We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location! Fabulous Canal Views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco
1 review
“Wonderful Location! Fabulous Canal Views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

I've been going to the Wiechmann for many years now. The people are lovely and very warm. The neighborhood is quintessentially Amsterdam but not noisy or overbearing as others, closer to the centre, are. The capacious breakfast dining room has to be my favorite of all hotel dining rooms, located on a corner with a canal view. Breakfast is always fun while watching an unbelievable number of bicyclists of all ages zipping to school or work. Rooms are bright and cheerful and cozy. I wouldn't stay anywhere else and I've been to lots of A'dam mom-and-pop hotels.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    235
    77
    11
    15
See reviews for
86
186
64
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Just returned from a 3 night stay at Wiechmann where we were made feel very welcome from the minute we entered the hotel. The staff on reception always had lots of smiles for us. The hotel is very cosy, you can set the heating in your bedroom. The rooms are spotless. We had a canal view room which was lovely to wake up to in the morning. Nice to see the mad cyclists in the snow. Nothing seems to stop an Amsterdam cyclist. The location is just brilliant, everywhere you might want to go was within walking distance. It was also a lovely area to wander around, the canal is lovely. The breakfast room has lovely views of the canal and the breakfast is more than adequate, cereals, fruit, cheese, toast and juices. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in a perfect location in lovely Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

The hotel is in an excellent location, but the rooms are tired and small, some of the furniture is broken and, worst of all, there are many spiders. Apparently, the maid does not do her job properly. This two-star hotel is also way overpriced. The rate for the double room was 165 euros per night even though, as it turned out, three- and four-star hotels in the area charged 110-150 euros per night. Even Krasnapolsky had excellent standard rooms with a double bed for 129 euros. Why pay 165 euros for an inferior room at Wiechmann?

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We did not stay at the Wiechmann! The first day that we arrived in Amsterdam we were confronted with a dental emergency. We were staying in a nearby houseboat and simply walked into the Wiechmann early in the morning and asked the grey haired English (?) gentleman at the desk if he could give us advice. He immediately went on line, made a number of phone calls and we had an appointment early that afternoon! He gave us a map that showed our location as well as that of the dentist. He was a life saver to us. All that for a couple of people off the streets. THANKS

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

This family-owned hotel is on the Prinsengracht in a good neighbourhood in a very convenient location for access to cafes, bars, restaurants and most of the main attractions of Amsterdam within walking distance. It is a traditional canal house on several floors with the typical narrow steep stairways. We stayed 4 nights and found the hotel ideal as a base from which we could stroll out to the Jordaan, the centre, the museums etc. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff at reception were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

This hotel is reasonably priced (for Amsterdam) and is in a charming old house with no elevator. The staff will help take luggage up and down stairs however. The location is great since it is on a canal and the "stop and go" vehicle drives right by the hotel and will stop for you along its route further into the city. It's also within walking distance of many must-see sites for those with good walking legs like the Anne Frank Museum, Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum, etc. A substantial breakfast is served and is included in the price of the room. Two computers are available for guests to use at no cost. A friendly dog awaits you in the reception area. The room was adequate. By not facing the canal, it was very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

We arrived on a Sunday coming from a two week river cruise. (Budapest to Amsterdam on the AMA Cruise - Ship was the Amadaggio...Wonderful, Fantastic Trip). We had some bulky and heavy luggage and made a huge mistake by not reserving a lower level room as the hotel does not have an elevator and the stairs are VERY STEEP AND NARROW. As this was a Sunday, the only staff was a young lady who with my help pushed and pulled, with grunts and groans, up the many stairs to our room. If you're young and traveling light and don't mind the climb, fine....go for the eagle's nest. If you're like me, older, retired, and out of shape make sure your reservation keeps you as close to the main floor as possible. Other than this, the hotel was o.k. Not great, but a decent value and a nice location.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#109 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.