We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in mid-September, and had a really nice time. The staff is very helpful and friendly, but not intrusive. They were the best part, and the reason to return! The rooms were not huge, but comfortable, and huge windows. Location was really good, close to Leidesplein. We were on the 2nd floor, on the street side overlooking the canal. There was noise on the street, pretty much 24/7. This is an active town, and I have no idea if it would be different elsewhere, but if this is a concern, ask for a room in the back. As others have mentioned - steep and narrow stairs so be prepared! But it was a great place, and a great price. We are glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    227
    72
    11
    15
See reviews for
84
181
62
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

It was a really nice friendly hotel, clean & tidy,staff very friendly. I am a single traveler so i was in a room on the top floor so as mentioned by others i had to climb 4 flights of very steep steps but i was expecting this as most Amsterdam accommodation is like this, The breakfast was ok. I would have liked a canal view but only a minor issue & if im lucky i might get one when i go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

What a location - on the junction of 2 canals in the Jordaan!! Great views! Staff were really helpful & friendly. Rooms were smallish - but were very comfortable. Lots of stairs & no lifts though so wouldn't suit people with mobility issues. Would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Wiechmann is a small family owned hotel situated on the intersection of 2 central canals. The location is perfect. Our canal view room #239 had huge windows overlooking both canals. Beautiful! The rooms are very basic but are clean and comfortable. Our room was up two very steep narrow flights of stairs that could be difficult for some people. Breakfast is included and served in a bright ground floor dining room facing the canals as well. Like the rooms the breakfast is basic: sliced cold cuts, cheese, bread for toasting and some dry cereals and fresh fruit. We would have liked some yogurt as well and better breads. The owner and staff are all very helpful and friendly. there is a large, old, docile family dog who smells a little funky, but doesn't bother anyone. Bathroom in keeping with the no frills quality, but good plumbing. Toiletries are meager, bring your own if you are fussy about soap and shampoo.

Room Tip: Go for a cnal view room for sure! If you can manage the stairs room 239 was great, spacious and what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

The location is on a canal further from the center, but therefore quieter and less busy. It is very close to the Anne Frank house and the Rijks Museum. Lots of good restaurants nearby. The staff were charming and helpful. Our room overlooked the canal and, though small, it was very adequate. The stairs are very steep and narrow so perhaps not good if you have very large, heavy luggage. There is no elevator. The breakfast was not huge but it was certainly adequate. The breakfast room was lovely, looked out onto the street corner where there was lots of action. I highly recommend the Wiechmann hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The best part of this hotel is its location on the canals in a great part of Amsterdam. The hotel is comprised of three canal houses which have been joined to create one hotel. This results in fantastic views of the canals and a perfect base for sightseeing and shopping in Amsterdam.

On the inside, the hotel is rather run down, but charming. Our room was in dire need of new linens and remodeling, but fairly clean. And believe the reviews of the staircases - extremely narrow and steep, so be prepared to haul your luggage and bags up a few steep flights to your room. The breakfast was typical for this style of hotel - cold cuts, breads, and cereal. The staff was pleasant, especially the resident German Shepherd.

Tip: Do not order transport from/to the airport through the hotel. The driver who took us to the airport tried to hold our luggage hostage for double the amount the hotel had negotiated (way more than a normal taxi would have been) and the driver who was supposed to pick us up arrived 30 minutes late and was extremely rude. Take a cab on your own - the trip should be 35-40 Euro.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiechmann, Owner at Hotel Wiechmann, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. There are a few things that we agree on and they will be handled asap. As usual we will be refurbishing a section of the hotel this winter. What shocked me was your experience with the taxi driver.
Could you please let me know on which date you checked out and at what time the driver was supposed to come? And, of course, what price did you pay in the end.
I hope to offer you a better experience on your possible return.

John B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#105 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.