We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very service oriented hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very service oriented hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was impressed by the attention to details at the
Weichmann. I personally liked the availability of hot tea at most hours of the day and night. For a cold Amsterdam night being served a cup of hot tea is extremely refreshing. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    248
    79
    11
    16
See reviews for
89
196
66
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

this is a reasonably priced hotel near the centre of Amsterdam. It has a superb breakfast room, and lounge for guests and really helpful staff. The room are small but full of character, a typical Dutch house but really well done. it is a family establishment!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My first trip to Amsterdam was made all the more fabulous by having chosen this extremely comfortable and authentic family-run hotel. The extra money that I paid for a canal view was worth every penny. The location is very central and picturesque situated at a busy but localised crossing point for traffic and pedestrians alike; but at the same time giving a wonderful snapshot of everdyay life 'Amsterdam style' as seen from the Breakfast Room, serving a varied and substantial breakfast. If I was being picky, I missed not having yoghurt and larger cups for tea or coffee. Other than that I couldn't fault the friendly service. You just can't feel that 'bygone era' vibe in a modern hotel that you experience at the 'Weichmann'!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a canal view if you can, so pretty at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very well located for access to City centre and nightlife (about 15 minute walk). Hotel right next door to one of the canals. Hotel was clean but quite old fashioned. No TV in lounge area but flat screens in the rooms. Large double bed, comfy but needed more blankets. Very deep bath to step into if you wanted a shower so not good if you have mobility issues. Room was clean but furniture, bedding, etc. very dated. Stairs very steep to all the floors (we were on the 2nd). Continental breakfast okay. Boiled eggs available but nothing else hot, just cheeses and hams and toast and jam and a bowl of tinned peaches or a bowl of fruit (no marmalade) and tea and coffee out of an urn. Breakfast room overlooks the street and canal so very pleasant but really missed a nice cooked hot breakfast option. Staff very helpful but taxi they booked for us for pickup from airport on Friday night did not turn up so we just got in a taxi at the airport and cost was the same (around EUR40). Hotel has no restaurant for lunch or dinner but there are restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at the Wiechmann in September 2013. We had a small room on the second floor - very steep and narrow staircase and only an internal "view" - go for the street/canal view. The breakfast room offers a wonderful sight of Amsterdam "commuting" - we were surprised there weren't more accidents as bikes of all kinds and pedestrians wove intricate crossing patterns avoiding collision. Food for breakfast was "standard" - cereal, fruit, bread, cheese and meat. No cooked food. The hotel is conveniently located within a short walk of the main train station and museums. We walked everywhere - no need for a bus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I together with another couple with whom we have been friends for 50 years stayed at Hotel Wiechmann on the nights of 18th, 19th and 20th November 2013. Although we had seen many good reviews on Tripadvsor we had also seen a few terrible reviews and were thus slightly worried. Our fears were totally unfounded. The hotel has "character" which we really liked. The staff were friendly and the clientele were reserved and pleasant people. The room in which we stayed was moderate to small with an old fashioned wardrobe but it was warm and comfortable with arm chairs, a flat screen TV and a canal view. We both have minor back trouble which can be exacerbated by some beds but we found these beds comfortable and woke with no problems. The room also had a safe. We were issued with a key to the front door, a key to the room and a key to the safe and got back our 20 Euro deposit when we left. Stairs to our room were steep but typical of Amsterdam. Breakfast was fine - not bacon and eggs but cereals, cheese, fruit, tea, toast etc. One evening we spent an hour playing bridge in the lounge which is comfortable and interesting. The hotel is within walking distance of everything - just over a mile to Central Station and just over a mile to the Concertgebouw with Dam Square, restaurants and the red light district all closer. We bought a 4 day tram ticket but could easily have managed without. If and when we go back to Amsterdam we will probably stay at Hotel Wiechmann.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had three nights this week in Hotel Wiechmann.
Room comfortable and everything worked.Furniture from a byegone age but this enables one to describe it as'full of character!'
Staff were friendly and very helpful.
Breakfast buffet was very good and taken in an excellent room with canal views.
Would certainly recommend to friends looking for a good value hotel in central Amsterdam

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.