We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wiechmann Hotel - week-end away with friends” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Wiechmann Hotel - week-end away with friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very well located for access to City centre and nightlife (about 15 minute walk). Hotel right next door to one of the canals. Hotel was clean but quite old fashioned. No TV in lounge area but flat screens in the rooms. Large double bed, comfy but needed more blankets. Very deep bath to step into if you wanted a shower so not good if you have mobility issues. Room was clean but furniture, bedding, etc. very dated. Stairs very steep to all the floors (we were on the 2nd). Continental breakfast okay. Boiled eggs available but nothing else hot, just cheeses and hams and toast and jam and a bowl of tinned peaches or a bowl of fruit (no marmalade) and tea and coffee out of an urn. Breakfast room overlooks the street and canal so very pleasant but really missed a nice cooked hot breakfast option. Staff very helpful but taxi they booked for us for pickup from airport on Friday night did not turn up so we just got in a taxi at the airport and cost was the same (around EUR40). Hotel has no restaurant for lunch or dinner but there are restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    226
    72
    11
    15
See reviews for
84
181
62
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at the Wiechmann in September 2013. We had a small room on the second floor - very steep and narrow staircase and only an internal "view" - go for the street/canal view. The breakfast room offers a wonderful sight of Amsterdam "commuting" - we were surprised there weren't more accidents as bikes of all kinds and pedestrians wove intricate crossing patterns avoiding collision. Food for breakfast was "standard" - cereal, fruit, bread, cheese and meat. No cooked food. The hotel is conveniently located within a short walk of the main train station and museums. We walked everywhere - no need for a bus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I together with another couple with whom we have been friends for 50 years stayed at Hotel Wiechmann on the nights of 18th, 19th and 20th November 2013. Although we had seen many good reviews on Tripadvsor we had also seen a few terrible reviews and were thus slightly worried. Our fears were totally unfounded. The hotel has "character" which we really liked. The staff were friendly and the clientele were reserved and pleasant people. The room in which we stayed was moderate to small with an old fashioned wardrobe but it was warm and comfortable with arm chairs, a flat screen TV and a canal view. We both have minor back trouble which can be exacerbated by some beds but we found these beds comfortable and woke with no problems. The room also had a safe. We were issued with a key to the front door, a key to the room and a key to the safe and got back our 20 Euro deposit when we left. Stairs to our room were steep but typical of Amsterdam. Breakfast was fine - not bacon and eggs but cereals, cheese, fruit, tea, toast etc. One evening we spent an hour playing bridge in the lounge which is comfortable and interesting. The hotel is within walking distance of everything - just over a mile to Central Station and just over a mile to the Concertgebouw with Dam Square, restaurants and the red light district all closer. We bought a 4 day tram ticket but could easily have managed without. If and when we go back to Amsterdam we will probably stay at Hotel Wiechmann.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had three nights this week in Hotel Wiechmann.
Room comfortable and everything worked.Furniture from a byegone age but this enables one to describe it as'full of character!'
Staff were friendly and very helpful.
Breakfast buffet was very good and taken in an excellent room with canal views.
Would certainly recommend to friends looking for a good value hotel in central Amsterdam

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was just a one night business trip alone, but I'd be happy to stay here for a long weekend break as a couple. Stayed in room 308 - room and WC/shower both a decent size with plenty of clothes space. Free WiFi worked well on third floor. No bed bugs and room was very clean.
Breakfast is usual Amsterdam fare - cereals, cheese and cold meats, boiled eggs, bread/toast with jams/marmalade, all plentiful.
Good location - short walk to buses and trams and places to eat nearby.
Pleasant helpful people on reception and superquick checkout.
I booked through an online agency 3 weeks in advance and got a fair price.

Room Tip: Room 308 is a courtyard room, not canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel and unfortunately did not have a great experience like other reviewers. The hotel is packed with character and is in a great location, however, I came home covered in bed bug bites. Both myself and my traveling companion had bites and stayed only at this hotel on our trip. I contacted the hotel upon my return and they said they would investigate the problem immediately. Once they investigated however, they said there was no trace of bugs in the room we stayed. To me, this is an impossibility and a red flag so if you choose to stay here I would exercise great caution!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiechmann, Owner at Hotel Wiechmann, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Again, even after refunding 50% of your stay and not having any complaints before, during or after your stay at the Wiechmann and having our Exterminator company check and do an extra heat-treatment of the room you stayed in, I still offer my apologies for your experience.
And, as I wrote in my emails, I am also grateful for the heads-up on this possible problem you gave me when you contacted us a few days after your departure. That probably gave us a chance to be on time taking measures.
Thank you.

John Boddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Friendly informal hotel on Prinsengracht a bit off the beaten tram track.
Quiet and simple rooms were fine.
But if you don't want or cannot climb up the four flights of very steep stairs ask for a room lower down.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsNL, Tingo, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.