We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Three Days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Three Days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had three nights this week in Hotel Wiechmann.
Room comfortable and everything worked.Furniture from a byegone age but this enables one to describe it as'full of character!'
Staff were friendly and very helpful.
Breakfast buffet was very good and taken in an excellent room with canal views.
Would certainly recommend to friends looking for a good value hotel in central Amsterdam

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Exmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was just a one night business trip alone, but I'd be happy to stay here for a long weekend break as a couple. Stayed in room 308 - room and WC/shower both a decent size with plenty of clothes space. Free WiFi worked well on third floor. No bed bugs and room was very clean.
Breakfast is usual Amsterdam fare - cereals, cheese and cold meats, boiled eggs, bread/toast with jams/marmalade, all plentiful.
Good location - short walk to buses and trams and places to eat nearby.
Pleasant helpful people on reception and superquick checkout.
I booked through an online agency 3 weeks in advance and got a fair price.

Room Tip: Room 308 is a courtyard room, not canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel and unfortunately did not have a great experience like other reviewers. The hotel is packed with character and is in a great location, however, I came home covered in bed bug bites. Both myself and my traveling companion had bites and stayed only at this hotel on our trip. I contacted the hotel upon my return and they said they would investigate the problem immediately. Once they investigated however, they said there was no trace of bugs in the room we stayed. To me, this is an impossibility and a red flag so if you choose to stay here I would exercise great caution!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank MELSOL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiechmann, Owner at Hotel Wiechmann, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Again, even after refunding 50% of your stay and not having any complaints before, during or after your stay at the Wiechmann and having our Exterminator company check and do an extra heat-treatment of the room you stayed in, I still offer my apologies for your experience.
And, as I wrote in my emails, I am also grateful for the heads-up on this possible problem you gave me when you contacted us a few days after your departure. That probably gave us a chance to be on time taking measures.
Thank you.

John Boddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Friendly informal hotel on Prinsengracht a bit off the beaten tram track.
Quiet and simple rooms were fine.
But if you don't want or cannot climb up the four flights of very steep stairs ask for a room lower down.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

On summer holiday we stayed with two children on the first floor. The room was spacious, with two separate bedrooms and a big, modern bathroom. The charming location is hard to beat. You can't do better than a wiev over one of the busiest canals in Amsterdam and walking distance to the inner city.
Breakfast was ok, and the service good. All in all we can recommend this for a family whith children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwenshendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here in a canal-view room in August 2013 and had a great time. The location is excellent, both in terms of getting around Amsterdam and the view of the canal was a constant source of fascination, 24 hours a day - better than TV!.

The rooms are comfortable and a good size and, unlike many European hotels, so is the bathroom.

Staff were friendly and very helpful and when I left my mobile phone behind they mail it to me.

Room Tip: Go for the canal view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonOfSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night with a group of friends. The location is fantastic, it's about a 20 min brisk walk from Central Station. It's only a few mins from Liedesplein(sp) and its wonderful array of bars and restaurants. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast room is delightful. The stairs might be an issue for some people, however this is the norm for Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a Canal view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoopy-Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#101 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#102 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,495 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#27 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#44 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 866 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#136 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Jordaan
Petit Prince
Petit Prince
#14 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing