We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the front facing rooms if you don't like noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rembrandt

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rembrandt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Rembrandt
Plantage Middenlaan 17, Amsterdam 1018 DA, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #132 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Tonbridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Avoid the front facing rooms if you don't like noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The first thing to say about this hotel is that despite being in a leafy location (as the Lonely Planet says) it is actually very noisy if you're in a room facing the front of of hotel, as it's on a busy street and tram line. I stayed in two different rooms during my visit, both of which faced the front of the hotel and there is noise throughout the night (though the trams do stop for a few hours), with no double glazing to keep it out. I'd imagine it could get very uncomfortable with the windows closed and no air conditioning in hot weather. The first room they put it me was a reasonably attractive double (I think it was room no. 11), but there was an unpleasant smell from the en suite. After the first night I was in another room which was very small and rather tired looking (as well as noisy).

On the plus side, the breakfast (10 Euro on top of the room price) is quite reasonable and served in an impressive room, often in the presence of the hotel cat (Bink). Staff are perfectly pleasant though not over friendly (the younger woman is the most pleasant). I suspect if I had stayed in different rooms, facing the back or side of the hotel, then I'd have had a better experience. Bear in mind that you may not get a nice room if you're a solo traveller!

The hotel is in a reasonable location though getting to the museum quarter is a little difficult as it is necessary to change tram lines at Spui or Dam by getting out of the tram and walking some distrance to another tram line.

All in all, an average hotel and by all accounts on a par with many in Amsterdam. It may be better value to stay outside Amsterdam (eg in Haarlem) - something I was planning to do and wish I had done.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, General Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, as we are always trying to improve our service and facilities we appreciate your comments.

Regarding your comment about the smell in the double room where you've stayed as a solo traveller - we can inform you that we hired a plumbler to fix this problem right away - which he did.

We do regret that you haven't asked us during your stay for a room at the back, we would have tried our utmost to accomodate you. Although we do have double glazed windows in the rooms , some guests do find the streetsounds unpleasant. No trams between 23.30 and 06.30 hr.

Kindest regards,
L.Kelderman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    77
    27
    15
    7
See reviews for
36
52
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

i stayed at the hotel june of 2013 checkin was long and drawn out it seems they didn't know about my reservation even though i had a confermation number. The staff seemed put out by my showing up and treated me like i was a burden (except for the girl that worked the front desk during the day was very pleased to help) the night deskman was downright scarry !the room i got looked like none of the rooms that were advertised, mine was small hot and musty. The bathroom was a closet the shower had a sink and a toilet in it (you could sit and take care of buisiness and take a shower at the same time). the paneling on the walls was dirty and dated. There was no soap in the bathroom. The room had only one outlet in it and you had to unplug the tv to use it. the breakfast room looked great but the staff made it an unpleasant experiance so i ate breakfast in town rather than try to enjoy breakfast while the staff gave me dirty looks. it was quiet and a decent location, however i am 100 % sure i will never stay here again not worth the high price they charge.i'm sure i could do better.

Room Tip: ask if there is ac and if you see a room you like in there pictures make sure you request that one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, General Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, as we are always trying to improve our service and facilities we appreciate your comments.
We do however regret it that you post a review two months after your departure, as do we regret it that you didn't inform us during your stay that you weren't satisfied with your room. In that case we would have been able to move you to another room.

We would like to inform you though, that all our rooms have multiple electric sockets - no need to unplug the fridge, TV or waterboiler.
Also we can inform you that our complete staff is always trying to do our utmost for our guests ; most of them work already several years with us and I, as general manager, have to disagree to your description of scary - unhelpfull and a staff "that gave you dirty looks". I do feel that it is a pity that you experienced it that way.

Kindest regards,
L.Kelderman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Well appointed rooms with modern facilities, even thought rest of hotel appears worn down.. Helpful, friendly staff with good housekeeping. Warning that street-side rooms suffer street noise throughout the night. Unfortunately, I arrived during unusually hot weather with no ventilation/fan in a very small, stuffy room and couldn't sleep with the window open due to noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay even though there indeed was a unique heatwave:) We hope to welcome you back some day!

Lynn Oplanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location are good, there's one really big supermarket nearby, if you want save money can buy instant food and ask the staff heat it up for you. The free wifi's signal is super weak, unless you bring your own laptop. Even the staff tell you that you can drink water from tap, but probably don't do it is better; cuz the water looks not so clean. No breakfast. Take 20 mins to city by walk, the worse thing is: "even they have cleaner to keep your room a bit neat, but they WON'T change your towel after you used."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, as we are always trying to improve our service and facilities we appreciate your comments.
However we would like to inform you that the rooms are cleaned daily and towels are always changed if guests indicate that by putting them on the bathroomfloor.
It is a pity that during your stay you didn't ask the reception or our cleaninglady to replace your towels.
Furthermore The Netherlands and Amsterdam are known for having a high quality drinkingwater ; see http://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2007-02/duot-tso022707.php
and one can reach the citycenter in 10 minutes.

The extended breakfastbuffet we offer is indeed not included in the roomrate; as we would like to keep our roomrate low and guests can decide themselves whether they take breakfast at only € 10.

The WiFi signal is indeed in three rooms a bit weak, however we are working at this problem.

Kindest regards,
L.Kelderman
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Excellent location about 10 minutes on tram 9 from Centraal Station - and in a quieter, relaxed area away from the hustle and bustle. Stunning breakfast room with bags of history, lots of lovely breakfast (continental and hot eggs and pancakes) breakfast choices to start the day, friendly, helpful staff (who made us coffee when we went back to collect bags and wait for a taxi several hours after actually checking out)

One was quiet small and a little hot, but then it was 30 degrees outside - the other room for our party contained a full size replica of Rembrandt's "Nightwatch" on a whole wall size canvas which was a huge talking point! Both rooms had mini bars and were en suite - a few more coat hangers would be useful though.

Finally, I cannot review this hotel without a mention for "Bink" the hotel cat .... who is lovely and affectionate and enjoyed a fuss!!

Would stay again if back in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter as tram does run until 00:30 but this wasn't a major issue. Stairs are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is Always a pleasure for us to read our guest have enjoyed their stay with us.
We hope to welcome you all back.

Lynn Oplanic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Rembrandt after a recommendation from a colleague. I had a really nice time. the highlight was the dining room where breakfast was served. What a great setting to start the day. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Really good value for money. The location is fab, being next to the trams, the University of Amsterdam, a number of trendy cafes, places to eat and canals. Liked the hotel cat too!!

R Joseph

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RembrandtAMS, Manager at Hotel Rembrandt, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your kind words.
Hoping to welcome you in our hotel again.

Kind regards,

Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, Amsterdam 1018 DA, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rembrandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.