We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay in Wiechmann Hotel, Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“My stay in Wiechmann Hotel, Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Location and amenities are excellent in this hotel. Within 15-20 minutes walking you can get to Van Gogh and rijksmuseum, City museum, Bikes, Boats, Dam Square, etc. It's located in the Jordan, typical old part of town, near main canals. Beautiful streets to walk and a supermarket just around the corner to buy inexpensive delicious salads and other food. The house is antique and cosy, giving a sense of being in a home. Nice living room and internet free.The breakfast is simple but acceptable, could have hot milk, only if you ask do they give it to you. The stairs are very steep, only a problem for those with less mobility or much luggage. What I liked less was the very hot rooms, much warmer than ithe temperature in the street, a bit unconfortable to sleep, despite the fan. The rooms also can be a bit noisy from the streets/other gests but we asked for an inner one and we could sleep OK.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    216
    72
    10
    15
See reviews for
79
176
59
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and apart from the very steep stairs everything was perfect.
The welcome was very friendly and the room was was overlooking the corner of the canals so in the evening we could do people-watching from the balcony windows with a few glasses of wine.
The breakfasts are very good and the location means that it easy to find your way around Amsterdam.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed in a small single room at the Wiechmann while attending a four-day conference. The room and bath were small, as advertized, but very clean and well furnished. The included continental breakfast was good and included fresh boiled eggs as well as breads, meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit, fresh juice and tea and coffee. My room on the third floor at the back of the building was near the roof line and ventilated well from its open window without being too noisy. I recommend the Wiechmann highly. Note, though, that the stairs are very steep; no problem for me but could be difficult for those with mobility difficulties or a lot of heavy luggage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I picked this mainly for its location and accessible pricing which were both v good. We had a twin room on first floor and a triple on second floor, both facing the prinsengracht canal. Great view of the action - looking up into the Nine Streets area. Noise not as bad as expected. Temp was fine for us but we did have a wet and cool weekend (in mid July!)/ so could be warm in proper summer as morning sun streams in. Breakfast plentiful and every choice of spread for three different kinds of bread. Beds were a bit saggy and I wasn't so keen on their vinyl mattress covering which could be felt through the sheet. Didn't like the nylon bedcover either. Bathroom cosy but good condition. Tea/coffee facilities would have been perfect but probably too much to ask. There was a safe but we didn't need it.
Staff were helpful and friendly when approached but not intrusive.
Overall I was very very happy - with the price and the location.

Room Tip: Well, we liked looking onto the canal and were more than happy to deal with the (not so loud) noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very well situated for Central Amsterdam, staff friendly and helpful (English-speaking), breakfast adequate, will come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsNL, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.