We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel with Canal Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manila
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel with Canal Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is situated in a corner street bordered by 2 canals. This fact alone makes staying in this hotel so worth it! The furnishings and decors are consistent to the early times and made the ambience of this hotel very homey and welcoming. The staff were courteous and helpful. Breakfast was good, and was complemented by the lovely canal views on both sides. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Family suite faces the canal and has 2 spacious bedrooms. Ideal for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    226
    72
    11
    15
See reviews for
84
181
62
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Arrived here and, as usual, made very welcome. My room has clearly been recently refurbished and was spotless. Will always stay here when visiting Amsterdam. Very steep stairs might be a problem for some, but that is unavoidable in this lovely old building.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great location,homely and slightly quirky.Felt very comfortable walking back here at night.Had attic room facing canal so lovely views.We had the windows open at night and noise was only occasional, even though Amsterdam was heaving this weekend.Clean basic room,comfortable,good for us.Stairs were as most people described,but were fine even with a duff knee,but we do travel light so luggage not an issue.Basic breakfast but fabulous room to eat in.Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had a lovely room with a view of the canal in a hotel very well placed for all the amenities of Amsterdam and for viewing Kings Day. The rooms are traditional, simple, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is buffet style with cold meats, cheeses, eggs, cereals and breads.
The best thing about the hotel is the really helpful staff. All of them were helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble. If I do go to Amsterdam again I will certainly try and get a room in this hotel. You really felt you were abroad and allowed to have a relaxing and good time.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed in the very small single room for 10 days in the beginning of April. The hotel can be accessed using the shuttle service from the airport. The hotel is located along the Prinsengracht canal and walking distance from the major attractions and tram lines. My room was very small as described, but I did not intend on spending most of my time there anyway. It was clean and I liked that it came with a small safe.
What I loved about this hotel was the staff. Everyone was so helpful. I got suggestions for things to do, help for the tram lines and bus stops for where I wanted to go and my reservation for the return shuttle to the airport was made.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Quaint, clean, authentic, friendly...we loved this hotel, loved the breakfast and the dining room. Our room was up some very steep stairs which is part of the charm despite luggage. There was a lovely sitting room where we were able to sit and visit with our traveling companions and plan our day. We traveled to london and paris as well but I really want to return to amsterdam and this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for room that overlooks canal with balcony windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated on Prinsengracht canal in the beautiful Jordaan area. We loved wandering round this area; full of little museums, galleries, bars, restaurants and cafes. It's the second time I've stayed here, and would definitely come back again. The hotel is beautifully traditional, and the rooms very clean (and bigger than the pictures on the website look). The staff have always been very friendly and helpful, and although there are no tea making facilities in the room, there is a machine downstairs where you can ask for a free hot drink at any time. The breakfast is plentiful, and consists of lots of continental treats.

If you have mobility issues, or lots of luggage you should be away that the staircases are narrow and steep, so you may want to request a room on a lower floor (this wasn't a problem for us). A bigger issue is the noise that continues throughout the night from the canal. As the rooms don't have air-conditioning, we had to sleep with the windows open as it was hot, and the noise really did continue throughout the night. We took and wore earplugs, but did have quite interrupted sleep. The view over the canals is beautiful though!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night, choose a room not overlooking the canal (or, take ear plugs!). If you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsNL, Tingo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;