We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, Amsterdam 1016 HX, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay and room overlooking canal gave an excellent view and we did not find it too noisy but we were not there over weekend. We walked to most places of interest and could go to each taking a different but equally enjoyable route. Did find room a little warm as only window that opened were doors on to small balcony. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Canal view room 137 very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    216
    69
    9
    15
See reviews for
77
174
59
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

loved our stay. great location and view. was warm in the room at night. would have liked another fan or airr conditioning. opening the windows at night not an option since hotel is right on canal there is alot of noise. that is my only complaint. i loved this hotel and the service was amazing. the staff went out of their way to help in whatever way they could. would stay here again,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here with my brother. We arrived early so they stored our bags for us in a side room for us (free of charge). The staff were very friendly and even though this is a small family-run business, there was always someone at the front desk. We were given a key to the front door as well just in case we came home and noone was there to let us in.

The rooms are small and the staircases very steep and winding. But this is exactly why I booked the room. Where else will you get to stay in a 16th century dutch house right on the famous Prinsengracht canal! Such an experience and I have to say, that it's actually fun climbing up those steps!

The location is within walking distance to EVERYTHING. (such as the train station, the main shopping centres, anne frank house, alot of museum). We walked everywhere. Bathrooms are clean. Breakfast is served every morning in a dining area that overlooks the canals and you can people watch all morning.

No complaints! Thank you Hotel Weischmann for making the trip memorable!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrinja, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, and if we come back to Amsterdam, it will be our first choice again. The rooms were bigger than I expected for central Amsterdam, and everybody in the hotel were very helpful. The hotel is clean, and the breakfast was very satisfactory. The position of the hotel is great: close to all the sights, but away from the noise of university quarter.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrinja
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Spent a great long weekend in hotel Wiechmann. The rooms were bigger than we expected for Amsterdam center, and everything in the hotel was perfect. We will definitely stay again when we come back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I chose this hotel based on its location; it's on the second canal and very close to the city centre. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, the nearest tram is less than five minutes away and the city centre is a pleasant 15 minute walk.

The hotel itself is a lovely building with friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast is included in the price and is substantial.

I stayed in a single room on the top floor. There are four flights of very steep and curving stairs to get to the top floor. The only time it bothered me was getting my suitcase back down (one of the employees very kindly carried my suitcase up when I checked in).

I would stay here again if I came back to Amsterdam (and I will because the city deserves several visits) and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the top floor, there are a lot of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, Amsterdam 1016 HX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelsNL, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.