We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wiechmann

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wiechmann to your Saves list
Hotel Wiechmann
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We just returned from a three night stay in this great hotel in Amsterdam. It was myself, wife and two children (7 and 4). We had the family suite.

First the room was big and spacious (Room 121). The main room had a large bed for my wife and I. There was then a second large room with two single beds for the kids that was able to be closed off by two sliding doors. A small sitting area then overlooked the canal and street and gave us great views of life passing by outside. There was planty of room for all four of us, which made for a very enjoyable stay.

It was very cool during our stay, so we always had the windows shut at night, so noise really was not an issue. The only minor complaint I would have is that very bright lights in the courtyard behind the second bedroom. Even with the very large curtains covering the window, the light was still quite evident. Dimming or turning those lights off after a certain time of night would be the only recommendation I might make.

The location could not be beat, and it felt like we were off the tourist track. We were able to walk pretty much anywhere we wanted to go. Vondelpark, Van Gogh Museum, restaurants, boat tours, etc. Two blocks down around the corner is a grocery store and ATM. About 5-10 minutes from there is the Jordann district with lots of great little places to eat and drink. The Anne Frank museum is also in this area. A quick walk over the canal outside the hotel puts you right in the Nine Little Streets area with its various shops.

The hotel staff was great as well. After a long day of travelling the staff was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction for food and an ATM. The kids loved petting the dog in the lobby, which was as friendly as can be, and they even were able to feed it some treats. We had a very early checkout (4:15am), and there was no problem arranging a car to pick us up and getting us to the airport at that hour.

We would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again on any future trips we take to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    235
    77
    11
    15
See reviews for
86
186
64
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed four nights at the Wiechmann, which is beautifully located on the Prinsengracht canal, very near the Jordaan neighborhood. Our room was at the front, under the gables, overlooking the canal. Small, winding staircases, no elevators, not for guests with large suitcases, but wonderful for folks looking for a stay in a unique, historic hotel. Helpful desk staff. Typical buffet breakfast included in lovely breakfast room. Free WiFi in rooms. All main city museums/attractions in walkable distance, or by tram. Train station also in walkable range. Great neighborhood restaurants. Hotel arranged for taxi to airport - very reasonable cost. We very much enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

The Wiechmann is in an ideal spot for visiting Amsterdam. Right on the edge of the charming Jordaan district, overlooking one of the main canals, and only a few minutes walk from most of the places you'd want to visit. The hotel itself, unfortunately, isn't so great...especially for the amount they charge. The rooms - if mine was anything to go by - are small and pretty basic. And the breakfast can only be described as meagre. But the staff are friendly and helpful, and that location does help make up for its shortcomings.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Wiechmann for 3 days in May. The hotel was OK, nothing fancy. The breakfast could have been better. (fresh bread instead of toasts and yoghourt)
Even though we did not have any problems but one need to be advised of the steep and narrow stairs leading to the rooms. The hotel does not have an elevator. Our room was on the third floor and my husband had to carry our laggage all the way up to the room.
The location was quite good and we walked to all the major attaractions. It is about 25 minutes from Central train station on foot.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Just as in real estate, a hotel's location is VERY important. This one is perfect--on a canal and near restaurants, but not in the middle of noise and francises. The hotel is basic and, yes, the stairs are steep when you are carrying luggage up three flights, but I am a "senior" and did not find it difficult. We felf very safe walking all over day and night. We were there during Queen's Day and were very happy we were not staying near Dam Square. It is easy to walk everywhere in the city, but nice and quiet when we got "home". We stayed on the back side of the hotel and were not bothered by noise at all. The furnishings are basic, but everything was very clean and the bathroom had been redone fairly recently. Looking our at life while eating breakfast was great. This could not be considered a luxury property, but for the price and location I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we travelled with friends who had been before and had stayed here. The hotel is certainly full of character and well located for all the sights of Amsterdam. Our room was spacious and very clean. Ok, the furniture is a bit old but it was really charming and the great big windows looked out onto the canal and the various comings and goings. It was a really lovely location. No facilities for making a drink but that appears common in a lot of European hotels and we had not expected the facility. We had requested a twin room but had been allocated to a double. That was soon rectified. The stairs are a bit steep, especially when you are dragging a suitcase up two floors!! The breakfast room is light and airy and really has a cafe feel, with shop front type windows looking out onto the canal. The breakfast was basic but ok. Cereals, tinned fruit, meat & cheese, boiled eggs, toast, tea & coffee, all help yourself service.

Amsterdam is a very busy and lively city. You expect some degree of noise but seeing as this hotel is not right in the centre, we did not expect sleepless nights. Well, that is what we got!! The noise went on until the wee small hours. Cars, scooters and noisy revellers, it went on for hours. If you are a light sleeper, do not get a canal view room. We did sleep on the last night, probably due to staying up later and having plenty alcohol!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Perfect location on a canal crossroads, ideal for seeing the whole of Amsterdam on foot.
Hotels in Amsterdam don't give much for your money and this one is no exception. Breakfast was basic - breakfast room beautiful. Room was spacious but was missing tea and coffee making facilities and no hair dryer . Old furniture was appropriate but missing a handle on the wardrobe and a drawer in the bedside cabinet .(easily fixed).
Loved the dog and the narrow canal house stairs.
Need to raise their game above the location and the views!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wiechmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiechmann

Address: Prinsengracht 328-332, 1016 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Wiechmann 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wiechmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiechmann Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wiechmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.