satisfied with your room. In that case we would have been able to move you to another room.

We would like to inform you though, that all our rooms have multiple electric sockets - no need to unplug the fridge, TV or waterboiler.
Also we can inform you that our complete staff is always trying to do our utmost for our guests ; most of them work already several years with us and I, as general manager, have to disagree to your description of scary - unhelpfull and a staff "that gave you dirty looks". I do feel that it is a pity that you experienced it that way.

Kindest regards,
L.Kelderman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Well appointed rooms with modern facilities, even thought rest of hotel appears worn down.. Helpful, friendly staff with good housekeeping. Warning that street-side rooms suffer street noise throughout the night. Unfortunately, I arrived during unusually hot weather with no ventilation/fan in a very small, stuffy room and couldn't sleep with the window open due to noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay even though there indeed was a unique heatwave:) We hope to welcome you back some day!

Lynn Oplanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, Amsterdam 1018 DA, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsNL, Priceline, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rembrandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.