We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - parking is VERY expensive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Falcon Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falcon Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valkenburgerstraat 72, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location - parking is VERY expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ok hotel - Amsterdam isn't cheap but to be fair this hotel offered a very reasonable rate :) Be warned the parking next door is very expensive - about £45 for 2 nights but tbh parking in Amsterdam is expensive everywhere!

The hotel doesn't look great from the outside but the room was really nice - bit pokey but it was fine for the 2 nights we stayed (I'm not sure if I could handle a week though!)

Location is fab - about a 10 min walk from Dam Square

I would go back too :)

Room Tip: If you call/email the hotel before you travel they will reserve a car parking space for you next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    67
    94
    49
    57
See reviews for
38
85
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here with a friend in September 2012 and have no real complaints about the hotel other than the slightly excessive price payed to stay. The staff were generally friendly and helpful and the rooms were always kept clean to a good standard. The location is fantastic, just ten minutes walk from Rembrandtsplein and the view over the canal is pretty nice as well.

Again, no real complaints but it's slightly overpriced for a modest hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

at the price we paid we expected more but i guess it was expensive as it was over the weekend and during the Amsterdam GayPride time. a run down building, very dusty, squeaky stairs, slow elevator. but it is near the main tourist attractions as well as the main station. parking available next door, you might need to leave the key with them to move the car around as it gets full. during our three nights stay the beds were made, but the room has never been dusted, cracked sink and old bathtub with knobs missing on the sliding doors. tea/coffee making facilities in the room, TV, no air-conditioning but you can open the windows. simple and basic breakfast, with fruit and vegetables available. greetings to the always smiling Chinese lady who met us each morning! i would have rated it higher if ti is wasn't for the lack of proper cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

we arrived at about 10am and the room wasn't ready so we went to explore the city and came back a few hours later. which was very easy because the hotel is located just 10-15 min walk from dam square, and even less to rembrendplace.
we stayed at a double bed room, the room was very clean, quite large and had a wonderful view of a canal. the bed was comfortable and the room had a large TV.
The staff was very nice and helpful for directions, the breakfast was typical for Europe with a small buffet, the food was good.
I really loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it and come back in the future.
I only had one problem with the shower, the stream was too weak for my taste but it wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: we had a corner room which had a great view and was big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 2nights friday to sunday. There was 3 of us staying in the triple room, two english men and a turkish/scottish man. On Our first night we went out got some food. where the turk fell in love with a waitress who looked like a smack head. and then we had space cakes then got some chronic bud and went back to hotel for a J, (us two english men the turk got in bed??) then on the saturday we went to the anne frank museum (Poop). Then we went and got some magic mushrooms to perk the day up, bad idea, the turk and the one english man was fine but the other was a train wreck, we managed to get back to the hotel. Where we spent the day tripping off mushrooms, then we managed to go out that night for a walk and to get another j, but the turk wanted the j to 'take out'. So we went back to the hotel and got blazed. (Again me and the other english man. Turk got in bed). So to sum it up. The hotel room was great, the turk said the bed was extremely comfy(he spent 3days lying in it). Sam dingle made an appearance in the very spacious wardrobe tripping on mushrooms. the room service was great, but inconvenient (knocked on whilst english matt was make fat j on english dez's bed).The hotel location was ok, english matt managed to go out at peak trip on mushrooms. And come back with super space cakes! on the last day we went for a walk so turkish scott could buy his mum a spoon??? Haha so all in all a good hotel brilliant trip!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Polite staff, as long as you don't need extra attention. We made a booking for about 150 EUR per night. After we arrived, we have heard the conversation between the receptionist and a walk-in guest (with no reservation) and the price for that guest was nearly 3 times lower. Only on the intervention of our Dutch coworker, they agreed to reduce it by some discount, but the difference was insignificant. Now, the rooms. Very small rooms, double room was the size of the average single room in other hotels I had the pleasure to stay at. Toilet seat is literally next to the wall, and the average sized person like me can sit only from a side, but someone much larger can't sit at all. Rooms are clean, but the beds are too soft, to the point of being unhealthy. Breakfast was acceptable, but not as good as it is in other similarly priced hotels, not even close to it.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, lol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falcon Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Plaza Hotel

Address: Valkenburgerstraat 72, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Plaza Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Falcon Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Falcon Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcon Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.