We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel in a super position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Greetham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great family hotel in a super position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed in the family suite on the first floor, two interconnecting bedrooms with a bathroom and a great view over the canal. It was perfect for us and the children and the breakfast was fine too. The only little minus was the noise from the street all night, when the windows were open (it was very warm last week!) Luckily the kids slept at the back where it was quiet and it was only our room which was noisy.

The hotel was ideal for us and everything was in easy walking distance. I would recommend this hotel for a family. It was small, friendly, good value and in a great position.

Room Tip: Our family suite was ideal for families, two separate bedrooms with a glass door between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    230
    74
    11
    15
See reviews for
84
182
63
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed here with a friend last week. Very good location for a hotel and convenient for walking everywhere you might want to visit. It's within the " Nine Streets area " and there are lots of places to eat in the evening. The hotel is a very interesting building and it was very unusual to be able to stay in a canal house. The stairs are steep but we both managed them and we're "ancient"! We thought the breakfasts were good and everything was very fresh and clean and cheerful. Some of the staff at the desk were nicer than others but the hotel was very good value considering we visited in the holiday period and Amsterdam is fairly pricey.

Room Tip: We had a room with no canal view but didn't mind as we weren't in our room very much and did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The staff at the hotel were very, very nice and helpful as well. The breakfast was okay but nothing special. I suppose you could characterize the hotel as funky, but it really needs a re-do. The location is excellent and the neighborhood is great. I think the hotel is a bit overpriced at $200 a night.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the canal. While the view was lovely, the street noise was quite noticeabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The best part of this hotel is the location. If you just need a place to sleep and be within walking distance of everything then this will work for you.

Just a warning...if you have any problems climbing stairs this hotel is not good for you. The stairs are extremely steep!! It's almost like climbing a ladder to get to the upper floors. We brought our dog with us and she had problems getting down.

Room Tip: Be careful of the stairs....they are extremely steep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is very cozy and comfortable and when you compare it with some of the other hotels in the same area it is a terrific value. We had one of the back bedrooms with no canal view. But it was charming & spacious with a desk /chair and two additional chairs. The beds are perfect! The room was completely quiet at night. There's no air conditioning but the windows open providing plenty of fresh air and a nice breeze.
The breakfast is generous with much to choose from. I especially appreciated the Dutch Spice Bread and the breakfast room has a fantastic view of the canals. What a great way to start each day!
The location could not have been better. Everything was walking distance yet it felt like a real neighborhood too.
The staff all go out of their way to be helpful and have lots of good advice.
NOTE: The stairs are steep but the staff will kindly take your suitcases up & down.
We would definitely return to The Wiechmann!
Our one request is that espresso be available for breakfast. It's currently available only afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I, plus our college-age daughter and son, took an 8 night trip to Belgium and the Netherlands in June 2014. We were in Amsterdam for three nights at the Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel. The location was probably perfect, sitting on the intersection of two canals, in the center of all the tourist sites, but in a basically quiet area with many restaurants and brown cafés. In 20 minutes or less, you could walk to just about every place you’d want to see in the city. Since we were travelling by car, we parked at the Park+Ride and took the tram to closest stop (more on that later).
We paid €733 for three nights for a family room on the 1st floor overlooking Prinsengracht canal (see photo). It had a double and two twin beds, lots of storage and original detail. The hotel appears to be 3 canal houses that were fused together as one. Our room was directly above the main lobby and entrance, but we never had an issue with noise from below. The bedrooms were probably the main parlor and ante-parlor of this floor with a windowed pocket door between the two rooms. The floor creaked and squeaked with every step. The bathroom was modern and very large, but had a wet floor shower – which basically was an indoor puddle by the time the 4th person took a shower.
There was free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For breakfast (included), there was a typical European buffet – juices, yogurt, cereal, toast, tea and coffee in tiny cups, cold cuts and cheese. The best part of breakfast was watching the buzz of bicyclists outside the huge windows going about their business – to work, daycare, running errands, and (probably) returning home from clubbing the night before!
In general, I would say the property is a bit worn down but curiously eclectic in its decorations.

On parking, I read you could pay an arm and leg to park in the city and risk an accident trying to drive in the city, making the P+R highly attractive. Now with experience, while the former may be true, I would disagree with the latter. On the way to the hotel, we opted for the P+R (€1/day!) and attempted to get to the hotel by tram. We needed to switch lines to avoid a 20 minute walk with luggage to the hotel, but transferring meant navigating to the next corner of the very busy square during rush hour. After dragging our bags over cobbled streets and barley missing the next tram in our direction, we gave up and took a taxi for €8. On the final day, I went to the P+R by tram on my own, got the car, and picked up the family in front of the hotel. Driving was easier than advertised and I would recommend that plan for anyone with a car.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our room was on the corner of the first floor. The room was very spacious and there was a nice deep tub in the bathroom. The young man who checked us in was the most helpful and outgoing of all the staff we encountered.

The hotel has no air-conditioning and without the windows open, it would have been very uncomfortable to sleep. And since our windows faced the canal, it was very noisy with them open. This street seems to always be busy! In the 2 days we were there, I got very little good sleep.

Also, typical of Amsterdam, the interior stairways are steep and treacherous.

The decor was a combination of nice old antiques, many with rather worn upholstery, and very dated, worn carpet and tacky bedspreads.

The breakfast was meager at best. We ate out the first morning but made due with boiled eggs and toast the 2nd morning.

While nothing was awful, I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.