We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great location in jordaan district (away from hectic centre, but close enough to wander there), good breakfast. Really liked the quirky decor in the communal areas...and the hot drinks machine in the lounge. Room was nice...lots of narrow stairs to get there though (third floor). Wold stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    235
    77
    11
    15
See reviews for
86
186
64
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel as many in Amsterdam is located in an old building dating back from seventeenth century. It is very charming on the outside and has a beautiful reception. But it has no elevator and up the stairs, with your bags, is a real challenge, almost like a mountain climbing. The hotel is well located in one of the the most pleasant neighborhood of the city, in the third ring or Prinsengracht. Located at ten minute walk to the quite confused Amsterdam city centre. In fact, you can go several times to the city centre and even so you feel like it never sure about where do you really are, it's a puzzling stuff to me. The hotel is a good value for the money, and it's a place i would recommend for young persons who likes the challenge of climbing steep stairs. I stay in a room a bit outdated and the decor was not the most pleasant i ever seen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel is a cozy and charming family run canal side hotel in the centre of Amsterdam. It was a Very good value it had Clean rooms, Very helpful staff, and an excellent location, The Breakfast was very good as well. I would recommend it

Room Tip: there are 4 stories of steep narrow stairs, try to get a lower floor if you don't like climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angers
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

A little old but nice hotel in Amsterdam, The breakfast room is great very sunny with a very nice view. The rooms are not very large and you have to climb a difficult stairway to reach the upper rooms. You can sometimes hear the sound of the people speaking in the room just aside yours. The people in a hotel are nice and they gave us very good advices to find a good places to eat. The location of the hotel is very good just near a canal and not far from all the things you have to see in amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at the Wiechmann Hotel for one night only on a flying visit to Amsterdam as a birthday treat for my daughter. I would certainly recommend it, It's located in the Jordaan area, close the Anne Frank museum. A ten minute walk from Dam Square and Centraal Station in one direction and ten minutes walk from Leidseplein in another direction. A very good location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms clean and reasonably-sized. I didn't have a view of any kind from my room window, as it looked onto another building. However, I wasn't there to sit in my room looking out the window, so I didn't mind. Breakfast was self-serve, typically Dutch with cold meats and cheese, as well as cereals. The view from the breakfast room was excellent, looking out on the corner of two canals. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Comfortable room. Good shower with lots of hot water. Great location - walking distance to all parts of the city. Simple but good breakfast in a lovely room. Big bonus was being able to leave our luggage when we arrived early and again on the day that we left. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Let me start by saying that the hotel staff were extremely helpful, they called to make restaurant reservations and were always willing to help with directions. The location is great, within walking distance of lots of bars and restaurants. Many rooms have canal views. The hotel is quirky and has lots of character, which I love. It is not cookie cutter and the stairs are as steep as the reviews say. The mattress and pillows were less than ideal, but the rest of the experience, including a good breakfast in a sunny corner room on the canals, more than makes up for it. We had a great time.

Room Tip: There is some construction going on, so ask for an unobstructed canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.