We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Falcon Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Falcon Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valkenburgerstraat 72, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Went here on a stag do not so long ago, not to far from the train station 10mins walk, about 10-15mins walk to most of the bars so ok on that front!

Rooms - very clean tidy not bad for the price.

Food - missed breakfast due to being hungover so cannot comment!

Staff - very pleasant and helpful.

All in all good stay would go back again if i ever went to Amsterdam in the future, obviously the price would have to be right as i wouldn't over pay for this place!

Room Tip: Nice view from the front of the hotel i suppose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    79
    108
    55
    66
See reviews for
41
101
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I joined a friend who already was in this hotel and stayed only one night with him. From my point of view, Rooms are small but seem to be clean, The breakfast was ok, and location is quite convenient. People here are talking about the price, well, this hotel is a simple hotel near the city center, this why it's not cheap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It is true that the location is pretty good, 10 minutes to walk to Dam Square, very close to the Amsterdam Maritime History Museum, 3-4 minutes walking distance. Rooms are very small with very tiny bathroom, at least the one we had. Very comfy bed. The room was on the forth floor, close to the elevator. The rooms are not really sound proof. We heard everyone walking by our door, as the floors are very squeaky. Every time the door opened in the room next to ours, I was convince someone walked into our room the sound was that loud. If the lovely tourists decide to listen to music at 8 in the morning you will surely wake up at the same time they turn on the music.
Up side big screen TV.
Heard bad reviews related to the breakfast. If you do not book a room with breakfast and decide to get breakfast afterwards, it costs 12 euro.
My suggestion is to book rooms without breakfast. Amsterdam has a lot of little restaurants on the side of the canals close by the hotel where breakfast and brunch are served.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Not a great fan of hotels generally as they're way too expensive. This place was no exception but have no complaints about the price and although the room was rather small it was clean. View not spectacular but I guess that's extra too! The breakfast was fine, typical conti stuff plus all the ham and cheese you can eat so you can make a butti for lunch too (I did!). Staff wer VERY helpful and me and my Mrs had a great time. I love Amsterdam and now so does she!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Close to the location I had to visit, this hotel was a bad surprise: very noisy, a cold room, many problems with the light and with the shower, ultra basic breakfast. It is not worth the price I paid.
The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Decent location - once you know how you can walk to Dam Square. Was on the more dingy side of the street however and with grocery store within walking distance. The electricity went - the fuse box was located in the toilet so that they had to come and fix that. Otherwise clean room. Basic breakfast. Was not impressed with the concierge - they seemed unwilling to return my 5 euros deposit for using adaptor and generally were no very courteous. You should not spend more than 50-75 euro per night/per person to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ok hotel - Amsterdam isn't cheap but to be fair this hotel offered a very reasonable rate :) Be warned the parking next door is very expensive - about £45 for 2 nights but tbh parking in Amsterdam is expensive everywhere!

The hotel doesn't look great from the outside but the room was really nice - bit pokey but it was fine for the 2 nights we stayed (I'm not sure if I could handle a week though!)

Location is fab - about a 10 min walk from Dam Square

I would go back too :)

Room Tip: If you call/email the hotel before you travel they will reserve a car parking space for you next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falcon Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Plaza Hotel

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 72, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Falcon Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Falcon Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcon Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.