We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm staying there again in 2011 when I return!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I'm staying there again in 2011 when I return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I traveled alone to Amsterdam for the first time this past summer and chose this hotel based on reviews, price and location. All reviews noted this place worthy if not great, the price was VERY affordable and the location optimal as it was centered in the old city and convenient to all things local and touristy-whatever your tastes. The hotel offered a very friendly staff, old charm decor, and an onsite friendly German Shepherd if you find yourself missing your pets like I did. They also provided a tasty "serve yourself" complimentary breakfast in a quaint dining room overlooking a canal. The room I stayed in was a single with a twin bed and shower. It was very clean! Their only downside was they didn't have an elevator or lift and their stairs are very steep (remember you'll have luggage!) and I stayed on the 2nd floor of the 3? story building, but this is commonplace amongst hotels in the old city. There was no A/C, but they had a fan in the room and the night temperature even in mid July was quite comfortable. I also took advantage of their onsite bike rental. I had a great trip and am looking forward to visiting again next year and staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    220
    72
    11
    15
See reviews for
80
180
59
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, CA USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The Wiechmann is a mid-sized, family-run hotel in a beautiful neighborhood, located at the cross of 2 canals, in inner-city Amsterdam. The hotel itself, about 30 rooms, is a series of 4 old houses stitched together over a period of about 60 years of continuous family ownership. This haphazard anastamose of buildings created a charming little hotel of steep stairways (no lift), short hallways and beautiful common rooms. It fronts the Prinzenstrasse canal, in the middle of several charming residential/commercial neighborhoods. It's just a block or two from the Jordaanplein and a few blocks from the Leidseplein. There are numerous small restaurants and esoteric little shops in all directions close by. It's very, very well located. We stayed in 2 different rooms, but I looked into several others. The rooms are small-ish, but they're well appointed with good beds, thick curtains, cute antiques and adequate heating. I think all the rooms are en suite. The baths are clean with modern new fixtures, plenty of hot water and awesome water pressure in the showers. Breakfast is served in a beautiful common room, surrounded by windows, overlooking the busy bicycle traffic at the 2 intersecting canals. Breakfast was a substantial buffet and the coffee was strong, smooth and excellent. As if you couldn't tell, I LOVED this place. I think it's the best 2 star (**) we've ever stayed in and we'll definitely be coming back. The staff is wonderful, english speaking, and they'll help you with your bags up those stairways.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Yes, it is true about the tiny and steep staircase. Get over it ! If you can't deal with it, go stay in a modern hotel with its elevator and dull and uniform rooms.

The hotel is full of character and charm. The 'old' furniture is part of the charm, contrary to what the negative reviews say. The room we stayed in has all the modern amenities - flatscreen TV and wonderful shower, etc and it was very clean. We asked for a canal view room and we got one with even a balcony. It was a treat - feeling the pulse of Amsterdam at any time of the day (caution : if you are a light sleeper, it may be a bit too noisy for you).

The location is superb - imagine everyday at breakfast, you look out to not only a canal view but also the comings and goings of everyday life in Amsterdam - priceless ! Like the other reviews mentioned, we walked everywhere - museums, ann frank house, the Dom, etc. To be honest, walking made us appreciate Amsterdam more vs watching things go by from a tram or bus.

We will love to be back !

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

I stayed here five nights with my partner on our trip to Amsterdam. We generally liked the hotel, given our limited budget. The breakfast was included with the room and included continental fare -- peaches, toast, jams/jellies, cereal, coffee, juice, etc. The best thing about the hotel is its location, at least for those who prefer to walk rather than take taxis or ride trams. In a city that is somewhat difficult to navigate entirely on foot, the Wiechmann is well-placed, because it's only a 10-15 min. walk to the Dam Square, a 15-min. walk to Museumplein (Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum), a 10-min. walk to the Anne Frank House, and a 15-min. walk to the Red Light District. We didn't end up taking the tram very often because we found it convenient and much more pleasant just to walk from place to place. The one disappointment we had about the hotel is that in requesting a room with a queen bed for two travelers, we ended up with two double beds pushed together (but not physically linked with the same sheets, bedding, etc.) We made do, but were disappointed that the hotel failed to honor our request for a single large bed, and when we asked to be moved, they were not able to accommodate our request.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed at this hotel on the 5th Aug for 4 nights in a canal view room
Yes the stairs are steep and it is a bit like Grandma's house in a comfortable cosy way.How other people rate it shabby and dirty is beyond belief.Our room was large and spotless athough the furniture and bathroom were old they were well cared for and clean.There was plenty of hot water,an efficient shower and 4 clean towels everyday.
The continental breakfast was adequate and it was a joy sitting in the breakfast room watching the world go by in this lovely corner of Amsterdam
It is a shame that this room is not used as a restaurant in the evening.
All the staff were kind and friendly from the owner to the room staff.
The hotel dog was a joy and for the people that say the dog smelled he smelled of dog.You must remember you are in Amsterdam and attitudes to dogs and everything in general is much more laid back and tolerant.
My final comment is if you want the atmosphere of a chain hotel with it's sanitisation and uniform rooms where you could be anywhere in the world then book one but if you want a friendly hotel with character in a lovely part of Amsterdam then book the Wiechmann.
P.S .We will definately return

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Booking hotels can be very hit and miss but we felt we struck gold with this hotel. Neither of us had high expectations, after all, we did get a special offer and so it was very reasonably priced which could have meant poor quality. Instead we found ourselves on a delightful corner of Prinsengracht. The outside of the hotel does little to give away the treasures to be found inside. This hotel is not for the unfit - you may find yourself on the fourth floor and to say the stairs are steep might be seen as an understatement. They are however, completely in character with the style of building and if you can't cope with steep stairs, you might miss a lot of Amsterdam.

We were greeted in a friendly and welcoming manner and directed to our room on the first floor. Once we regained our breath after climbing the stairs with luggage in tow we were delighted. The room wasn't fancy but it was clean and functional and we were delighted to see we had a balcony (not all rooms have them). The beds were comfortable and we slept well every night.

Breakfast was a continental affair on the ground floor corner of the hotel, looking out over what has apparently been described as the nicest corner in Amsterdam. We enjoyed watching Amsterdam life as we drank tea and fresh orange juice. (We never did manage to work out exactly who has right of way on the road and where - it appears to be a free for all but I was fascinated by the volume of the bicyles and how we didn't see any accidents (it's really mad, honestly!)) Just be careful in the buffet area of the breakfast room, it can get a bit cramped when more than a few people are serving themselves at the same time and I witnessed a few near accidents - particularly with the hot drinks.

The hotel displays some interesting pieces of furniture which are family possessions and their pride and love of their business shines through. I can't think of a single thing to fault. The hotel is entirely non-smoking, the entrance is locked from about 4.00pm each day, each room has a safety deposit box and Taz (the family dog) adds to the sense of security I felt whilst staying at the Amsterdam Weichmann.

Thank you Mr Boddy - you have an excellent family run hotel - please don't ever sell it to a chain! If I ever return to Amsterdam, I will not hesitate to book your hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

the only decent thing about the hotel is its location and view overlooking the canal. 1-the staff are ok but not that helpful 2-no elevator in the hotel so we had to carry our heavy bags over the stairs. 3-the room is so old fashioned but fairly big with a big window with a great view.4-the place is calm at night so we had a good sleep.5-the bathroom is fine but the ceiling is covered with disgusting green flies.6-a very poor breakfast buffet 7- the bellman and the guard of the hotel is simply a dog, a disgusting old , bad smelling dog 8-the hotel is so overpriced..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsNL, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.