We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review for Room #18” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Paris Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Paris Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel De Paris Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 372, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Review for Room #18”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel location is great. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room is the smallest that I ever stayed in any place and country. everything in the room works fine but the room is very, very small not worth the money I paid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    89
    95
    56
    58
See reviews for
34
107
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at a cost of nearly £300 and were incredibly disappointed. The room and bathroom were tiny, and there was a really weird smell that would not shift. We also had a strange encounter with a staff member who demanded we leave our hotel room so that they could service it, am I being precious or can you opt out of servicing??

We spent as little time as possible in the room but even that felt like too much!

Location is great, but that's all I can say.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night but after having a look at the room we wanted to stay in a friends house and sleep on the floor. The hotel is extremely out dated with tiny corridors, tiny lift and even tinier rooms! The receptionist explanation was that Amsterdam is tiny too... Bathrooms are also very worn out with scratched bathtubs. The rooms are also very noisy, you can hear everything, all you neighbours. On top of this it is shockingly expensive! We will never go back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I booked the hotel to attend an interview in the nearby area. I was looking for a cheap place to stay for the night.
It was OK, great location and prices quite low regarding other hotels in the neighborhood. But that's it. The hotel is quite noisy, with the ground creaking at each step. No airco; when I arrived the window was wide open and the room full of mosquitoes (what a night!).
The bedding was less than OK and the breakfast couldn't be simpler. Free Wifi was useful but TV wasn't working.
Good point was the bathroom. It was really clean with a lot of space (the opposite of the room).
Also it seems the hotel is attracting young people (mostly men) coming to party and enjoy the quite low fairs, so if you forget your ear plugs you can be woken up quite early in the morning.
The front desk was OK but the guys were very slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gevgelija, Republic of Macedonia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel has the perfect location but the service and condition of the hotel is very poor.
We arrived late at night 3am and the guy at the front desk was very rude and told us that we were not on the list of guests even though our agency made reservations and payed 1 month in advance for the one week stay.
We explained this to the guy at the reception and contacted our agent but he almost threw us in the street.
Very arogant little man (he never showed up at work after this incident)
Never mind the rough arrival we went in the tiny - midget rooms, in my room the sink and the light didn't worked so I asked to get another room. In the new room the heat didn't worked and I slept for one week next to the windy window in January.
I didn't wanted to ask for another room and be very demanding guest.
The breakfast was wonderful, a lot of varieties of food.
All in all if you choose to stay here don't expect anything but bed and roof during your stay. The curtains on the window are never washed and very dirty and they touch your face while you sleep.
The bathroom is for midgets also... It wouldn't fit normal person.
I used the toilet with the door open so my knees wouldn't push the door.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked a room for 3 people for 5 days via booking.com but the room we got was nothing close to the picture on the website. We were given a room at a -1 floor. Not only the staircase was a life hazard, but outside our window was a yard that we had no access to while other guests did. This resulted in noise coming from outside and a smell of smoke straight to our room. The room itself was very small for three people, we had no luggage space and needed to leave our suitcases open on the floor the whole stay (5 days). The water at the shower wasn't always hot, sometimes not even warm. Can you imagine taking a shower at 8am at freezing water?!the staff was ok, excluding one guy that basically did us a favor talking....
However I must say the location was great: 5 minutes by foot to Leidseplein, Voldenpark and the Hard Rock caffe. 20 minutes walk to the central bus station, Dam square etc.

Room Tip: If you ordered a certain room but received something totally different -don't settle up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

A budget hotel located in city centrum. The value lies in the location of hotel, and not the room facilities itself. Located close to the beautiful and charming canal districts of the city. Room standard offered the basic need, but I would prefer a better air quality at my room. Good breakfast. Free WIFI, but not very stable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Paris Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Paris Amsterdam

Address: Marnixstraat 372, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Paris Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel De Paris Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
De Paris Amsterdam
Paris Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Paris Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.