We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but cozy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Paris Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel De Paris Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel De Paris Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 372, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Stenungsund, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small but cozy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is a cute hotel. Don't expect to much. The room we had was small. They don't really do big rooms here except maybe when you book a room for 4!
The walls are very thin. But it didn't really bothered us. We spend a couple nights there, but during the day/night we were out and exploring. Find another hotel when you are planning a romantic weekend inn.
Good located for visting Rijksmuseum, ( a must, I think when you are in A'dam!)
The breakfast was descend and the staff was friendly. I could come back here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    69
    78
    52
    50
See reviews for
28
81
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed in hotel de paris with my partner for 4 nights during a conference in Amsterdam.
The room was so tiny so I was surprised they called it "double", not that clean and incredible noisy. Not only you can hear *anything* that is going on in your neighbor's rooms (for example plugging the phone charger), but most important the noisy street. Earplugs is a must.
The bathroom is so small so you cannot close the door if you want to use toilet.
And the shower, beware of the water coming down as hot lava!

The breakfast, not that good for the price, just like the overall price was very high for the experience you get (price probably inflated for conference).

Only good thing is that it is very close to museums and got good communication to the center.


Conclusion: pick another hotel and you will be happy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Had an enjoyable stay because of location stayed in basement, disliked the sink in the bathroom water clogged up in it and it became really dirty for things like washing teeth, I felt that although the hotel was in a good location the staff weren't very friendly or helpful

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

friendly receptonists, nice room, nice location, wifi everywhere, coffee tea free of charge (good coffee tea), good price.
We used to stay in Ams in the hotel 1 star for the same money. but this one..surpised us. very friendly dutch people. We will come back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel, we stayed for 4 nights and it was just what we needed.
The location was good, only needing to use the tram to get to and from the train station on arrival and leaving.
The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay and everything was very clean in our room and bathroom.
We didn't pay for any food but were able to help ourselves to a variety of coffees and teas whenever we wanted from the dining area.
Beds were super comfy, room was a good size and we had a lovely bathroom with very powerful shower!
Free WiFi was a bonus and had good signal.
The one negative was the walls were quite thin from room to room so you have to hope for not overly noisy neighbours.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were here for a night, midweek,the staff were very helpful and friendly,good to be able to leave the bags early, and late on leave day.Downsides, steep,steep stairs, and a 8am drill call from the naghborly building team.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

..is the conclusion after a 4 night stay at this 3(should be 1) star Hotel.

Location is very good, close to museum district and city center. Another + is Wifi working good
throughout the stay, also welcoming staff.

But super-noisy with windows towards a busy street and thin walls makes you hear most things going on at your neighbors.
Very uncomfortable bed, like a bathtub with enormous pillows.
The water temperature has a life of its own, and I ended up getting burned many times by steaming water.
Could not sit at the toilet with closed door, perhaps 20 cm from toilet to door.
Poor breakfast, smelly room and alot of stoned junkies also affected the overall rating.

Simply! Choose another hotel, there is much better ones!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Paris Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Paris Amsterdam

Address: Marnixstraat 372, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Paris Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel De Paris Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Paris Hotel
De Paris Amsterdam
Paris Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Paris Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.