We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & amazing view from our room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location & amazing view from our room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

I just spent a week at the Weichmann and loved everything about it, from the helpful staff, the free computers, the substantial breakfast and the friendly housekeeping folks to the nice dog in the lobby. It consists of 3 row houses and we were in room 239 in the house on the corner. The extra euros for the canal view are worth every penny. We could throw open both sets of french doors and have an amazing view of the intersecting canals, bicycle riders and neighbors. Our room was spacious and clean and very comfortable. We were up two flights of steep stairs but the staff carried our luggage up for us. The location is awesome. The "Stop & Go" bus stops right in front and goes along the Prisengracht canal in both directions. An Albert Hein grocery store is right around the corner (cash only/ATM outside) and further down Elandstraat (if you can believe it) a great organic burger place called Burger Meester (try the one with eggplant, zuchinni and onion on a great juicy burger with cheese!). Toward town on Ruunstraat at #7 is the most amazing cheese store and a bread store near that, so lunches were easy. Across the canal and west a few blocks the Van Puffelin (spelling?) was a very nice and reasonable place for dinner. I would definitely go back to the Weichmann and enjoyed being away from the center city but only a short walk away. Can't say enough good things about our stay there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    235
    77
    11
    15
See reviews for
86
186
64
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

I stayed at the Wiechmann for three nights in March. The staff, from the owner, Mr. Boddy, on down, were uniformly pleasant and helpful. The room overlooked the canal and was of ample size and spotless. The breakfast room on the first floor provided a great way to start the day. Free internet was a plus. The location was perfect for exploring the city on foot - 25 minutes to the Central Station, 5 minutes to Leidseplein, 5 minutes to the Anne Frank House. There were many restaurants in the area, as well.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Comfortable clean Hotel in good central location. Had a home like ambiance. Small room and bathroom with window over the Canal and great views. Not too noisy at night time. Internet good. Host and desk staff very helpful with good English. Substanital serve your self breakfast in breafast room with lovely views of people riding their bikes to work along the canals. Food outlets and resteraunts nearby varible in quality and overpriced.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Very Steep Stairs, no lift
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

I have stayed there last weekend for one night with a friend of mine, the lobby is nice, but the room we had was nothing special für 150 EUR per night, clean but soulless and a very tiny bathroom,
for a 2 Star Hotel quite to expensive. the hotel is central and this is the most important advantage. Unfortunately, the people who worked at the frontdesk seems to be poorly skilled and motivated students. I am not sure, but the servicelevel was an such a poor level. One funny experiences I made: The keys are only for the room, and we found the hotel closed on saturday at 8.p.m. With a little note, thats nobody there, because it is necessary to walk the dog. We were not able to enter the hotel. So we waited for 25 minutes. The girl came back with the dog and probably her boyfriend, extremly relaxed, no excuse, no feeling sorrow just mentioning: "She was only out for 10 Minutes".
I took it with humor, but i have never seen anything like that. The management should think about servicestandard. I would not recommend this hotel for a longer stay, for one night it was okay.
breakfast was okay, charming breakfastroom.

Result: Small and charming, overpriced and poor services

  • Liked — lobby is lovely designed
  • Disliked — price and level of the room was bad
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

The Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel is in a great central location in Amsterdam. The room was very spacious as was the ensuite bath. We had a canal view room and the room furnishings were nice, the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was included with the room rate, which consisted of mostly breads, cheese, meat, coffee, and juice. It was not a big breakfast but plenty to eat and the breakfast room was very comfortable and spacious. There were two computers for guests to use. They were available 24/7 at no additional charge. The only major drawback was the lack of AC, which might not normally be a problem but the weather was unseasonably warm while we were there. Some nights it was too noisy on the streets to open the windows and get a decent night's sleep. Overall, we really liked the hotel, the Staff was extremely helpful and courteous, and we would definitely stay there again;

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No AC
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

I stayed at the Wiechmann one weekend night in March. I was looking for a good and inexpensive experience (I've been splurging too much lately) and picked the Weichmann over more upscale properties because of the price. Overall it was not bad and not great.
The pluses: the hotel staff was uniformly helpful, cheerful, and polite. The big lobby dog was a treat to play with. The room was clean and had a small keyed safe. The bed was comfy. Breakfast was OK with lots of good coffee. Oh -- and the location was good. Not right on the middle of everything, but a quick walk to the Dam and shopping areas, and very close to a nice coffeehouse and couple of bars.
The drawbacks: the room (and I had the cheapest single) was incredibly small -- the room was barely wide enough for the bed. I had no view. There were free computers with internet access near the lobby, but the network login password wasn't working so I could not use it until the next morning. I didn't mind the steep and winding stairs, but then I only had a backpack.
So very middle-of-the-road. A good choice if you're watching your Euros - especially if you can get a canal view room.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small, uncharming room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

Good location.Doesnt serve any tea or coffee apart from at breakfast time though. No facilities in room to do so either.
Very comfy beds.very clean.nice decor.Had one of the back rooms with no views atall. Would definately want one at front if possible next time.
Alsatian dog in lobby and breakfast room.Very steep stairs.Not suitable for anyone with any mobility problems.
All in all very satisfactory.Would stay again.

  • Liked — The comfy bed and location
  • Disliked — No Tea and coffee
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.