We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Falcon Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Falcon Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valkenburgerstraat 72, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Was traveling for a conference so booked a double room. Well, it may have had a double bed, but in no way was there room for two people and their clothes and toiletries and business luggage. Sent my companion to a separate room! Appreciate the no-smoking rule and being on the top floor to reduce noise. Very quiet and clean. The lack of a room clock was frustrating. Had we been on holiday, timeliness would not have been an issue. Love the in-room coffee and tea service. The location is great, close to transportation and attractions, but not so close that it's noisy and busy. Walked to Nieuw Market and Rembrandt Huis and Trippenhuis easily. Staff were v friendly with maps and adapting chargers and even let me store some meds in their refrigerator. I'd visit again, just with a travel clock.

Room Tip: Room on the upper floor have less noise and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    72
    101
    51
    60
See reviews for
40
93
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here from 3rd June to 6th June for 3 nights. It was a total of 16 people group booking and had booked 7 rooms in Falcon. The first positive thing which comes to my mind is its audacious location which is situated close to the central Amsterdam Dam's square. The small bits of thing which one can look for is very close by starting from side scenes, Indian restaurants market place etc. Its a typical 3 star hotel. Given the cost and its availability all round the year as I made a last minute booking its a budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

the problem is that we needed a triple bed room. also Amsterdam is quite expensive, so if you want to now spend over $300/night and you are going there on a holiday weekend well, then you get this. The room is very very small with 3 narrow beds in it. there is barely room for you to even step in between the beds. the pictures we saw on the booking.com website were very deceiving. the building and the rooms are run down. the bathroom too. the staff is unfriendly. the breakfast mediocre. it did have free parking. but I was quite disappointed for that price I expected a little better. It is not even that centrally located so you could say well, at least the location is great.

Room Tip: I really cannot say anything that could help. Just that if you are just 2, you can look into another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

When reviewing or rating a hotel in Amsterdam, it is important to consider the standard and type of accommodation on offer in Amsterdam. Having visited the city many times, I am aware that good accommodation is generally quite pricey and anything else is pretty average.
Falcon Plaza was an "OK" option in the "anything else" category. The hotel is easy to find, about 15mins walk from Central Station. Location-wise it is about a 10 - 15min walk to major touristic areas.
The reception staff were all fine, no one was rude or unhelpful, though, to be fair, my interactions with the staff were limited. The hotel itself needs an update - the rooms were a reasonable size, but really needed a good clean, especially the bathrooms. The grout in the shower recess looked like it hadn't been scrubbed in a very long time and under the sink area was really quite unclean. We know this was not a one-off as we had 2 rooms, and they were both the same. There was also inappropriate text scribbled on the wall inside our wardrobe. In the corridors, there were doors with handles falling off and general wear-and-tear throughout common areas. Wouldn't suggest this hotel during the warmest parts of summer as it didn't appear to have aircon in the rooms.
The breakfast was surprisingly OK. Many hotels in European destinations offer very basic options, and although it wasn't the widest selection, it wasn't the worst breakfast I've ever had in a hotel.
To conclude, good location, pretty tired hotel, that would benefit from a bit of love.
For the right rate, a good option for a short, cost-effective visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The only thing good about this place is the location... The room given to me was below the staircase which means I could hear people go up and down al through the night.. The no smoking rule is good athough a lot of hotels in Amsterdam have it. The staff is just not at all helpful and would not like to communicate!... It is relatively clean and the distance from Central station is a taxi ride away...

Room Tip: Dont take the room below the stairs....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for two nights at the end of may. The staff are unhelpful bordering on rude. The safe didn't work and the duty receptionist could not have cared less , as it turned out it didn't matter because the safe was just loose in a wardrobe so any burglar could have made off and broke into it at his leisure. The free wifi didn't work. The room smelt musty and the bathroom was old and noisy. The breakfasts are basic with what I consider cheap ingredients. It was also expensive and when I complained my complaint was met with "a fau concerned shrug". O yes the coffee at breakfast isn't bad. This is without a doubt the worst hotel I have stayed in thank goodness it was only for 2 nights

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

the hotel is relatively clean, but it is far from the centre of Amsterdam. also far from central station, you have to use public transport to get around. the staff was ok, we had no issues checking in or out. the room was very basic, a bit small. breakfast was not bad, good selection.

I think its expensive for the service they are providing. you can definitely find cheaper hotels in better locations in Amsterdam offering better value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falcon Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Plaza Hotel

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 72, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Falcon Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Falcon Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcon Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.