We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Amsterdam treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, Amsterdam treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Pieced together from three canal houses, the hotel is really an interesting collection. Our room was very nice even though we opted for a back room without a street view. The street view rooms must be spectacular.

The hotel is very clean, and in excellent shape. If you have heavy luggage, keep in mind that elevators are strangers in these older houses. That's the only downside.

Breakfast was very good, plenty of choices, fresh and tasty.

We checked in on a Sunday when the staff is very much the "B" team. Not too helpful, knowledgable or interested in being of service. And apparently, several of the maid staff took and unannounced "holiday" and our room wasn't ready until about 6pm. Since we'd been up at about 2am, we failed to appreciate this.

During the week, the owner man's the desk and the employees pay much more attention to their jobs.

If you stay, don't forget to scratch the dog in the front lobby. He's a gem. Just like the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiechmann, Owner at Hotel Wiechmann, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for the heads-up. I talked to my "B-team" , next time when you're here they will be better :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    274
    83
    11
    18
See reviews for
97
220
70
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Ideally located for all the sights. All are within walking distance. Spotless hotel with a wonderful breakfast. Staff were friendly and very helpful. If you have trouble with stairs, this hotel is not for you as there is no lift. We had an excellent experience here and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiechmann, Owner at Hotel Wiechmann, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
That was my grandfather's doing. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel and it was a bad experience. I booked 2 rooms separated by a door, but dor was ... glass. No privacy at all. The foor was a new material glued on the old deck. Result: Super noisy and very bad taste. Breakfast was poor. Staff was not professional. At the end didn't want to accept 500 euros cash because they did not know how to distinguish de fake money. Bad experience. I will never return and advise others not to come.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Loved staying at Hotel Wiechmann. Very friendly hotel, staff are really helpful, rooms lovely and clean, service was great and location perfect. All 5*.

Would recommend to everybody. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This little hotel is a real gem , located in the Jordan right on a corner where you can sit. Having your breakfast watching the world cycling past

The hotel is a house which means it has steep stairs and quirky corners but very quite , clean and really friendly staff.

Great situation for all the local main sights , loads of cafés , and restaurants

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

it was nice to stay at this hotel as the Dutch ambiance was great. However; even though we paid for a canal view room, our room had only a small window seeing the canal. We asked the manager if it was possible for them to give us a different room, he didn't seem to care much. Had i known that I would be given such a room, I would have just booked a standard room without a view. My advice would be to double-check the rooms you"re about the book via booking.com.
Pros: nice original ambiance, good location, good breakfast, clean rooms, fast with e-mails
cons: small rooms, thin walls, wool blankets that make you itchy!

Overall, we'd have been happier with our stay, if the staff had been more helpful about the room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here four nights. Had a room overlooking the courtyard which, while uninspiring, was very quiet. Breakfast room had a view overlooking a canal bridge, which resulted in great people-watching. Room was comfortable and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was excellent, within easy walking distance of most major attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#95 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,298 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#31 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#43 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#48 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#166 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#116 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.