We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect for a short time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Positive highlights: Excellent location (that's why it's pricey) and very polite and attentive service. I stayed there for a couple of nights and I don't regret it! When you have to go back to the airport they can arrange it for you.

Negative highlights: Be careful with the stairs especially if you're carrying heavy baggage. The second night I wasn't allowed to bring visits, but the night before I had no problem, so I guess that depends on the recepcionist. Bring earplugs if you're sensitive to noises, because you'll wake up early!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    216
    71
    10
    15
See reviews for
79
175
59
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Sorry for my English : very very very very...NOISY !!! impossible to sleep before 02h00 in the night.. simple Windows, à lot of cars trafic just in front of the hotel.
Very old fashion hotel.. It's a shame for the prices ! ( 15 € per night )
We'll never come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiechmann, Owner at Hotel Wiechmann, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
I guess I should apologize for the traffic in front of the hotel, even if we are located in a very quiet part of the city. I also suppose that you looked up the hotel before you made the reservation and you must have noticed what kind of hotel I have. It is not a modern shoe-box hotel, it is an, old-fashioned, Amsterdam Canalhouse hotel. I hope that was not a surprise?
I am however sorry for your bad experience and I actually do hope to see you back someday so I can perhaps make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Wiechmann hotel was a great find suggested by a friend who stayed here before. Though it's not considered "modern" it is by no means out-of-date. The room I had on the top floor for a single person (though it included two twins beds...) was amazing and perfect. I opted for the cheaper "non-canal view" and I didn't miss the view at all - I got a lovely view of the rooftops of the city and got to see hidden yards, gardens, etc. The room itself is well-appointed, with a TV, large wardrobe, and plenty of space. The bathroom was adequate and there was plenty of hot water. The infamous steps, mentioned in many a review, aren't that hard to navigate and are typical for Amsterdam buildings...you really do feel like you're in an authentic hotel!

The breakfast provided is in a cute dining room on the corner where you can people watch through large windows and see the scenery. The location is excellent. Moreover, the desk staff is friendly and mostly local, with the owners themselves working it most of the time. The great thing is, there is always someone at the desk. Ordering a cab very early to get to Rotterdam on my last morning was a breeze.

Terrific value, great location, and friendly staff. What more could you want? I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here from 1-3 February 2014. The comfortable double room had wonderful views of the junction of two canals which could be viewed from the window by the bed as well as from the balcony. It was furnished with slightly old-fashioned but comfortable wooden furniture and fittings. The public rooms were similarly furnished and comfortable.
The staff were very helpful, particularly after I left my passport and quite a lot of cash in the room safe and was out of the city before I noticed and went back. They were most efficient and tolerant in sorting matters out. A very good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a conference at the Amsterdam Rai. The hotel is well located near the city centre, a 5-10 minute walk from the nearest tram stop. It is a bit old fashioned but that adds a certain charm and I prefer this type of hotel to standard chains. The hotel is on a canal so it is definitely worth getting a canal view room. I had a room on the top floor, note there is no lift and the stairs are pretty steep but this is made plain on the hotel web site. Good free Wifi works throughout. A nice stay, good value.

Room Tip: Worth getting a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

It has a friendly and familiar staff to talk with, you can ask every thing about your stay in amsterdam and they are very helpful to give the information needed. The hotel is clean, it has all facilities needed and it is at short walk from the city center attractions.
Last but not least it offers breakfast in the morning in a hall facing the famous canals in the city.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was impressed by the attention to details at the
Weichmann. I personally liked the availability of hot tea at most hours of the day and night. For a cold Amsterdam night being served a cup of hot tea is extremely refreshing. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsNL, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.