We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Falcon Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Falcon Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valkenburgerstraat 72, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reasonably Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Not a great fan of hotels generally as they're way too expensive. This place was no exception but have no complaints about the price and although the room was rather small it was clean. View not spectacular but I guess that's extra too! The breakfast was fine, typical conti stuff plus all the ham and cheese you can eat so you can make a butti for lunch too (I did!). Staff wer VERY helpful and me and my Mrs had a great time. I love Amsterdam and now so does she!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    74
    105
    56
    59
See reviews for
37
83
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Close to the location I had to visit, this hotel was a bad surprise: very noisy, a cold room, many problems with the light and with the shower, ultra basic breakfast. It is not worth the price I paid.
The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Decent location - once you know how you can walk to Dam Square. Was on the more dingy side of the street however and with grocery store within walking distance. The electricity went - the fuse box was located in the toilet so that they had to come and fix that. Otherwise clean room. Basic breakfast. Was not impressed with the concierge - they seemed unwilling to return my 5 euros deposit for using adaptor and generally were no very courteous. You should not spend more than 50-75 euro per night/per person to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ok hotel - Amsterdam isn't cheap but to be fair this hotel offered a very reasonable rate :) Be warned the parking next door is very expensive - about £45 for 2 nights but tbh parking in Amsterdam is expensive everywhere!

The hotel doesn't look great from the outside but the room was really nice - bit pokey but it was fine for the 2 nights we stayed (I'm not sure if I could handle a week though!)

Location is fab - about a 10 min walk from Dam Square

I would go back too :)

Room Tip: If you call/email the hotel before you travel they will reserve a car parking space for you next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here with a friend in September 2012 and have no real complaints about the hotel other than the slightly excessive price payed to stay. The staff were generally friendly and helpful and the rooms were always kept clean to a good standard. The location is fantastic, just ten minutes walk from Rembrandtsplein and the view over the canal is pretty nice as well.

Again, no real complaints but it's slightly overpriced for a modest hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

at the price we paid we expected more but i guess it was expensive as it was over the weekend and during the Amsterdam GayPride time. a run down building, very dusty, squeaky stairs, slow elevator. but it is near the main tourist attractions as well as the main station. parking available next door, you might need to leave the key with them to move the car around as it gets full. during our three nights stay the beds were made, but the room has never been dusted, cracked sink and old bathtub with knobs missing on the sliding doors. tea/coffee making facilities in the room, TV, no air-conditioning but you can open the windows. simple and basic breakfast, with fruit and vegetables available. greetings to the always smiling Chinese lady who met us each morning! i would have rated it higher if ti is wasn't for the lack of proper cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

we arrived at about 10am and the room wasn't ready so we went to explore the city and came back a few hours later. which was very easy because the hotel is located just 10-15 min walk from dam square, and even less to rembrendplace.
we stayed at a double bed room, the room was very clean, quite large and had a wonderful view of a canal. the bed was comfortable and the room had a large TV.
The staff was very nice and helpful for directions, the breakfast was typical for Europe with a small buffet, the food was good.
I really loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it and come back in the future.
I only had one problem with the shower, the stream was too weak for my taste but it wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: we had a corner room which had a great view and was big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Falcon Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Plaza Hotel

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 72, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Plaza Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Falcon Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Falcon Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcon Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.