We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not reccomend it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rembrandt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rembrandt to your Saves list
Hotel Rembrandt
Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #161 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    96
    38
    17
    8
See reviews for
39
64
40
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

A spacious comfortable hotel in a lovely residential district not too far away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. More or less just around the corner from the fanstatic zoo, with neighbourhood bars and eateries and a park adjoining one of the canals very close by. Perfect for families and Rembrandt-lovers! We'd happily return.

The Donnellys.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so elderly travellers may wish to book a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Went as a family (8 and 12 year olds) - very close to Zoo (5 mins top to walk) - like the set up with small canals/moats meaning many animals on islands with little or no cages/bars - still cruel in the long run though - but get better pictures!? One stop or 10 minute walk to Tun Fun - play area built in an underpass - road markings, kerbs traffic lights all still there - kids loved it. Ended up going twice. There there is Waterlooplein market right next to Tun Fun. Very easy and quick to get into centre on direct Tram (14) to Anne Frank's house. To be perfectly honest never spent too much time in the hotel - too busy- bought a 72hr I AMsterdam card - well worth it and well used. When in hotel everything was perfect - very polite and helpful staff - stairs not too step a lot better than I have had in the past. Room had everything you needed when busy in Amsterdam - a comfy bed - although it did have a lot more besides - very pleased!
Even returned to room on my birthday to find a nice bottle of wine - must have got details from my passport - nice touch.

Would certainly use again - either as a family or hopefully just as a couple.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagos
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Many hundred years old and in superb condition !!!!our bedroom had a lovely reproduction of a rembrandt painting.....classy stuff...great big windows that overlooked a quiet garden with a tubby cat very cute!!!! good bed and very clean bathroom...GREAT LOCATION ..right next to the Artis ( the zoo ). very easy to get into town by tram as there are 2 tram stops bang in front of thr hotel. very helpful and accomodating staff.

Room Tip: ask for rooms overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

This was my first time staying at this hotel. I stayed a total of 7 nights in March and I can gladly say I was pleasantly surprised. In comparative terms the hotel offered excellent value for money. The rooms were very basic with recently refurbished bathrooms and basic amenities. The breakfast was outstanding in a bright and comfortable dining room. The hotel staff were very friendly with excellent command of English (even though we attempted to string along a few sentences of Dutch, they played along nicely). A major draw for this particular hotel is its location, easy to navigate on the trams from Centraal and Dam - if you're up to it, walking distance to most attractions including Rijks Museum and Van Gogh (we took a stroll but a 2 stop tram will get you there in less than 5 minutes). If there is anything negative about this hotel is that there is no elevator. Since I had a room on the 4th floor I did start a newfound relationship with my luggage. However, this would not stop me from staying there again, all I would do is request a room on the first floor.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rembrandt

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 17, 1018 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rembrandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.