We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in Amsterdam canal district” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in Amsterdam canal district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed two nights in this charming hotel in the canal district of Amsterdam. This was the perfect introduction to Europe for my husband. We had a corner room on the first floor overlooking the canals (the steps are very steep and narrow and not suitable for people with walking problems and large suitcases can be trying). The hotel was perfect. Opening the french doors you could watch Amsterdam go by at your feet with views down the Prinsengracht canal in both directions and several streets as well! It was a little noisy as people wandered home from a night out, but the position of the room well and truly made up for this. Close to all major tourist attractions. Breakfasts were excellent and staff friendly and helpful. The bathroom was small, but adequate. This is an older style hotel, but if you want character and charm in Amsterdam this is the place for you.

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the corner - go for one of them if you want to watch the world go by at your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiechmann, Owner at Hotel Wiechmann, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
You were lovely guests to have! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    226
    72
    11
    15
See reviews for
84
181
62
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We loved this hotel. The location is awesome! We had a view of the canal and it was fun to look out at what was going on. We were 10 minutes from the Ann Frank house. The breakfast was wonderful and the breakfast room was really cool. We loved talking to the owner and he would answer any questions we had. The place was very clean. Great find!

Room Tip: Awesome hotel. Get a room with a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiechmann, Owner at Hotel Wiechmann, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
You are most welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleby Barwick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Weichmann. Location is excellent, extremely clean inside and out. Staff very friendly and accommodating. We were in Room 307 which is the one with balcony (check out front view photos). Would stay there again and would definitely recommend it to friends. Breakfast was basic but very good quality, staff couldn't do enough to help you. There is also a nice bar close to the hotel (turn left from the front door). Shame the hotel doesn't have its own bar. No complaints really. Well done management.

Room Tip: Choose 307 - fabulous room with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiechmann, Owner at Hotel Wiechmann, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you much for your review, much appreciated.

Regards,

John B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Pieced together from three canal houses, the hotel is really an interesting collection. Our room was very nice even though we opted for a back room without a street view. The street view rooms must be spectacular.

The hotel is very clean, and in excellent shape. If you have heavy luggage, keep in mind that elevators are strangers in these older houses. That's the only downside.

Breakfast was very good, plenty of choices, fresh and tasty.

We checked in on a Sunday when the staff is very much the "B" team. Not too helpful, knowledgable or interested in being of service. And apparently, several of the maid staff took and unannounced "holiday" and our room wasn't ready until about 6pm. Since we'd been up at about 2am, we failed to appreciate this.

During the week, the owner man's the desk and the employees pay much more attention to their jobs.

If you stay, don't forget to scratch the dog in the front lobby. He's a gem. Just like the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiechmann, Owner at Hotel Wiechmann, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for the heads-up. I talked to my "B-team" , next time when you're here they will be better :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Ideally located for all the sights. All are within walking distance. Spotless hotel with a wonderful breakfast. Staff were friendly and very helpful. If you have trouble with stairs, this hotel is not for you as there is no lift. We had an excellent experience here and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiechmann, Owner at Hotel Wiechmann, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
That was my grandfather's doing. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel and it was a bad experience. I booked 2 rooms separated by a door, but dor was ... glass. No privacy at all. The foor was a new material glued on the old deck. Result: Super noisy and very bad taste. Breakfast was poor. Staff was not professional. At the end didn't want to accept 500 euros cash because they did not know how to distinguish de fake money. Bad experience. I will never return and advise others not to come.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Loved staying at Hotel Wiechmann. Very friendly hotel, staff are really helpful, rooms lovely and clean, service was great and location perfect. All 5*.

Would recommend to everybody. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsNL, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.