We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“april stay with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vallejo, California
1 review
“april stay with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Quaint, clean, authentic, friendly...we loved this hotel, loved the breakfast and the dining room. Our room was up some very steep stairs which is part of the charm despite luggage. There was a lovely sitting room where we were able to sit and visit with our traveling companions and plan our day. We traveled to london and paris as well but I really want to return to amsterdam and this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for room that overlooks canal with balcony windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    252
    80
    11
    16
See reviews for
89
200
66
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated on Prinsengracht canal in the beautiful Jordaan area. We loved wandering round this area; full of little museums, galleries, bars, restaurants and cafes. It's the second time I've stayed here, and would definitely come back again. The hotel is beautifully traditional, and the rooms very clean (and bigger than the pictures on the website look). The staff have always been very friendly and helpful, and although there are no tea making facilities in the room, there is a machine downstairs where you can ask for a free hot drink at any time. The breakfast is plentiful, and consists of lots of continental treats.

If you have mobility issues, or lots of luggage you should be away that the staircases are narrow and steep, so you may want to request a room on a lower floor (this wasn't a problem for us). A bigger issue is the noise that continues throughout the night from the canal. As the rooms don't have air-conditioning, we had to sleep with the windows open as it was hot, and the noise really did continue throughout the night. We took and wore earplugs, but did have quite interrupted sleep. The view over the canals is beautiful though!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night, choose a room not overlooking the canal (or, take ear plugs!). If you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very good value. Great hospitality and amazing "homey" design that can give you the feeling of being at home. The lack of elevator to the upper rooms was anoing upon errival and departure with the lagedg. great location thogh the distance to the tram is aprox 5-7 min. Highly recomended

Room Tip: ask for lower floores as ther is no elavator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel was a wonderful stay on our first trip to Amsterdam! Situated in a fantastic location on the Princess Canal within walking distance of several sites/tram stops/restaurants/bars/shops. Staff were always very friendly and helped us a great deal with taxis, holding luggage, etc. Two sweet dogs will greet you during the day!

Rooms were clean and well appointed and I thought the value was good. Everyone will tell you to beware of the steep staircases, but they were actually kind of fun! Just be careful going down with the luggage. ;)

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel is ideally situated in the center of Amsterdam. We had a family room on the first floor (2 adults and 2 teenage kids). No lifts in the hotel but this wasn't an issue for us as we were only staying the weekend and had small suitcases. The room itself is quiet basic and dated but functional. Check-in was quick and straightforward. Continental breakfast was again basic but there was enough to fill you up for a tough day of sightseeing.
The breakfast room itself had a wonderful view and you could watch the world (or at least Amsterdam) cycle by while you ate.
I though it was a bit expensive but maybe this is the going rate for hotels in Amsterdam.
Overall I would recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage ask for a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Let's start with the positive, it's in a great location. The room was sub par with cheap bedspreads and questionable cleaning service. The breakfast was good though. Our room was on the third floor, we had a great view of the canal...which was both good and bad. I slept with earplugs because it is a party all night in the canal. We couldn't afford a lot so this is probably about right for the money. The front desk was underwhelmed by our presence and I had the feeling of always interrupting them by asking a question.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, ask for a room that does not face the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The staff were always very friendly and chatty. The hotel was charming and had a nice cosy and 'homely' feel to it. Every room was spotlessly clean. We loved the breakfast room, with its view of the canal and the cyclists free-wheeling by. The hotel's location was perfect for us too, being in a very quirky part of the city with interesting sights on almost every street. We'd even asked for some sunshine during our stay and you even managed to provide that too!

Room Tip: The stairs are steep and narrow but the rooms were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.