We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wien, Österreich
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Something special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you select this Hotel, you cannot expect something like at any Chain Hotel. It is something special, giving the feeling of how life was and is in this typical old style Amstererdam houses. There are a unique old style living room and breakfast room with old classic furniture. The stairs to the rooms in the upper floors are quite steep and there is no lift available. But knowing this fact it transmits the feeling how it is to live in these kind of old houses. So if you expect some modern style Hotel with all its amenities it is the wrong choice. So when selecting this Hotel, you will discover some shortcomings to what the modern Businesstraveller expects, but you get the cosy feeling of Old Amsterdam with a special charme.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front side offer a beautiful look to the Canal in front of the house but be aware that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    227
    72
    11
    15
See reviews for
84
181
62
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Perfect location and cosy.
The hotel is a bit dated. Very steep stairs and no elevator, so beware if you a located on top floor (4th). Breakfast included, siimple but enough. Actually no surprises compared to the description, but my double room at the attic was not 20 sqm, rather 12 sqm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel has helpful, friendly staff and a reasonably good breakfast. It is well located, but the room was not worth the rate. You couldn't look out of the windows as the view was blocked by buildings. There was no balcony and the room was so hot since the lone fan was unable to cool it. The room was barely big enough to fit four of us. The television in the room was outdated and the picture was grainy. So the only option was to spend most of the time outside the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the best parts of my recent one month European vacation was my stay at Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel. The hotel is family owned and extremely well taken care of. It's well located, just a few minutes from the Anne Frank house, a must see, and facing one of the many canals on what has been assessed as one of the prettiest corners in Amsterdam. The front desk staff is very accommodating; a big thank you to Natta for answering a near endless barrage of questions without becoming exasperated and to the owner, John, for sorting out my somewhat muddled airport shuttle booking. The breakfast served at the hotel deserves high praise as well, as I was spoiled for choice with everything from delectable ham through to fresh fruit and likely the best cup of coffee I had during my entire vacation, served on request in the hotel lounge. The owner has preserved the original beauty of the hotel and this as well adds to the overall experience. There are antiques throughout the main floor and the main halls and staircases are well preserved, but guestrooms each have modernized facilities. I'll recommend Hotel Wiechmann to friends and family, and hope to return myself in the not too distant future.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This historic hotel sits right on a canal. We booked an upgraded room It had antique furniture, comfy bed, brand new restroom, and a small balcony overlooking the canal! Quiet and clean hotel with two lobby areas full of nice antiques. A sunny breakfast room to enjoy the free continental but filling breakfast. This sunny room sits right on the corner so you can watch the city come to life while sipping coffee and eating the meat, cheese, bread and other offerings. Enjoy complimentary tea, coffee, espresso, lattes throughout the day. The staff is very friendly and helpful with directions etc. to the sites in town. Walking distance to everything.
We loved staying here and think you will too!

Room Tip: we paid a little extra for an upgraded room. Stairs were just fine, don't let other reviews abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed there earlier this month, As I asked for canal view was given room 402,on the 4 floor, small but with a great view. Climbing there using a very steep stairs was not easy but I got used to it.Bringing up a heavy suitcase might be a problem. I wanted to stay two days more but the hotel was fully booked, and they found me a room for one night, this time a more spacious double but no view. The dining room was very pleasant, right on the canal, and the breakfast was good.To conclude - to stay there you need some sense of adventure but the stay would be memorable and I would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#91 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#104 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.